We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monkey Business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Thilanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Thilanka
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Monkey Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at the Thilanka hotel in Kandy for two nights during a tour of Sri Lanka which was arranged by the owner of the guest house where we were staying in Bentota (see separate review for Shangri-Lanka Villa). We stayed for one night and were then away in Dambulla for two nights (also Thilanka Hotel - see separate review) before returning for one further night at the Thilanka Kandy Hotel.

We first stayed in Room 904 and then 210 on our second stay.

The first room was large with a small balcony which overlooked the pool and a small wooded area at the side of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean with a large bathroom with a bath/shower. There was a sign on the window which advised keeping the doors closed to avoid monkeys coming into the room which we took with a pinch of salt given that we were on the 3rd floor.

We had a brief opportunity to use the hotel pool on our first day. The pool was cold but refreshing. It was relatively small but was not particularly busy whilst were there.

We didnt have any monkey altercations but on our way down to breakfast in the morning, we watched as a monkey swung from the roof into the restaurant and then away with a banana!

We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis and both dinner and breakfast were buffets which were very tasty and varied.

However, be careful, on our first night we had the Sri Lankan curry from the buffet and there was one bowl at the end of the table which did not have a label and I assumed (it looked like) Mango Chutney and added some to the pate. When my mouth later began burning whilst eating dinner I assumed it was just that the curry was incredibly spicy. I like hot curries but I couldnt eat it. I later found out that the chutney I placed on my plate was in fact sambol a very fiery and spicy condiment which should be used sparingly... needless to say I didnt make the mistake twice!

There was a small issue on our first night. Whilst eating, a man, who said he was a member of staff came to us at dinner and told us that he had smelt burning coming from our room and that he thought it was coming from the air conditioning unit and he was talking about wanting to go to our room. I tried to ascertain whether he was telling us this because he wanted to go with him/ because he needed us to be with him as he wouldnt enter our room alone/ he didnt need to go into the room but was just telling us what was happening (the air conditioning unit is situated just above the main door to the room). When I tried to ascertain this, the member of staff just walked off and said it didnt matter. Needless to say i was concerned about this - if there was a fire or a burning smell then this was potentially an emergency but the member of staff just walking off and saying it didnt matter made me wonder if he was in fact a member of staff or in fact a stranger who was trying to get us to go to our room where we could have been robbed.

We stayed put in the dining room and after dinner I decided to approach reception to clarify whether there was an emergency, the receptionist had no record of any burning smell near our room and seemed confused. At that time, the man who had accosted us at dinner came into the reception area and the receptionist asked what the problem and he seemed to be telling the receptionist (in Sri Lankan) that there was nothing. We were told there was no issue and so we went back to our room although the receptionist sent a member of staff with us (not the man who had been raising the alarm) just to check the air conditioning unit which was fine and there was no burning smell in the room or otherwise. We had no further issues but it was a bit weird.

On both nights that we had dinner at the hotel there was live music - a calypso quartet on one occasion and a spanish style quartet on the second night, both were very good and were doing the rounds in the restaurant whilst trying to and plug and sell their CDs.

On the second night we also took a short detour to the hotel bar on our way to dinner for cocktails which were well made. The bar was dark and more akin a small pub.

The second room we stayed in was room 210 which was a slightly larger room with small couch and larger terrace which overlooked the restaurant area. The bathroom was again slightly larger than the first room, with a separate walk in dressing area.

I was slightly worried as were taken to our room which was via a service elevator and I thought it was in the staff quarters as there were a number of mops and buckets left in the corridor outside our room. I later learned that our room was next to a dorm room used by tour drivers.

There was no sign on the window in this room and having not seen any monkeys in our previous room we did not have any great expectations. We were therefore extremely surprised when we opened our curtains in the morning to be faced with approx 6 monkeys, clearly intrigued by us and pressing against the window to peer in! Amazing!

The location of the hotel is good as it is a short walk to the Temple of the Tooth, the lake and the shopping area. The hotel is, however, up a steep hill without pavements.

We didnt make use of the spa at the hotel.

I am happy to answer questions - just message me.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easygoinghoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    574
    224
    52
    46
See reviews for
283
518
63
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

After having read a few mixed reviews I was apprehensive about the hotel and the comments about how the hotel is nothing like it says on its website. However my fears were illfounded and we really liked the hotel. Check in was smooth enough (but for the lady from the Ayurvedic spa who was doing a hardsell) and the walk to to the room took us past the pool from where there was a glorious view of Kandy and the lake. On the ground floor at the lift the rooms and the corridor looked pretty dark but once we got off the lift on the 3rd floor (we were in Room 900) it was bright and the room with its own private balcony had the same view of Kandy.

The room decor looked a bit confused maybe it was designed to show Sri Lankan motifs but was clean and functional. The service especially in the restaurant and housekeeping was very good and very responsive. The best part about this hotel is that its just a short (uphill though) walk from the key attraction of Kandy (The tooth temple). The food at breakfast and dinner was good and they had some live music on at dinner.
The only downside I found at this hotel was the sagging mattress and the lift (both of which I think needs replacing). But otherwise it is a good hotel and I would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biker030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel compared reasonably favourably with the more expensive hotels we stayed in during rest of our trip.
Comfortable rooms. Food is OK but there are better options in Kandy itself which is about a ten minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltruffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We found the hotel very clean, we stayed in the new section with modern furniture and new bathroom.The food was good, a selection from the buffet quite a range.There was a party on the terrace above our rooms which was fine till they came to clean and tidy afterwards, i had to go up and complain about dragging the tables and chairs across the floor, this stopped at once with prefuse apologies,and more apologies next morning.On the whole i think this hotel is good value and would recommend.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennielHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at the Thilanka for one night while passing through Kandy. Pretty much everything about this hotel is average, although the staff are actually quite good. The building as a whole needs a lick of paint and a bit of tlc. The rooms are large, but with only basic furniture in them they look a bit empty. The bed wasn't very comfy and the room smelt of damp, but the bathroom was nice and it has aircon.

The restauraunt and food are better, with a decent selection of food and wine.

The views are ok, Kandy itself is a bit of a disappointment to be honest, but the hotel is within walking distance of the Temple of the Tooth and the town centre.

Overall, I wouldn't have stayed there for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

I have already wasted too much of my life on this place, but I will say the the rooms ground floor rooms near the pool are a mix of damp bomb shelter and garage conversion. We had the missfortune to stay 3 nights because during the festival everywhere else was booked. Hmmm. We all felt ill, I spent one night throwing up and I think it was down to the dampness in the rooms rather than the food. A good word must be said for the service though as the staff were very helpful but must find it a struggle to work in such a depressing building.
Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at the Thilanka for 3 nights. We had a deluxe room with a little garden. The monkeys did come in the morning, but it s better to leave your balcony door closed when they re there ( usually from 8.30 am to 10 am). But you can still get close to them! The pool is very nice, we tried a massage at the cosy little ayureveda center, and we were very pleased with it. You can get a fresh omelette for breakfast, and the room service menu has very acceptable prices. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We didn t see the other rooms, but ours was really luxurious, with a giant bar-counter, a big bead with soft blankets, a tv, a lounge chair.... Down side: none.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freaksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#20 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thilanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thilanka

Property: Hotel Thilanka
Address: 3 Sangamitta Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Thilanka 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Hotel Thilanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thilanka Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing