We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Office Service Awful”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked this hotel, but when we came to the reception, there was no record of our booking. The reservation staff had not checked their mails for days! When we finally managed to check in - we got room 335. The room was extremely small with a rollaway bed. When we asked if there are higher category rooms, they front office informed us, that all room categories are the same.
The next morning, as we were leaving our rooms, we saw some rooms being cleaned, and they were so spacious, compared to ours! When we checked with the reception, they said the prices are the same, but each room is a different size.
In our experience, BAD HOTEL STAFF and even though it has a good location. the level of bad service and the fact that we got a room so small, for the same price as the spacious rooms, is shocking! Turns out other guests are not aware of this. NOT RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: First Ask to see your room, before you check in. and do not stay in room 335!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our room was pleasant off a beautiful wood floored and paneled corridor. Everything was nice and clean and the domestic staff attentive. The reception area kept many original features and staff were very helpful.
We particularly enjoyed the buffet style breakfasts and evening meals that had a wide range of choice,the food being well cooked and tasty.
This isn't 5 star but it doesn't claim to be...it IS an old style colonial building that's has nice rooms and really food food. Pretty good value!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Queen's Hotel is considered today as a historic building to be conserved and held for all time as a part of the history of Sri Lanka's Central Province.

Front Desk, Concierge, Free parking, Bar, Restaurant, Safe Deposit Box, Lounge, Coffee Shop, Room Service, Room-Service 24 Hours, Handicap Facilities, Outdoor Parking, Parking, Jacuzzi, Outdoor Pool, Sauna, Conference Facilities, Meeting Facilities, Secretarial Service, Hair Dryer In Room, Non Smoking, Satellite TV.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmW678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We had lunch here midweek in the Mountbatten bar - thought it might be quicker than the main restaurant - wrong! The staff were friendly, took our drinks and food order - then it took 25 minutes to get us 2 juices. There appears to be no management - all the staff are doing stuff but not working as a team (there were less than 10 guests in the bar). eventually the drinks and then about 5 minutes later the sandwiches arrived - both of which were fine. This place could be so much better - having read other reviews its a real shame that the service isn't better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Central location extremely good. Large pool, helpful staff and antique lobby good. Hardwood floor rooms are quite noisy, hot water only works some hours of the day, leaky taps and no bathroom ventilation, loud music from function rooms, no safe, no bar drinks... Lucky that location is so handy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrodimusprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The Queen's Hotel is an extraordinary hotel located in the best possible location in Kandy. Right on the lake, perfect for walking the city, walking around the lake, some great local restaurants, a few typical tourist pubs, a grocery store and a pile of other things. Located directly across the street from the Temple of the Tooth Relic - one of the main reasons to be in Kandy. Behind that is the museum and behind that the historic cemetery.

It has a cool pool in the centre, a funny old lobby with a piano player playing odd show tunes and a pretty ordinary breakfast. The rooms are spread over a block it seems and are perfectly clean and quiet. The floors throughout are waxed and wonderful. The beds are pretty hard and uncomfortable and you can just tell that the hotel is in desperate need of some fresh capital. Everything is old - really old. But perfectly clean and engaging.

We had a room that seemed like a mile from the front desk, we opened the curtains and bingo... "we got monkeys". Yup, do NOT open the windows when you have monkeys looking back at you. Also, when we were walking to our room we seemed to collect porters who just followed us to the room. I guess it was a tip thing! We thought it was pretty funny - but it was a little wrong. I mean, we carried our own luggage!

Our room was $100 a night - and that seemed pretty reasonable as we checked out a couple of other hotels first and some were considerably more. And frankly, it was great to be located in the heart of the action.

The wifi is in the lobby only - and only modestly good. But it works. If you walk out the front door and turn left, you will find a cool local place right across from - well, the Pizza Hut. At this local spot, meals are local, awesome and truly inexpensive - just a few dollars.

This hotel is a bit tired but amazing. A wonderful historic elevator in the centre of the lobby and just plain entertaining. As I said, the beds are uncomfortable and we did have to ask for a blanket and two extra pillows - you get just the bare minimum. But we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Large hotel in the middle of kandy and opposite a lake with temple of the tooth around the corner!
Room was clean and spacious with a kettle which was a bonus.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast- varied and good service.
Tour operator was situated in the foyer and was helpful for advice when booking hotels and tours.
Only disadvantage was the chanting and traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenaAndjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,109 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 56 in Kandy
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 56 in Kandy
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £45 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing