We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Helpful staff, lovely pool, stylish rooms and well-priced.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2010

Enjoyed my stay here. Its out of the main hussle and bussle of Kandy, but thats a good thing. Has a lovely pool overlooking Kandy, and the rooms were clean. Make sure you don't get the rooms up the top, these were quite old and run down and $10 cheaper. Book in advance. The internet was expensive, cost me 10x as much as the cafes

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KENT F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Not sure what previous reviewers expected for this price. I guess most folk pitch up here as part of a tour for 1 or 2 nights, as we did. Kandy was virtually fully booked we were told and we got a room thru a cancellation. I guess it was in the old block, on the lowest level. The room was spacious and the bed clean. It didn't smell unpleasant. Air con ok and good hot shower. The pool is beautifully located overlooking Kandy lake. During the evening, one rather homemade looking bedside light started smoking and when we turned it off at the wall, a few sparks flew. That wasn't so good. We found the buffet breakfast and dinner had ample choice and tasty enough. At the end of the day when you are sipping a G&T in the tropical night as the harmless local calypso band croon around the dining room, life doesn't seem so bad. The band are only trying to make a few rupees in a poor country and if you can't spare Rs1000 for their CD, well, thats up to you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January. We have stayed there before on a previous trip and found it much the same.

We had a good welcome on arrival with cold towels and a welcome drink. Our rooms were on the first floor of the new block with a good view over Kandy. the hotel was very convenient for our evening visit to the culture show at the Lake Club.

The rooms are a bit tired but have air con and a ceiling fan. There is a bit of an odd smell but I think that is due to the insect repellent used. The monkeys on the balcony in the morning are good fun to watch but I wouldn't want to approach them.

The dinner buffet was fine but on both nights we were 'serenaded' by a truly awful local group - they were so bad we were in fits of laughter! And we didn't buy their CD!

The breakfast buffet was also OK but you have to be careful because of the monkeys. A couple next to us put down their juice and bread and went back to get their cooked food and a monkey came down and drank from their glasses and then stole the bread! It was amusing watching one person trying to shoo them away while someone else was trying to take their photo!

One thing to be aware of at this hotel is that if you want to change cash into rupees they give a very poor rate - 166 rupees to the pound when we were there when everywhere else we went gave well over 170.

All in all I would say this hotel is OK for the money - we paid £35 per night for two people half board.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We were booked in by our tour guide but the room was poor so we didn't stay.
The whole room was tatty with a stained bed spread and damp stains on the ceiling. On initial viewing it looked suitable but soon changed our minds and decided not to stay.
We had requested a non-smoking room but there was a smell of cigarettes, the bathroom was old, chipped and tatty and the TV only shows local channels with an aerial you have to wave about.
The manager was distraught and showed us two other rooms which were just as bad so we left and went to Amya Hills. Much more expensive but truly lovely... and cean

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a 3 day trip. After reading previous reviews on this site I expressed my concerns over the room and I insisted on a room in the new block. I was given a room on the ground floor next to the pool. The room was clean and comfortable apart from it being very stuffy. The food was good and I found the hotel adequate for the purpose I needed it for.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed at this Hotel as part of our excursion to Kandy with the local tour operator. The location was excellent close to Temple of the Tooth Relic and the Lake offering a fantastic view to the Kandy lake. Our room was on the fourth floor. Dinner and breakfast were good. The room and its facilities were not as good as it looked on the brochure. It is fine for a very short stop-over. We would recommend this hotel but due to an incident of 'a peeping tom' and the way the matter was being handled by a duty manager hence a word of warning -
Watch out the Bathroom window! We encountered 'a peeping tom' (my wife was having a bath at the time) and reported to the duty manager but was asked to complete a complaint form for the manager. The duty manager did not seem to be bothered by it and did not handle our complaint very well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.6 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Family Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £58 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing