We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollow feeling in rooms”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Spent a night here in November, Bit of an unusual hotel with everything scattered about from receptions to bedrooms to resturants. Rooms were large but had a rather cold feeling to it. Monkeys are a problem so doors needed to be kept closed at all times. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thilankaKandy, Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thank you very much for the review.As you have correctly mentioned we are just finishing our refurbishment programme.We will be fully ready with a ultra modern rooms by end January.Hope to welcome you to new look Thilanka Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Thilanka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty much ideal, elevated with great views over Kandy, which means very little traffic noise, and close to the lake and Tooth Temple.
I believe from other reviews, that there is a big difference between the rooms in the new wing, and the old. I was in the new wing, which means a long and confusing walk between the lobby and the room, involving multiple lifts or stairs and long corridors. However, then you get to the room, it is very pleasant, brand new, modern, tasteful and spacious. There is a real unfinished feel to it though. As someone else mentioned, the room safe works, but is not attached to the shelf, so you think you are secure, but it can just be picked up and the bottom is open.
It rained heavily when I was there, and there is no cover between the rooms, the bar and the restaurant, so you need to be escorted with an umbrella - assume this temporary, but it is not clear. Also there are no handrails on several steep staircases - again maybe not finished??
Dinner was an excellent and varied buffet, with live music. Breakfast is entertaining as it is inevitably invaded by the monkeys.
Recommended on the basis of the new rooms, and if you don't mind it's eclectic unfinished nature.

I would give the spa a miss, it was probably the lamest massage I had in Sri Lanka, and the room was cold with many mosquitos - kind of spoils the relaxation.

Room Tip: Probably better off in the new wing, but I didn't see the old rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twoshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thilankaKandy, Manager at Hotel Thilanka, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Thank you for the review.As we are just finishing our refurbishment some areas are not in operation.That may have resulted the confusion.How ever we will be fully ready by End January 2013.Sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We visited Kandy from Chennai and stayed in Hotel Thilanka for 3 days, overall service was good and they were able to keep us comfortable. The city of Kandy as such was beautiful and our stay was very relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaheshBapurao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk (10mins) down to the Temple of the Tooth, with great views across the valley and the lake. The walk into town is a little bit longer about 20mins or about a 15min tuk tuk ride (as you have to circle the other side of the lake).
On first arrival things were a little chaotic but that's what you get when 7 people & luggage arrive. The rooms weren't ready but then again it would seem very few hotels in Sri Lanka are ever ready when you arrive. The hotel itself is divided into two wings the older rooms are situated above the reception area with the newer rooms in a wing where the restuarant is. We were located in the new rooms (so new that they were still being fitted out with furniture), to get there though you had to go up an antiquated lift to the third floor, traverse across interconecting corridors, go up a newer modern lift and then go along another corridor. I'm told that there will be a newer reception area (currently under construction) which will mean that there is more direct route to the newer wing. The rooms we had were so new that the staff even questioned whether they were ready to be used. They were large and spacious - just at the time lacking in furniture, such as chairs, bedside tables, television, curtains etc. The bed was new and so comfortable, the bathroom clean and well laid out. Although in my brother's room (which had million dollar views over the pool & the valley) part of the glass screen around the shower was missing and the drain was in the wrong location which meant the bathroom flooded if you tried to take a shower. He actually had a tv however it wasn't connected to power or an aerial. The staff like most Sri Lankan staff were eager to please even if they couldn't solve the problem (only a construction crew could) they were happy to tell you that they would do something to fix the problem - just don't expect it to be on the same timeframe.
As for the monkeys, they were a highlight (just remember to keep your balcony door closed at all times - otherwise you could find unexpected visitors) it was great to watch their early morning antics (from behind closed glass). The a/c & ceiling fans were enough to keep the room cool without having to keep the windows open.
The pool area is large and expansive, with great views - though not particularly kid friendly. Whilst the hotel has free wi-fi the only area you can get reception is at the pool bar. Which reminds me if you think about having high tea at the pool bar don't expect it be served at the time specified, we even had to wait over an hour after the food for them to bring the tea - which they did with a smile (you just have to learn that their timeframes aren't the same as yours).
The dining area is located around from the pool and meals are buffet style - the food is nothing special (but then most buffets aren't). A small plus was when the chef was making hoppers one evening - try the sri lankan dishes they are always better than the western dishes. If you arrive early for breakfast you might watch the staff shooing away the local monkeys, who are always trying to steal a free feed.
The spa is not worth visiting as there are cheaper and better spas elsewhere in Kandy. The jewelry shop in the reception is overpriced with only a small selection - once again there are better places to buy jewelry from.
In my opinion once the rooms in the new wing are completed and furnished (at which time hopefully most of the problems we faced will have been addressed) then this is defintely a hotel worth staying at.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the newer wing of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dingo_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed at Thilanka in Dumballa and that was gorgeous and lovely. So we expected the same from Thilanka Kandy. They are not in the same ball park. It's the same price but the Kandy hotel is quite dilapidated and overrun by monkeys and Mosquitos.

It's a fab location with really amazing views from the bar. The service is friendly and the food is decent. So it's an OK place to stay but not worth $145 a night.

Room Tip: We heard the luxury rooms higher up were much nicer but that those higher up balconies were overrun...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel has lovely views across the lake to central Kandy, and the hills behind. The grounds merge into the forest, so it's peaceful with some wildlife (macaque monkeys, mongooses). It's a15 minute walk into town.

The rooms are a bit old and tired, but clean. Do keep the balcony doors locked as the monkeys will push unlocked doors open.

Food is average.

The spa is a bit Tolkien, dark organic Hobbit holes set apart from the main hotel. The steam bath was good, a wooden coffin with a heated, spiced bath underneath: very relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundhillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed here for our first two nights in Sri Lanka. Our plane was delayed by 1.5hours and so we arrived just before 9am. Our room wasn't ready and in the lobby you have the feeling that you are in a garage. We were invited to sit in the lounge on the first floor but the chairs didn't lend themselves to sleep. Wandered up to the next floor and went to sleep by the pool.
Our room .for 3 was spacious with a great view over the lake.
The monkeys caused quite a problem on the second day when they appeared so fast as my husband ate an orange on the balcony that he dropped his phone. By now there were 5 monkeys and one of them picked up his phone. Without thinking he rushed at this monkey which luckily dropped his phone and he retrieved it
We ate here both nights and whilst this wasn't what we had intended it was a good buffet with a chef's station doing hoppers, barbecue and a fresh seafood pasta as well as approx 10 curries and salads.
A good option

Room Tip: The views are good the higher up you go
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,096 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £55 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing