We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the hill, top notch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Top of the hill, top notch place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great view of the city - the lake, the tooth relic temple. Nice hotel, very comfortable, nice dining room, great food - sri lankan style. Wifi in the lobby works fine. Room comfortable and clean. Close to the Tooth Relic temple/last palace of the last king.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    588
    227
    52
    47
See reviews for
288
531
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Actually, never even got our booking. Told us their email had been down the day before.
The guy we dealt with at the front desk was pretty hopeless, but to be fair to the hotel, the reservations department sorted us out another room a their sister hotel, which proved to be perfectly acceptable. They also upgraded us to half board, so they did retrieve what was beginning to look like a fairly sticky situation.

Room Tip: Call and confirm your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is OK if you like large package-style hotels with mediocre buffet food, but we much preferred staying in smaller guesthouses and homestays elsewhere in Sri Lanka with their delicious freshly-cooked food and we found this place a bit impersonal. Our rooms were pretty good though and it was fine for one night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel deserves more than a three star rating! We only stayed for one night but the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Three of us shared a room and had ample space for all of us. The A/C was very effective and we didn't have to keep the noisy fan going all night - it added to the authenticity of the place. Lovely buffet dinner and breakfast, would definitely recommend. Just don't leave the balcony doors open or the monkeys get in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Food super expensive and not good , cheese sandwich from sliced bread with rubber cheese is 500 lkr , view from pool is nice , but not wow .
Pretty noisy, traffic noise from road below is high
Nothing is in walking distance

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Rafi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Large spacios rooms and good amneties. They serve variety of western and Eastern food. But be carefull of monkeys in the restaurant area where they grabed a bun from my daughter. Nice view fro the rooms and if you keep opened the window again monkeys will appear in you room as well. The only disadvantage is, no childrens poolavailable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank srishan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Right around the Kandy lake, behind the Dalada Maligawa sacred temple on the sharp turn left leading to Lake club is where this HTL is located. Stayed 2 nights with a group by holidayplandmc Colombo and the transformation of this hotel is amazing. Sharp turn with a steep climb to enter hotel large coach can not make it, Small reception area with friendly staff, many individual clients in this hotel so the parking is busy all the time but they help you to fit in somehow, rooms by the buffet area close to restaurant noisy until 10pm, cozy bar by the pool, mid sized.pool maintained well, rooms well kept, spacious, meals very good (it was the festival period when we stayed 11-12 April), Kandy town to hotel tuk-tuk will charge you 300 rupees, you can walk from queens HTL junction to Thilanka in approx 15min, lacking to Dalada Maligawa through hotel short cut 10min, when in this hotel keep your doors and windows always shut as there are a load of monkeys who invade and lift off things from your room if kept opened. Good location to explore Kandy Sri Lanka.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.7 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing