We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at this hotel during our recent Sri Lanka tour. The hotel is a beautiful colonial building located just opposite the temple of the tooth. The upkeep can be imp,roved. But overall we had a good stay. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    382
    327
    117
    92
See reviews for
260
381
101
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Queen's Hotel was located in the centre of Kandy, right next to the Kandy Lake and Sri Dalada Maligawa. There are a couple good restaurants nearby and ODEL's LUV SL merchandise store right on the ground floor of the building.

We arrived late in afternoon and asked the price and if there were any lake rooms left available. It was twice the price of Agoda so we decided to book on Agoda, and the front desk said no more lake rooms but he'll arrange us a "good room".

After booking is confirmed we were shown our room on the second floor. All we could see was the swimming pool and the roof of another building.

We wanted to boil some hot water and make coffee, but found out that the water boiler wasn't working. I proceed to call the front desk and he said he'll ask someone, but however no one even knocked on our door after two hours.

And just as everyone on TripAdvisor pointed out, the rooms definitely need refurbishing. The water sink on the floor of bathroom was barely working, and the bathroom itself is too small compared to the room.

A good thing was that they provided drivers' quarters so that we didn't need to worry about our drivers' accommodation.

After that night's stay we decided to move to another hotel as this hotel failed our expectation really badly.

Room Tip: Ask for lake rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Timaru
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

To these days, the romantic notion of the British Empire time intrigued a lot of people. It's the time when Rudyard Kipling was the talk of the town. Both India and Sri Lanka were held fascinated by people who are wondering what may have been....and you don't need a time machine. You can simply stay overnight at the Queen's in Kandy and you would go back in time. The grand entrance reception hall is still expansive but I wouldn't call it grand. The restaurant on the ground floor is sometimes a restaurant for hotel guests but most of the time, it would be transformed into a wedding banquet area. If you come here in June and July (wedding seasons), The Queen's is chockful of wedding guests attending the functions and have their pictures taken at various parts of the hotel. Yes, there are many modern hotels being built in Kandy now but I'd bet none of them have the location of the Queen's, which is immediately across from the Temple of Tooth. If you were to come here during the Poson Festival (the day remembering the arrival of Buddhism into Sri Lanka), you would get to witness a lot of activities held right before your very eyes. The hallway in this hotel is long and overly wide. Whilst you walk down the hallway in the dead of the night, the creaking sound of the floor can be off-putting and the mirrors placed by the lift on every and each floors did give the hotel an ominous feeling, reminding you of horror movies such as "The Shining". Sound insulation, you can forget about it. You can hear vividly hear everything that's happening behind every doors. Some rooms have joint door between rooms and it feels surreal as if you are in the room with somebody else. The gap of the door is monstrous and there's nothing you can do about that considering that it's timber flooring. WiFi is available only in the Lobby and that won't ever be changed because of the solid masonry used for every and each rooms. The facilities in the rooms are just adequate and this is a solid three stars hotel. Services come down to who's on shift on the day and night. If you are lucky enough, you get the great ones. If not, you would have staff that's very efficient in what they do but they simply aren't friendly by any means. It all comes down to staff training. The pub is a dingy, dimly lit room with a faux-paux bar counter but most of the guests tend to sit in the low chairs watching live cricket match in the languid air of Kandy. Yes, there's swimming pool, tiny museum to showcase items used by the Queen's in the past. By the way, there's a really good Chinese restaurant hidden on the first floor and the Sri Lankan chef cooks better Chinese food than Chinese! The air is stuffy and the service is once again, uneventful. To be in the Queen's is the best homage that you could pay to Kandy because before there were any fancy hotels here, there were only this hotel and Suisse hotel. I can assure you that by sitting in the lobby, you would get to immerse with the humanity and the everyday lives of Kandy. Sri Lankans are good natured people and they look forward to have good conversation with foreigners. However, if we give them an impression that they are imposing on us, they would apologise and move on. And so, be honest with yourself. If you can put up with a slight discomfort of the latest mod-con and that you are curious about Kandy, then, start here! Commendable stay. Before I forget, the mattress has bouncy springs and the moment you lay down, you feel like you are on a water bed....cherish it if it's your cup of tea:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is right next to the Temple of the Tooth and Kandy lake. In terms of location to attractions in Kandy town, it doesn't get better than this! As other reviewers have noted, the hotel has a lovely old colonial feel. A swimming pool is a newer but welcome addition to cool off after a days walking about.

Room Tip: Be aware though that the second floor rooms in the old wing don't have elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sepia_t0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Queen's Hotel is no doubt an excellent property in the heart of the city, just next to Kandy lake and the famous tooth relic temple. If you like to stay in a heritage hotel, this colonial property would be an ideal destination for you. You would really feel like walking through a British governor's palace and could smell the colonial life-style. But my experience with the front-desk was just awful. They took more than half an hour to find the record of the reservation, that too showing the print copy on the email which had been sent by the sales division of the hotel. The hotel took entire payment in advance on arrival. Next morning, while happily observing a Sinhalese marriage in the lobby, a lady from the front desk almost snatched the key from my hand and 'ordered' me to talk to the cashier. Next day at the time of checking out, the cashier kept us waiting for another half an hour, because he was confused whether we had paid or not. He was unconvinced, even after showing him the receipt with a hotel seal. Had to scream at him to get rid of that. So my advice is that please keep your reservation and payment slips handy.

Room Tip: Excellent view of the lake from the rooms in the west wing... a view of the tooth temple and a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajib N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Queens is a wonderful hotel. Service was wonderful the rooms are beautiful. all amenities great.Food and drinks were terrific. What a beautiful hotel. I loved it. lots of activities. Like being on a heaven :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent just near the lake and the temple of the tooth (but tooo far from Colombo airport).

Rooms are big but seem a bit old and not that clean (backside of the bed ,etc ... )
Breakfast - not too much choices ... and half of it sri lankan ..
It's good for the price you pay and enjoying Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Take rooms away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
1,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 54 in Kandy
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 54 in Kandy
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Property: Queens Hotel Kandy
Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing