We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel !”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent view, room size is huge, stylish and friendly service definitely reccomended, good for families as also has a nice swimming pool, good breakfast and is in front of the main city attractions, we stayed 2 nights and also they provide free accomodation to your guide if you came with one.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Django_unchained_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest !!

Greeting Good Day !!

Many thanks for updating your value comment us on Trip Adviser and also we highly appreciated your feedback about us.

Please be good enough to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went for a dinner. There services are good. But the main course was that much tasty but enjoyed the soup and dessert. Still the price is reasonable for a dinner. The place is look nice traditional view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Greeting good day from Queens !!

Thank you very much for your comment about us on Trip Adviser and also we highly appreciate your comment feedback on us.

We would like to tell you that, we are looking forward to welcome again, Please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +94815745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. It is located opposite the Dalada Maligawa, the holiest Buddhist temple in Sri Lanka and overlooks the Kandy Lake. The one way Street in front of the hotel turns to the right at the juncture of the hotel as the left side is blocked by the Temple complex. There is no lawn in front of the hotel just a portico that opens to the Hotel. The Queen’s Hotel is a grand 1840s vintage Raj classic which will be loved by those who want to savour the colonial period.

At the time of check in I requested for a room overlooking the lake. I was given a room on the 1st floor also called the royal floor. A beautiful wooden staircase leads to the first floor. Besides the staircase is a grand old lift or elevator a reminder of the colonial times.

The room was spacious with polished floorboards, a twin bed, old-style furniture and a private balcony overlooking the street below and the Kandy lake. The bathroom was large and the wash basin had separate taps for hot and cold water and thus the hot and cold water could not be mixed and adjusted. There is bathtub and a shower that has a modern system so that hot and cold water can be mixed and adjusted for a comfortable bath.

The hotel has one Dining Room, near the grand stair case, where the meals are served A decorated glass door opens up to the dining room. There was a trio of Sinhalese singers entertaining the diners. There was a sumptuous buffet, but I decided to stick to a la carte menu as I have a tendency to over eat in the buffets.

I am an early riser and woke at 4.45am. It was dark as the sun rises only around 6am. At 5am the Buddhist chants started from Dalada Maligawa which was carried over by mikes across the road. The chanting continued for an hour and frankly speaking I rather liked it. Lying in bed in the dark and listening to the chants was very soothing. Of course for a person who would not like to be awakened from his beauty sleep, the sound of the chants would be a quite rude awakening.
The complimentary buffet breakfast was sumptuous.
In the evening there was a power cut in the hotel. I went out for a walk On returning I found that although power had been restored, the room air-conditioner was not working. I informed the reception and promptly the electricians came over and rectified the matter.
Next day I found in the lobby a number of male and female Kandy dancers decked up in all their finery for a marriage ceremony at the hotel. The men wore a jacket and pantaloons, while the women wore saris. The marriage party started coming and the dancers started dancing and the drum started beating. I was lucky indeed to see the Kandy dance at so close quarters.
The hotel in its own way it exudes a character.

Room Tip: If you want an undisturbed sleep choos a room away from the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sen1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating valuable your comment feedback about us and also your comments and opinions are really appreciate by our management team.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +94815745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Have sense of history in a hotel, which will have to go in through the back past feeling. The hotel is very clean and has a large swimming pool, the service is very good, walking just three minutes into the Temple, Kandy Lake across the road. There are many shops around the hotel you can stroll around about 20 minute walk in a circle, very lively. The hotel staff is very welcoming. If come Kandy again, I still live here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davieyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest !!

Greeting Good Day !!

Many thanks for updating your value comment us on Trip Adviser and also we highly appreciated your feedback about us.

Please be good enough to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Kandy.
A touch of Colonial class not seen much anywhere these days.
Great welcome.
Beautiful room.
Excellent food.
The best location.
The only place to stay in Kandy

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinnergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Adviser and your comment is highly appreciated by our management. Thank you very much for your feedback on us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again and please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have very fond memories of watching the Kandy Esala Perahara from the balconies of the Queen's Hotel as a child. The hotel's location offers the best view of the Perahara as the procession makes its way from the Temple of the Tooth (the dancers, drummers etc also put on a better performance as the Perahara is filmed from the Queen's Hotel). So its not surprising that the rooms are expensive, but fully worth it for the once-in-a-lifetime experience it offers. However, the room itself was very basic, and to be honest, hadn't changed much since my childhood. I would have expected a little more for the amount of money I paid. Breakfast is included, and like all good hotels in Sri Lanka, the spread was amazing. The dinner buffet was equally delicious. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Queen's to watch the Perahara. But there are plenty of other good hotels in Kandy to stay at other times.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if staying here for the Esala Perahara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravel6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Greetings from Queens Hotel !

Many thanks for your comments. We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards. Look forward to welcoming you to Queens Hotel.

Please feelfree to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +94815745745.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Queens Hotel s very good value, situated right across from the Lake; no hasselling with tutuk drivers, everything in walking distance. Fabulous breakfast and really helpful staff on reception. Loved the whole feeling of the hotel and particularly the lady pianist playing old tunes of an evening; it felt like being in a Noel Coward play.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caz1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queens Hotel Kandy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest.

Greeting good day from Queens !!

Thank you very much for updating your comment us on Trip Adviser and we highly appreciate your comment feedback on us.

W would like to tell you that, we are looking forward to welcome again into our hotel and please contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 57 in Kandy
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#37 of 57 in Kandy
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £39 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing