We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Hotel Kandy
Nearby Hotels
US$175
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nature Walk Resort(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$51
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sharon Inn(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveller rating
146
413
379
140
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
413
379
140
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelwooden floorskandy lakebygone eraold colonialtooth relicthe location is perfectview of the lakecentre of townbuffet dinnertuk tukdaladabuddhist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We did not stay at the Queens Hotel as we were staying slightly out of town at The Richmond House Hotel. We decided to get a tuk tuk in to town on our second night as we were bored stuck in our hotel with nothing to do. We were welcomed in to the bar area and were served drinks by a very friendly barman. We had a couple of cocktails and a couple of bottles of Anchor Beer. The bar was clean & tidy and had a lovely colonial feel about it. The pool area looked very nice outside and we wished we had booked to stay the night. The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town right next to the lake and temple complex. I appreciate it may be quite noisy due to the traffic but I would take that over an out of town hotel where there is absolutely nothing to do. I would recommend this hotel from what we have experienced and cannot understand the low ratings.

Room Tip: We did not spend the night
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Queen's Hotel. We are both 26 years old. We are used to staying in varied accommodation and booked Queen's hotel as a kind of treat for ourselves. It is in a great location next to the lake and only a few minutes Tuk Tuk ride from the train station.
The hotel lobby, garden and bar provide a calming escape from the hustle and bustle outside.
The rooms are very clean, large and comfortable with a fan and a/c. They are, as expected, very "old colonial" in style. Do not stay here if you require modern facilities.
The TV works, the shower is hot (most of the time) and they do provide a safety box for valuables.
The swimming pool was large, clean and warm. (Although I only dipped my toe in!) It's likely you won't find time to use it as your days will be filled with other things.
Our room was overlooking the pool, we couldn't hear the road/traffic at all. The only noise we could hear was a large group of Chinese tourists shouting in the hallways every morning!
We were almost completely satisfied with our stay until the final morning...
Beware: 27% (VAT, city tax and service charge) will be added to your final bill. That is a a lot extra! For us another $50usd that we weren't expecting to spend.
Also the breakfast buffet which on other days had been good, was covered in flies and ants and all the tables were dirty. (I think they don't change the table cloths from dinner the night before - so when do they change them?)
I'm vegetarian and there was plenty for me at breakfast: fresh fruit, whole meal brown toast (a rare thing to find anywhere in Asia!), eggs, baked beans, porridge, cheese, salad, yogurt etc (also on offer was traditional Sri Lankan curries and bacon/sausages).
The housekeeping, bar and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The older guy who is on the tours desk is extremely rude! If you aren't going to definitely book something with them then don't bother to try and ask for any recommendations or help because you will be rudely dismissed.
I would recommend a stay at this hotel however just be aware of the points mentioned.
Queen's Hotel seems to market itself as a high end hotel however I would not give it more than 3 stars.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank daisybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We used their website to book, receiving a confirmation email and two text messages. But when we arrived, they did not have our reservation and were full. We will be staying elsewhere for our time in Kandy.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank climber168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We initially booked the hotel just for two nights. Excellent and friendly staff will greet you at any point of the hotel.ideal place to anyone visiting Sri Dhaladha Maligawa. Wotrh for money what you have paid....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Imesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed two nights and was very dissapointed. The rooms needs to be upgraded. The front desk had over charged me for one night.The location is not bad food was average. The pool was very dirty. The resturant and Bar staff was very helpful and nice.


Dubai

Room Tip: Rooms are in a bad shape. A/c ddint work well. Toilets are not clean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sureni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews