We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully located write in front the Kandy temple.”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 19 February 2013

It is a colonial type old looking hotel with lots of history behind it. In the evening this would be the best place to enjoy the kandy secret temple and the view of the lake. Good place to stay overnight. The staff is good but don’t expect too much but they will do their best to serve you and look after you. Rooms are good and big . Prices are reasonable and worth. Don’t expect the hotel to be a 7 star or 5 star but it is the best place to stay if you are in Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

Beautiful building, colonial. Rooms are sparsely furnished but large and very functional. Do not expect a western shower. The water pressure was less than ideal, but the bath was clean.

The staff were helpful, but certainly not in a hurry.

The location was perfect - across the street from a popular Buddhist temple, with shopping and food in walking district.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorica74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Built in 1760, sadly, the exterior beauty of this grand hotel, is not reflected in the interior.
Located on the shores of the beautiful Lake Kandy, this hotel is in a prime tourist location, but it appears that no money has been spent on the interiors or the restaurant for many years.
We had to ask to move from our first 'Lake View' room, as it was dark and pokey and overlooked the kitchens!
Reluctantly, they moved us to a lake view room (only a junior suite was available) on the front right of the hotel, overlooking the major traffic junction (with a partial view of the lake). Room appeared colonial style, but lacked warmth and love, no attention to detail. Bare floorboards (not even a rug) meant you heard every sound. Tea/coffee facilities were provided, but no plug nearby to plug the kettle into and a mini fridge was plonked in the centre of the room!
Bathroom was spacious and old elegant fittings COULD have been enhanced by simple measures, like ensuring the hand shower over the bath had a socket on the wall so you could at least crouch under it to shower. The plastic shower curtain was mouldy. The bath DID have a plug, but it didn't fit the plughole, so when you placed a face cloth over the plug hole, you discovered just how filthy the water was coming out of the old pipes - dark brown! (even after running for some time!). Windows were single glazed, but didn't even close properly, so sound proofing was terrible. Bed was comfortable and linen was clean - but you could not sleep with the lack of sound proofing; the tip tapping of upstairs guests on the wooden floors, traffic and wild dogs barking outside!

The Grand Old restaurant, formal in style, on first glance, seemed appealing. However too many Chiefs and not enough Indians on duty! Ordered coffee with hot milk for breakfast. Coffee and Tea both made in same pots, so both tasted like CofTea! Hot milk never arrived, finally after asking three waiters, it finally came, by which time the Cof/Tea was cold! Breakfast was all from under buffet style heaters and didn't look appealing. Croissants were stale (like 3 days old), so too was the bread! Zero rated for breakfast. Didn't bother to stay for Evening Dinner.

Main bar is colonial style, but closed at 10.00pm!
Reception area is the best part of the hotel, bright and airy, comfortable seating and a beautiful old fashioned caged lift.
With a little money (or a lot!) and some loving care and attention and better staff training - and a new Chef! and this Grand Old Lady could be restored to her former glory.
Sadly, very little alternative BETTER options nearby. Hotel Suisse is part of the same group and suffered similar conditions. A distinct lack of good restaurants nearby. The best we found was the inappropriately named 'Midlands Deli', where the owner went out of his way to provide a half decent meal in a 'takeway' style eaterie (couldn't call it a restaurant!)

Room Tip: Possibly quieter at the back of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

After reading some previous reviews of this hotel I thought it may be the most dismal place in the world. Thankfully, I left having enjoyed a great experiance!

The rooms (while basic) represent good value for money, and are in the best location in Kandy. The hotel itself is oozing with character, and the dinner and breakfast we had there was decent (for the price). Some people seem to be dissappointed that they do not get a 5 star experiace, but for the price, I don't know why you would expect one.....

This would definately be my hotel of choice if I return to Kandy

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor overlooking the temple of the sacred tooth relice seem to be the best p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked this hotel, but when we came to the reception, there was no record of our booking. The reservation staff had not checked their mails for days! When we finally managed to check in - we got room 335. The room was extremely small with a rollaway bed. When we asked if there are higher category rooms, they front office informed us, that all room categories are the same.
The next morning, as we were leaving our rooms, we saw some rooms being cleaned, and they were so spacious, compared to ours! When we checked with the reception, they said the prices are the same, but each room is a different size.
In our experience, BAD HOTEL STAFF and even though it has a good location. the level of bad service and the fact that we got a room so small, for the same price as the spacious rooms, is shocking! Turns out other guests are not aware of this. NOT RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: First Ask to see your room, before you check in. and do not stay in room 335!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our room was pleasant off a beautiful wood floored and paneled corridor. Everything was nice and clean and the domestic staff attentive. The reception area kept many original features and staff were very helpful.
We particularly enjoyed the buffet style breakfasts and evening meals that had a wide range of choice,the food being well cooked and tasty.
This isn't 5 star but it doesn't claim to be...it IS an old style colonial building that's has nice rooms and really food food. Pretty good value!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Queen's Hotel is considered today as a historic building to be conserved and held for all time as a part of the history of Sri Lanka's Central Province.

Front Desk, Concierge, Free parking, Bar, Restaurant, Safe Deposit Box, Lounge, Coffee Shop, Room Service, Room-Service 24 Hours, Handicap Facilities, Outdoor Parking, Parking, Jacuzzi, Outdoor Pool, Sauna, Conference Facilities, Meeting Facilities, Secretarial Service, Hair Dryer In Room, Non Smoking, Satellite TV.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmW678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 56 in Kandy
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 56 in Kandy
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £44 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing