We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with to many rooms...”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Coudes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with to many rooms...”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Kandy, a beautiful city what we like very much. During all our visits to Sri Lanka is Kandy on our list. Every time we take an other hotel. This year was it Thilanka Hotel. Hanging against the mountain, with a beautiful view over the city. There are several different rooms. We had rooms in one of the old parts of the hotel. The room was spacious and beautiful, but the bathroom is out of time. They needs an renovation. Free WiFi was only in the lobby and the bar, pity, its a long walk through the hotel. The food was good. This hotel loves groups, so its a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask a totally renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    593
    228
    52
    48
See reviews for
292
536
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is in a tremendous location part way up a hill - about a 20-minute ride by Tuk-Tuk to town. The rooms are spacious and include a mini fridge. Both the air conditioning and the fan worked well and were reasonably quiet. The food both at the dinner and breakfast buffets was extremely high quality with lots of variety. Eggs were cooked to order at breakfast. The swimming pool was in a fantastic location overlooking the city but shade was very limited, and there weren’t that many chaise longues. There was a terrific open-air bar adjacent to the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Keep the door to the balcony closed at all times otherwise the monkeys will get in and steal your po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel and had a wonderful time. As already mentioned on TA the rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable. Yes, the monkeys can be a nuissance, especially if you sit on the balcony and eat something they are there in a blink. However, we found it rather amusing and enjoyed watching them. Just keep the balcony door closed when you leave the room as advised.
The pool is not too big, but its oval shape offers a good opportunity to swim some lengths.
We had only breakfast at the hotel and that was excellent. Already for breakfast a great variety of western and Sri Lankan food. We especially enjoyed the delicious curries.
The hotel staff was very friendly and always attentive.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view on the lake. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgitt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent three nights at the hotel and enjoyed it very much. Room was clean and spacious, bed comfortable and included a sofa which was great for reading. Couldn't use the balcony because of the monkeys. They did come into my friend's room and destroyed a camera. Don't forget to close and lock the balcony door!

The food and service were good, and the dining room was open air and most enjoyable. Every evening we had live music. One group was so enjoyable that I purchased one of their CDs. Although the monkeys could be a nuisance, I enjoyed watching them on the fence surrounding the dining room. One time they hopped onto a table and stole packets of sugar. Although the staff was upset with them, it was fun watching three of them tear into the sugar packets and eating it.

There is a lounge with gorgeous views. I enjoyed having a drink and just soaking up the beauty of the surrounding landscape. The pool looked nice, but I didn't use it.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Thilanka hotel is nice but cannot be compared to the resort. The rooms are comfortable. They told us to watch out for the monkeys since the little culprits can enter your room en touch your stuff. So when you leave -> close the doors. It provides a nice view over Kandy. Service is very good and staff is nice. The buffet offers you a lot of choices. This hotel is quite big so that's probably why. When we were there, the hotel was full of people, so very busy. Drinks are very expensive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VvdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had one night here and booked based on reviews on TA. We were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness and the quality of the rooms. The spa was good and in a nice setting, though I don't think they used well known products- I swear for the facial massage I had they used ghee?? The food was good with fair variety of different foods. Yes there were a few monkeys but they didn't seem to bother us. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mars27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This hotel was a great stop after climbing Adam's Peak the day before. It's luxurious, has an on site spa and swimming pool. The room was a great size with lounge area overlooking the city. I had monkeys playing on the balcony in the morning, so you have to keep the balcony doors closed. The breakfast food was good, the lunch food was ok. The spa was amazing with one of the best massages I've ever had at a very good price. The staff were helpful and looked after my bags while I went to look around the city after checkout, they also organised a taxi to the train station for me. i could only get wi-fi to work by the pool but i was only there for one night so not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthy_HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.7 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing