We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on the hillside above Kandy”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, which was as part of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The room was nice, with a balcony overlooking the lake, but beware of the monkeys! The warnings to keep the patio doors closed are justified! The hotel is a 15 minutes walk downhill to the Temple of the Tooth, and the lakeside, with the centre of Kandy a short distance further. The restaurant and bar areas were pleasant and the food was good. One word of warning - the hotel is not easy to find your way around, being built on a hill, with the main reception on the lowest level and the other areas on the floors above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for two nights in Nov.in a non renovated room.
This hotel has a lot of potential but unfortunately is not "polished" at his real value (very nice architecture and interior design but not well mentained). The room is ok and the balcony had an excellent view (we could walk from our balcony directly to the forest). The bathroom needs improvement as the bath was worn out ( if you don't have worm water just wait for 7 minutes lol).
The hotel is walking distance to the Tooth Temple and also next to a theatre which offers a traditional srilankan dance show (500 rupees per person). Be careful with monkeys if you leave the balcony open.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiberica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It's nice place to stay in Kandy!
Not far from the Tooth Temple, tasty food, amaizing view, good SPA, very caring staff, strong free WiFi in common area.

But rooms are old a bit. And you always should close the balcony doors becouse of monkeys. They grab us for bananas and ginger cookies =)

Room Tip: ask about 960 961 962 - for the amazing vew, but be careful with monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreeeamdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here with family for 3 nights and must admit that the rooms were very nicely made during our entire stay. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are very clean and spacious.

The pool side is the best place to spend some leisure time either on the pool beds or in the coffee shop next to it. Free Wifi is available in the lobby and pool-side area only.

The staff was very friendly and courteous enough to serve us our morning breakfast from the buffet in our rooms, something that very few hotels do.

Only down-side was that the food menu was missing good choices for Indian vegetarians and there are no rooms with King size beds.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank varun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This is a large hotel overlooking Kandy. The rooms are spacious and new although the hallways are a bit barren. The breakfast buffet is good, although you should be aware of the monkeys that hang around the dining room! The bar is good at night. Staff are helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DumbaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Thilanka is a good option if you want to stay in the heart of Kandy. Situated very close to the Tooth Relic Temple and the market place, in a very calm and peaceful location above the lake. The pool side Cafe/bar is the most beautiful part of Thilanka, overlooking the lake and the hills. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, with basic amenities. The washrooms are large size. Service is good with friendly staff. Food is more European, catering to the skew in guest population. It is a little expensive though.

Room Tip: With the balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our guide had booked this hotel for us and from what I could see on booking.com we got a really good deal so it was worth trusting him to book it. I had checked out his suggestions and compared them to what prices I could get so I knew it was better through him and if he gets commission and we save then we are all happy.

I'd looked at booking my own but be careful as if you are staying for a short time you want to be on or near to the lake I would suggest.

The hotel is located on Kandy Lake but up a side road which isn’t any trouble to walk up for a few minutes. We had a room with an amazing view and it was really big,The hotel has a pool, bar & restaurant – prices not too bad 450 for a beer, 550 for a sandwich plus tax.

It’s walking distance (mins) to the lake, dance show and Temple of the Tooth. There is also a good pub at the bottom of the hill.

Room Tip: Lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairies21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
828 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £61 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing