We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the hill, top notch place”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great view of the city - the lake, the tooth relic temple. Nice hotel, very comfortable, nice dining room, great food - sri lankan style. Wifi in the lobby works fine. Room comfortable and clean. Close to the Tooth Relic temple/last palace of the last king.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Actually, never even got our booking. Told us their email had been down the day before.
The guy we dealt with at the front desk was pretty hopeless, but to be fair to the hotel, the reservations department sorted us out another room a their sister hotel, which proved to be perfectly acceptable. They also upgraded us to half board, so they did retrieve what was beginning to look like a fairly sticky situation.

Room Tip: Call and confirm your booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is OK if you like large package-style hotels with mediocre buffet food, but we much preferred staying in smaller guesthouses and homestays elsewhere in Sri Lanka with their delicious freshly-cooked food and we found this place a bit impersonal. Our rooms were pretty good though and it was fine for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel deserves more than a three star rating! We only stayed for one night but the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Three of us shared a room and had ample space for all of us. The A/C was very effective and we didn't have to keep the noisy fan going all night - it added to the authenticity of the place. Lovely buffet dinner and breakfast, would definitely recommend. Just don't leave the balcony doors open or the monkeys get in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Food super expensive and not good , cheese sandwich from sliced bread with rubber cheese is 500 lkr , view from pool is nice , but not wow .
Pretty noisy, traffic noise from road below is high
Nothing is in walking distance

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Rafi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Large spacios rooms and good amneties. They serve variety of western and Eastern food. But be carefull of monkeys in the restaurant area where they grabed a bun from my daughter. Nice view fro the rooms and if you keep opened the window again monkeys will appear in you room as well. The only disadvantage is, no childrens poolavailable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank srishan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Right around the Kandy lake, behind the Dalada Maligawa sacred temple on the sharp turn left leading to Lake club is where this HTL is located. Stayed 2 nights with a group by holidayplandmc Colombo and the transformation of this hotel is amazing. Sharp turn with a steep climb to enter hotel large coach can not make it, Small reception area with friendly staff, many individual clients in this hotel so the parking is busy all the time but they help you to fit in somehow, rooms by the buffet area close to restaurant noisy until 10pm, cozy bar by the pool, mid sized.pool maintained well, rooms well kept, spacious, meals very good (it was the festival period when we stayed 11-12 April), Kandy town to hotel tuk-tuk will charge you 300 rupees, you can walk from queens HTL junction to Thilanka in approx 15min, lacking to Dalada Maligawa through hotel short cut 10min, when in this hotel keep your doors and windows always shut as there are a load of monkeys who invade and lift off things from your room if kept opened. Good location to explore Kandy Sri Lanka.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Gavin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 58 in Kandy
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £56 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing