We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value modern hotel in centre of Kandy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value modern hotel in centre of Kandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The Thilanka doesn't have masses of character but it is comfortable, modern and well located. Great view from our room across the lake. Swimming pool also has good view although building works going on during our visit meant it wasn't the most peaceful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    574
    224
    52
    46
See reviews for
283
519
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

we spent one night here in Kandy. Thilanka hotel is good. but expensive.. clean and rooms are all ok with me. the service is not so good. restaurant service is slow..but rooms are clean and bathroom was cleaned too.thats the most important thing..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SriApon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Thilanka Hotel has been in existence for over 3 decades. Each year there is some upgrading .This hotel is ideal for the middle class traveller who does not want to throw away money but get a Clean and Comfortable room at a reasonable price. The Hotel is uniquely situated on a small hillock overlooking the Kandy lake, The food is also reasonably prices. Service is also good. what more do you want ?

Room Tip: Ask for Room with good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A good value middle range hotel, overlooking the Kandy Lake. We were pleasantly received after the journey from the Airport, with a welcome cold drink and refreshing napkin. Service throughout our stay was excellent and friendly and the buffet breakfast was of very good quality. The dinner buffet was good after a long journey, but we were not sufficiently enthused by it to try it for a second time.

The room was large, clean and comfortable with slightly noisy but efficient air conditioning. It had a balcony overlooking the Kandy Lake, but we were discouraged from using it by a sign warning us about the monkeys. Their was a great view across the lake from the bedroom window, particularly at night.

A pleasant two days stay, in which the hotel and the visits to the Elephant Orphanage and the Temple of the Tooth were the only highlights.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

First Time I visited this hotel.Beautiful location with fantastic view.Spacious room,Over looking the Kandy city.Easy to visit cultural places in Kandy. Great food with friendly staff. Bar in a very good location by the pool side.Though the constructions are on, it has no disturbance to the guests. Really enjoyed the stay and we will be definitely visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Only stayed here as we had booked the wrong date for Amaya Hills - which looks amazing. Very frustrating bearing in mind we only found out when we got there! Still, completely our fault.
We were told by the manager it was a brand new hotel but the wear and tear particularly in the bathroom suggested otherwise. They are however doing significant construction work at the moment which will no doubt improve things.
The restaurant was pretty good. Particularly the service staff, who were very friendly and helpful. They serve dinner until 10pm.
Would definitely try Amaya Hills again before coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

When arrived was given a tiny room for my husband and 2 children. No space for a cot and not offered one. Thankfully we brought our own ready bed for our 3 year old. The beds had a number of caterrpillars residing there and the tv channels were fuzzy. The bathroom smelled of sewage and the shower floor was so slippy, both the kids fell over. the creme de la creme was being woken up at 7.40 am by building work, not ideal with kids and with NO warning at check in. When we called the manager to ask what time the building work should start he said 9am and that he would ask them to stop, which, of course they didn't. They did offer to move us for the next night, unfortunately we left the ready bed pump in the first room and instead of putting it in lost property, knowing we were still there, they dumped it in the bin ! The bell boys expect tips for every little thing they do. The manager would not listen to our query about the WI-FI, we had to go and use it by the pool. My daughter cut her feet on several sharp stones around the pool side and there were various uncovered wires and landings where children could have tumbled to their death with no fencing where there should be. No accessible common toilets from the restaurant. I believe they are being constructed currently. The food was mediocre. Happy with the omelette station. Other food annoyingly covered with cling film which was just impossible to get with a toddler in tow. Bread dry. Curries good. Got a call each morning to hurry us to breakfast when we were told closing at 10 am it would change to 9.30 am. thank you to the waiter who offered to make a hot chocolate for our girls, we didn't know it was an option before. The second room given was more spacious, girls enjoyed the view and seeing monkeys around. AC not controllable and fan very squeaky. Husband got an electric shock from the kettle. Poor toiletries. I would not go back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing