We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent oldstyle "collonial" hotel with some OK rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queen's Hotel
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Vienna
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent oldstyle "collonial" hotel with some OK rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

We just stayed at "Queen's hotel" for two nights in April 2010. I believe this hotel is the most classic hotel in Kandy, dating back to the early 1900's with huge hallways, dining rooms and classy furniture. We booked a double room which was featuring a new aircon and a view to the nice blue pool in the back. Parking was behind the hotel and for free which was a nice feature. After some bargaining we got the room for Rps. 5.000,-- per night / room including breakfast...not a bad deal. In our opinion just the bathroom was in need of a refurbishment since it was quite filthy, a bit smelly and dark. All in all we would still stay there again, since this is "the" way to stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grungtheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    365
    307
    109
    89
See reviews for
238
363
94
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in an air conditioned double room. This place is similar to other English style hotels, like Raffles and The Oriental in Penang, but it is somewhat run down. It was once a quality hotel and some day it will be done up( but you won't then be paying $50/night.) It's lobby is class, this place overall is olde English style, the room is large and the bathroom is modern ( but the shower door leaks in to the floor, the window shutter doesnt open, the cupboard door is closed with the aid of a wedge of paper. But its immense value for money, the location is central, the restaurant serves a good buffet breakfast. There is room service, fridge etc. the pool area is large and good. The staff are frriendly and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdmm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka/Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

I went to Kandy on business and brought my family along for the trip. We bunked at Queens and found the service to be very cordial throughout our stay. The hotel was centrally located, directly across the street from the Tooth Temple and close to Tuk Tuk and taxi stands. Connected to the Hotel, is nice shop that sells a variety of Batiks, and after a bit of negotiation we were able to find some great pieces. The rooms were not luxurious, but comfortable and clean. They did have a baby cot (crib) for our little one, which is always welcome to keep from getting kicked in the neck all night. The Chinese restaurant upstairs was also great.

The highlight, was the outdoor lounge. Open air with fans, a stocked bar, but not uncomfortable for the whole family to sit, relax and have a snack. It opens up to the pool, which was great for our boy. Overall, I would say it was a great stay and would most definitely come back to Queens on my next trip to Kandy.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familiaventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

The ceiling and one entire wall of our room was covered with black mold. The room smelled, the furniture was broken (wardrobe held closed with a wad of toilet paper). The furniture in the lobby is discolored with age and dirt. The place was so bad that we moved to another hotel and sacrificed our money (which they would not refund). It was worth $80 not to stay in that smelly dump. We loved everything else about Sri Lanka but the Queen's Hotel, which is now run by the government.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usedtobelouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

This is the second time I have stayed here. It was built in 1844 and it hasnt changed a bit. Dont stay here if you want a modern hotel, but I love the ambiance. It is good value for the price. The food in the kitchen is ok. The bar staff is friendly. I love sitting in the dining room and watching the sidewalk activity. They have internet but you have to take your computer to the lobby to get a signal and you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I went there because of the lonely planet recommendation which was too good for what I experienced. I chose one of the cheaper rooms which had no TV or minibar. The room was ok sized facing the garden with the swimming pool, there was an open window above the room door so one could hear all the noise from the corridor. There was no a la carte breakfast so I went to a nearby cafe. The laundry service was unsatisfying, one shirt got stained in the washing, when I complained they washed it again over night and removed large parts of the stain but not all.
The location is great, quite close to the temple, and the hotel gives a good colonial feeling. I got talked at by two men at two different ocassions telling me they were working at the hotel but weren't allowed to speak to guests so they had to speak to me on the street, and were pointing me to some shopping opportunities. This frightened me somehow.
There is a supermarket close to the hotel and some internet cafes.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Stayed here 1 night . Smell of mothballs in corridors. It was a little shabby , & bedrooms old fashioned.& basic.
Ok for 1 night ,you wouldnt want to stay any longer, it badly needs decorating.
Location is excellent . A bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#17 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#21 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Property: Queen's Hotel
Address: Dalada Street | Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing