We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location above Temple of the Tooth - excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We visited this hotel for a 1 night stay during a 2 week holiday in Sri Lanka. As we'd booked to stay in a beach resort we did a 2 day, 1 night trip to visit the various attractions of central Sri Lanka and visit Kandy. The hotel was booked by our local guide Indika and we were very pleased with his selection.
On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff and taken to our room at the far end of the hotel - did seem quite confusing to find, but the reason becomes apparent when you see the outside of the hotel. There have been 4 sections of extensions done over the years and we had one of the newest rooms with generous space, great airconditioning, good ensuite and a balcony overlooking the Kandy valley. The only downside the exterior balcony was the sign warning you not to leave doors open as the hotel has monkeys in the grounds and they're know n to come into the rooms if given a chance and will steal anything they can carry! That aside it was amazing to watch the monkeys around the area. The hotel staff are very good at chasing them away if they come too close so they shouldn't pose a threat apart from taking things. (It is recommended not to feed them or get too close just in case though!)
Hotel has outside pool with lovely pool bar area which is ideal for daytime lounging or evening drinks.
Dinner was served in the main restaurant (in new section below our bedroom) and was buffet style and offered a good variety of options. Wine was also available on request although selection was fairly limited.
Entertainment the night we were there was a Sri Lankan band who performed at the edge of the restaurant and then wandered from table to table taking requests. They were great and we ended up, after dinner, at the pool area with them and really enjoyed it.
Breakfast in morning was also buffet style with a chef on hand to cook eggs / omelettes, etc.
Our bags were carried to the car for us and all staff we encountered were very helpful.
The hotel also has a spa / ayuveda centre in a separate building across from reception - this looked nice but we didn't have time to make use of its facilities.
I would be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing - they were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

I booked this hotel just based on reviews..Stayed here on 25th April as its our First anniversary.

Initially was in double thought if it was good decision..but I was completely happy at the time of leaving hotel after my one night stay.

We were upgraded to Executive suite as its first anniversary, the room was just awesome as I we wanted you can see in pics and good view overall...our room was 808. no monkeys over here as its completely closed and no balcony..therefore choose this room.

In the evening we prebooked for cake and then we invited all the hotel guest to attend our party..that was awesome as we had music played as well..unfortunately as its poya-day we didnt had alcohol but that didn't disappoint our healthy party.

Food was alright not but not so fantastic for dinner lot of options but taste matters..breakfast is having options but we went for general bread and butter and omelette

All and all I felt happy as we celebrated well and made it memorable for us..

Room Tip: room no.808 else take rooms in the same row of 800 and there is no monkeys this side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shree432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice location. Staff is friendly. Rooms are comfortable. The place is still being built however it needs to have a few basic things. They do not have a gym. The reception does not function after 12am calls are forwarded to the guard room. There is no hot water or room service after 12 am. Would be nice to have fresh juice for breakfast instead of cordial and artificial sweetner for tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mili666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Thilanka for 3 nights April 18-20 and loved everything about the hotel. The staff were exceptional, very friendly and responsive....always smiling and offering a greeting. The room we had was ideal for a 3 night stay, clean and spacious with a fantastic view of Kandy Lake. The food was excellent, very good buffet breakfast, several food options and plenty of entertainment with the monkeys trying to sneak a banana! BBQ on Saturday evening was deeelicous, really enjoyed it. Special thanks to Indiga at the pool bar for serving up the cold ones! Hotel Thilanka is in a prime location on the hillside with many attractions within walking distance - Tooth temple, Kandyan dance, downtown, walk around Kandy Lake. More props for the monkeys - they visited our balcony early one evening and we watched them from the pool bar in early morning. They were so comical, very entertaining! Loved the monkeys! Big thanks to everyone at Thilanka for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We entered this hotel and initial impression was quite favourable. Two bell boys grabbed our bags following receipt of our room key- room 907 from memory. We entered an old lift, reminiscent of those seen in old British films that had folding steel doors that could easily take a finger off . Both these folding doors had to be secured for the lift to activate. We got out of this lift and headed along a corridor to a second lift. Getting out of this one we headed to a third lift and finally got to our room. The two bell boys were earning their rupees. Clearly the hotel has had its share of add-ons over the years
The room was clean large and tidy with Tv and a fridge / tea making facilities. A great view overlooking the Lake, surrounding hills and suburbs along with a nice balcony. Below us the blue roof of the front of the hotel acted as the highway for a troop of monkeys that wandered around grooming each other and generally having a good time.
The restaurant was several floors down with an open front that looked out over the lake. The food was Ok ( buffet) although the service was a little sluggish.
Breakfast was our usual omelet and fruit - good enough with out being brilliant.
However the entertainment at breakfast will last long in our memories of the Thilanka. About 20 meters in front of the restaurant are a row of trees that abounded with monkeys. The occupants of a table, having finished their breakfast departed for their room . In an instant a monkey raced to the table, grabbed a cup and scuttled back to a tree . Here he sat , consumed the contents and then licked the bottom of the cup dry. A waiter grabbed a long pole but had no fixed plan in mind other than to poke at the branch - in the hope that the monkey would drop the cup possibly.

The monkey hung on to his prize and swinging through the trees made his escape. Everyone in the restaurant that witnessed the event was roaring with laughter - One of those special memories that made our stay so memorable
On the negative side was the lack of internet in our room and having to access 3 lifts means a 3 star rating

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is close to or on the floor above the restaurant with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in March. We are frequent visitors to Kandy and this was our first stay in
Thilanka. I would say that it is an excellent stopover hotel with spacious, clean rooms and our room had the most fabulous views. The restaurant is good, I found the food to be of an excellent standard with plenty of vegetarian choice. The restaurant staff friendly and efficient. It's location is what sold it to us as it is a 15 minute walk from the lake/centre of town and even quicker in a tuktuk.
A couple of negatives, there was not enough storage in the room for anyone staying longer than a couple of nights.
Also, the hotel appears to be popular with English schools on sporting trips. Although it could not be considered a fault of the hotel and more a criticism of the teachers in charge, I thought that their raucous behaviour both in and around the pool area was a little inconsiderate to the rest of the paying guests.
Generally, I would say, it is a good choice for a stay in Kandy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude-T77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hi All,

My wife and I stayed at Thilanka in April 2012 during our visit to Sri Lanka. We were on a 2 day tour of Kandy and Nuwara Eliya, then back to Colombo.

It is a big hotel with a small reception area. We had a room at a higher level and so the view was great during the day and at night. It had a balcony which was a plus point. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean even though it was clear that the hotel was quite old.

The buffet dinner and breakfast had a good variety of choices. Right next to the restaurant, work was going for hotel expansion, but that did not bother us at all, while eating or sleeping.

Beware of monkeys though. Make sure that the doors and windows are closed when you are not in the room or when you are sleeping. We did see a monkey when we woke up in the morning. It did not bother us at all and left soon. There are many monkeys going from rooftop to rooftop and in the trees which you can observe from the balcony.

The hotel is located close to a beautiful lake where you can go for a walk.

I would stay in this hotel again next time I visit Kandy.

Room Tip: The hotel gave my wife and I complimentary coupons for half an hour massage session. So be sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamzeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 58 in Kandy
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £56 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing