We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position for visiting Kandy”
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good position for visiting Kandy”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for three nights as part of a tour; we had a twin room on the 4th floor. The hotel is on a hill above Kandy, with good views, away from the hustle and bustle of the city but still close enough to be able to walk to the Temple of the Tooth, for example, if you choose.

The hotel seems popular, there was a steady procession of Sri Lankan wedding couples having their photographs taken at the hotel. Both dinner and breakfast is a buffet, although one night they had a barbeque option as well. Breakfast does not have the widest choice.

There is a local band that serenades the tables at dinner, some people don´t like that kind of thing. However, we were slightly over enthusiastic about them, joining in and making requests and the poor band were avoiding us after that.

The room was fine. Quite large and not badly decorated, obviously we had one of the better rooms, reading these reviews. The monkeys visit all the balconies first thing in the morning, they are more than cheeky, so you must be aware that they will pilfer and can be quite threatening. We had an issue where one of our balcony doors jammed open last thing at night; reception sent a man up who fixed it temporarily and he promised that maintenance would fix it the next day, which they did.

Some of the electrical wiring is a bit dubious; we didn´t have the option of turning one of the bedside lamps off at the wall as one of the other reviewers mentions, as ours was joined to the electric supply through sticking the wires straight into the hole where the socket should have been.

One definite plus point about this hotel is that there is a room where one can use the computers. I found the rate quite reasonable and also the connection reasonable.

Opposite the hotel entrance, there is a bar which serves cocktails; its rather dark in there but its a change of venue. You do have to get past the gem shop and the souvenir shop people to get into it however.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Some of the waiters need a little training (eg deliver drinks in restaurant, return 10 minutes later with the bottle opener to open them, return 10 minutes later with the glasses) however, I would recommend this hotel if visiting Kandy based on our experience.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    593
    228
    52
    48
See reviews for
292
536
65
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed in the block with views over Kandy lake, the views being better from our first room than the one we had 3 nights later.
Both rooms were perfectly acceptable, clean but tired. Beds were soft, but comfortable & the staff were friendly.
A plus for us being the buffet breakfast & evening meal, both were tasty with plenty of choice.
All in all a decent hotel for short stays.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Food good, room ok but very tired - looks like it hasn't been redecorated for 20 years. needs a bit of tlc. There appeared to be some better rooms but ours was standard one on 3rd floor - view was great but the warnings regarding monkeys means you don't use the balcony at all. table lamp didn't work, no mini bar, no water provided to drink, no hair dryer in room. Thankfully only stayed one night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We had cool drinks and flannels on arrival for 2 nights, always well received. We had an interesting room that was below the level of the swimming pool and the corridor had the feel of a nuclear bunker, lots of concrete. The large room even had a long concrete sort of bar. The hotel is high up on a steep cliff looking down on Kandy, a lovely view. The room had aircon and a fan and a balcony with a sign suggesting that it wasn't wise to open the sliding door because of the monkeys! The room had a TV but was mainly Sri Lankan and Indian programmes. The swimming pool is on the edge of the long drop down the cliff and gets the great view. Some people were having a massage by the pool. Dinner was lively with a local band going round the tables. The buffet offered plenty of choice at dinner and breakfast. There is a room with a few internet terminals near Reception. All in all this hotel was an improvement on some of the others we had been in earlier in our trip and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

After reading all the comments on Trip Advisor which are a collection of mixed reviews, we were a bit cautious. But upon arrival, we found it to be a good hotel. Clean, big rooms. Bathroom was clean and spacious with good hot water. Buffet Dinner and Buffet Breakfast were great. Internet was not good. One computer available in business center at dial up speed. You can however, get a foot massage by the pool. All in all a good place to stay in Kandy. Very much meets flashpacker standards.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappySmileyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Don't be fooled by the hotel's website. The reality is entirely different. Drab public areas; broken room fixtures; a grubby bathroom; torn and ill-fitting room curtains; ripped bamboo blinds; non-working wall sockets; sagging mattresses. At least avoid the tall block of rooms (where we were put up) if you cannot avoid the hotel altogether. We were thankful we had booked only one night, and stayed put for the night rather than change to another hotel only because we had arrived tired after a long day's drive from Tangalle. We promptly checked-out first thing the following morning. Our experience here was saved only by the hotel's staff who were obliging, genuinely hospitable and prompt with service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetstream50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonny1976
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Helpful staff, lovely pool, stylish rooms and well-priced.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.7 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#7 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing