We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Hotel Kandy
Nearby Hotels
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$26
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
153
418
382
142
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
418
382
142
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelwooden floorskandy lakebygone eraold colonialtooth relicthe location is perfectview of the lakecentre of townbuffet dinnertuk tukdaladabuddhist
Filter
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed there 1st weekend on May 2014. Were put in room 106. Awoke at 1am to find rats running around our room. Reported it to reception and were told they were mice and not rats.......as if that was supposed to pacify us. We were moved to a room without A/C.....a fan only.
No apology and certainly no compensation offered e.g. a full refund.
While the hotel has a certain colonial charm to it......I would NOT endorse this place to anyone....except perhaps rat lovers.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor. Maybe is out of reach of the rats.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Queens is a hotel build in 19th century & still it looks very old.
Big rooms and bath rooms with old furniture & fittings. I personally think some amount of modernity should blend with the old colonial spirit.
Specially old bathrooms is not very attractive.
To the most of the rooms you have to walk a lot inside the hotel.
Food is average but location is good.( depends on the purpose ) Queens hotel located in the middle of the busy Kandy city & just in front of the Temple of the tooth ( Sri Dalada Maligawa ) & Bogambara lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to the hotel entrance. To Some rooms you have to walk a lot though stairs inside the Hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here with my 5 yr old son for 2 nights (although had booked 3), the staff are nice, location central, pool fine, food mediocre. Was all a bit dated though, and the bar isn't really a bar at all, rather a rather dull room with a slow ceiling fan, cricket playing on the TV, and a few elderly ex-pats sipping G&Ts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The first impression of this massive old colonial hotel is superficially impressive with the enormous lobby and the quaint ancient lift. However the old teak parquet and the old world charm is barely skin-deep. The arm-chairs in the lobby were filthy and falling to bits. The room was a shabby cubby-hole with poor lighting, no decoration or even a simple picture on the scruffy walls. The ultra-low uncomfortaable bed had a frayed and unfitting valance over which one tripped as it spread accross the floor. The tiny shower room had nowhere even to put a washbag down, the shower was a plastic tube and the evacuation was through a tiny hole in the floor. As for the doors - the wood was falling to pieces and broken and damaged all along the base. I took a lot of photos which I intend sending them. Dining was no better. I admit that serious health problems prevent my eating curries and the general buffet so I asked for grilled chicken and plain rice "à la carte". One hour later a dried up and burnt piece of chicken appeared with some cold rice. Sent back after my refusal to eat it - the second attempt was no better. The service was poor and it is disagreeable to be woken at 5.30 a.m. by noisy employees talking loudly outside one's door. The only, the one and only, positive factor was the situation of the hotel placed within easy walking distance to the Temple and the lakeside. But this did not make up for the rest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our experience was more than the expectations, reallay a good place which cater the whole family. Good pool, delocious food, hospitality staff etc boost the value. We too proud to stayed in a hotel which is morethan 160 years old!!!

Room Tip: Room with an extra portion was wonderful for a family room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinnathamby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews