We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A colonial style hotel with all mod cons and facilities, centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A colonial style hotel with all mod cons and facilities, centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This wonderful colonial style hotel retains the atmosphere of bygone days but with all the modern conveniences expected from a 4 star hotel.
The staff are very attentive and ensure you are welcomed from beginning to end.
The buffet breakfast and dinners are both extensive and well prepared being available in the hotel's classical colonial style restaurant.
The bedrooms are large and well equipped. The bathroom includes a bath tub with complimentary toiletries, large bath towels and efficient hot showers.
There is both air-con and adjustable speed fans in the bedroom with views over the main street or swimming pool.
The residents bar is large ans well stocked with a variety of local beers, international wines and spirits.
The far side of the bar contains a small museum showing artefacts from the early days of the hotel and its history with many interesting old photographs on display.
A total experience and much enjoyed.

Extraordinary good value for money considering its central location and star quality.

Room Tip: Try for the main front area, upstairs facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aslimversgwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest !!

Greeting From Queens Hotel.

Many thanks for updating your most valuable comment about us on TripAdvisor . We really appreciate your comment feedback in advance.

If you wish to visit to Sri Lanka again, please feel free to contact us on +94815745745 or reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    367
    311
    112
    91
See reviews for
242
367
97
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Location is excellent, just opposite the Temple of the Tooth. If you want to immerse yourself fully in Kandy choose a room at the front of the hotel. It will either have a good view of the lake or the temple (depending on the wing).
This will however by a little noisy. The traffic stops about midnight when the packs of dogs start howling. The traffic starts again at 4am, followed by an hour of Temple chanting at 5am. If this puts you off, insist on a room at the back that overlooks the courtyard and swimming pool. These are a lot quieter.
The restaurant does a very good breakfast with a wide selection but the evening meal seemed too directed to non Sri Lankan tastes.
In general the hotel is in need of a total renovation. However, it still maintains some quirky old world charm.

Room Tip: See my comments about selecting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGBPL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Guest.

Greeting Good Day From Queen's Hotel.

Many thanks for adding your reviews about us on TripAdvisor and Its really appreciated by our management team. Please do not hesitate to contact us on +94815745745 or reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk. for your next visit.

Thanks & Regards.

Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived at the Queen's and were skeptical at first on our decision upon the sight of the hotel - old, historical .... But we were in for a pleasant surprise. Upon entering the reception area, we were greeted with a warm and a humble smile from one of their best front staff. The check-in was quick and we were even more ecstatic to know that our room had been upgraded to the deluxe family room.

The hotel has been preserved for years (as it was formerly a king's palace) and they have done a very good job to ensure the decor remains intact. Our room was HUGE and spotless clean! Moreover, the location was excellent. Right next to the lake and in the middle of town.

The tour company - Royce tours is stationed at the reception area and the owner himself is available to guide through the different packages. Be sure to bargain though as he can be a bit pricey.

Only down side I see is that since our rooms were facing the main road, there was a lot of street noise (traffic etc etc...). Other than this, the hotel is a must visit because of it's perfect locale and friendly service.

Room Tip: Choose a room which does not face the streets. Tends to get noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faisal_Ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest !!

Greeting From Queens Hotel.

Thank you very much for updating your valuable comment feedback about us and we are very pleasure to inform you that please feel free to contact us on +94815745745 or reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk. for your next visit into Sri Lanka.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Even if the rooms could do with a light touch of refurbishing (nb: tuned to the historic atmosphere!), this is a very charming old hotel. And the location couldn't be better, right on the lake shore and next to the city's main attraction, the Temple of the Tooth. We stayed three nights and we even had all our meals in the wonderful dining hall. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest !!

Greeting From Queens Hotel.

Thank you very much for updating your valuable comment feedback about us and we are very pleasure to inform you that please feel free to contact us on +94815745745 or reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk. for your next visit into Sri Lanka.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The location is right in the middle of the Kandy City. You can walk in to the shops and you can see the temple of the tooth from your room.

+Location
Superb location. Its walking distance for shopping and to the temple of the tooth.

+staff
The staff is very polite and helpful

- Quality of the room
Personally I didn't like the room. However given that the hotel is a very old one and a lot of history associated with it, i guess you have to expect the rooms to be like that.

However the rooms were very spacious.

-- Car park
There is not enough space in the car park. And specially because the road is one way, you will have go round and round if you are planning to park on the side of the road and you miss a spot.

Room Tip: Take a room that is not facing the main road. Else it will be a little bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakshithaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Mr Lakshitha.

Greetings from Queens Hotel !

Thank you very much for your valuable review. We value your feedback as it will assist us in improving our service as our aim is to set high performance standards.

We are look forward to welcoming you to Queens Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +94815745745. for your next visit into Sri Lanka.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

st julians
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stepping into this hotel takes you back in time with all its authentic colonial features. Rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade though. We were very pleased with dinner and breakfast served in the lovely restaurant. Some might have a problem with street noise early in the morning but this is the price you pay for being in the centre of the city. Staff are extremely helpful and the piano lady played beautifully during dinner. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Greeting Good Day !!

Thank you very much for updating your valuable comment feedback about us and also your comment is really appreciated by our management team.

We would like to inform you that we are looking forward to welcome you again and please feel free to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +94815745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Excellent view, room size is huge, stylish and friendly service definitely reccomended, good for families as also has a nice swimming pool, good breakfast and is in front of the main city attractions, we stayed 2 nights and also they provide free accomodation to your guide if you came with one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Django_unchained_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Q, Front Office Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest !!

Greeting Good Day !!

Many thanks for updating your value comment us on Trip Adviser and also we highly appreciated your feedback about us.

Please be good enough to contact us on reservations.queens@kandyhotels.lk or +9481745745 for your next visit.

Thank You and Warm Regards.

Queens Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#21 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#44 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Dalada Street | Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing