We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spica Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spica Holiday Home
Ranked #73 of 366 Kandy B&B and Inns
Buskerud, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights without any problems. Good standard, wifi, lovely view! They speak english very well and help us with finding a great driver for the rest of the trip :)They also helped us with planning the rest of the tour. Recommanded!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    24
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This guesthouse is located in the beautiful hills above Kandy with great views and a peaceful atmosphere. However, it's location can also be a bit of a drag - it takes at least 30mins to walk up to the house and 20mins to walk down. This is a minimum of 150rs each way in a tuk tuk which is something to be aware of.

The married couple that run the place are very sweet and welcoming and provide a great taste of Sri Lankan family life. But another factor to bare in mind is the price of food at the guesthouse. It is 750rs per person for dinner (Sri Lankan) and 450rs for breakfast. This may not seem extortionate but you can find the same standard of food in town for much less and furthermore although we should have checked before accepting the offer for dinner, they made no effort to inform us of the price before hand.

All in all a pleasant stay and we slept well while we were there -would recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views and a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

My stay here was just average; the location is remote. I didn't mind at all the walk down, but be prepared to get a tuk tuk to return. My room was very average as well. I think I was room 5; it opens to a nice balcony/deck, but right next door is the owner's daughter and 2 very young children, so there was noise and crying from the children. But you can't really complain because it is their house. The room was quite spacious, but very simple. However, the towels were the very worst I have ever seen- and I have stayed at some very inexpensive places across Asia. They were stained beyond belief and rough. These are the kinds of towels that I would use for cleaning the car at home. It is surprising they would give them to a guest, and then of course they were not replaced since the room was never cleaned. There is wi-fi, but be warned the owner turns it off when he goes to bed, as early as 9 p.m.
The food was a bit pricy, especially breakfast. Quality and quantity were again, average at best. Dinner was a better value, especially if you have to end up paying 300 for a tuk tuk to bring you back to the guesthouse after dinner. Prices weren't posted so you should ask beforehand; water was 30 R more there than at a sit-down restaurant in town.
The hospitality was fine, the owner had recent surgery so is likely not as outgoing as in the past, which is certainly understandable.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise, may want to stay in a room away from the young family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillykandy, Owner at Spica Holiday Home, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
I thank the lady "anonymous" for writing.
I am surprised a bit of the contents which could have been in content similar to the "excellent" reviews down below. (Please read those reviews also). Why I say this is because. the lady had great potential to enjoy herself here which is more like a home. She could have been more open and established a more friendly rapport than be a little aloof and shown us a preference to be alone.

I'll try to answer the matters raised as best as I could.
(a) very Average room : Indeed it is a very average room. (Below US $20.00. Not luxury
class. That is the very reason you pay less than in a five star hotel.
Yes, it is simple and very clean and more, with en suite facilities with
hot/cold water 24 hours on with access to a balcony with a superb view.
(b) I am surprised that my most adorable and cute little grands were
not appreciated. Everybody who saw them, heard them, felt so very homely
with them that they cuddled them, played with them and enjoyed their
little company. After all, being human, I would not consider a child crying
as "noise". Exceptionally, some loners do consider a child crying as
unpleasant, unexpected, or undesirable. What a world!
(c) Towels were the very worst: Normally I personally see each and every room when
they are made ready. As I was incapacitated, I certainly did not see the
towels in the up stair room that she is writing about, in her review. I would not of course use such rough towels to wipe my car and spoil the sheen. Let's not exaggerate.
A bit of prudent sense and respect by simply asking for a change of towels would have met the desirable outcome of her to have a change of towels. Mistakes and misadventures do happen Madam. Silence is not always golden Madam. Ask and you shall receive, haven't you heard?
(d) room not cleaned: I can very well remember explaining to the lady that incapacitated as I was after very recent CABG surgery, (commonly known as open heart bypass surgery) and therefore, apologetically asking the lady whether anything was a miss in the room as I have NOT personally seen it. She told me that everything is fine. I do remember asking her every time I see her "Everything OK?" Never did I get a reply that everything wasn't OK. So........what is the problem? As a policy on security reasons, we clean the rooms only when the occupant is present. She always leaves at about 0830 and comes back at 1900 or later. She could well have asked me to have the room cleaned as and when she wanted. There is nothing wrong in asking.
(e) breakfast pricy: Reminds me of the Chinese proverb, meaning in English "Cheap things
no good, good things no cheap". Sit down breakfast here is not comparable to a
breakfast in a restaurant down town and which cheap restaurant is the lady talking of.
We are certainly not at that level. A properly laid out table, including lightly starched
serviettes, (Not tissues), all cutlery crockery, hot breakfast straight off the kitchen, priced at about US $3.40 with quality B.O.P. tea /coffee, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, separately served (not ready made), fruit/juice, butter, jams/marmalade, hot toasts and all unlimited in quantity is a breakfast much in the English style practiced here at the Spica and justifies our price. We do not serve "supposed-to-be-free complimentary breakfasts". Why? Just why do not you see the good side of things?
(f) Wi-Fi: She had the option of using paid wi-fi as well. Well I cannot give everything free. I have spent a good deal of money for a superb wi-fi sytem and that was not FREE. I explained this to her. And so why complain when I openly told her that the complimentary wi-fi is for the limited hours in the morning and evening and it was also published even in her own booking sheet with Hostelworld.
(g) Comparing prices of Mineral water is not fair. Various establishments have their own methods of compensating accounting methods far too numerous to mention here. She should have researched the prices of quality tea, jams, fruit etc. before writing with assumed authority on the subject of travel and costing. A more relaxed budgetary approach by her and joyful participation with us for mutual satisfaction, openly, would have been much better.
Readers be warned of what you read in reviews. These are only personal opinions. Please read details of websites/micro sites carefully, if in doubt about any matter get it clarified with the owners or management and then make your bookings. Please do not unnecessarily complain later. Spica is just what you see in our website and micro sites, a homely place, and is not like a commercial institution at all, and above all is good value for your money in Kandy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

we only stayed here one night but it worth every penny! For a family room we paid about 14 pounds. The couple who run this place were really lovely. They helped us arrange a driver and helped us plan our trip. The room was basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaguftaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narbonne, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Spica Holiday Home is a Gem. Situated in the hills 2 and a half Kilometers ( 15 minutes walk or 7 minutes in a Tuk-Tuk) from the centre of Kandy; it is very quiet with fantastic views over the valley.
Tillek and Chitra, a couple in their 70’s, are the most amazing hosts. You will receive the warmest of welcomes and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spacious and most have access to a huge balcony. Tillek is an amazing cook and constantly surprised us with a variety of Sri Lankan breakfasts. If you ask well in advance he will prepare you an evening meal. This is an opportunity not to be missed. Chitra is a delight, the most gentle of souls, she will share her knowledge with you with grace and charm.
One other thing that the Spica offers is the availability of their own van and Rodney the driver/guide. Rodney is a man with a huge depth of understanding of the history of Sri Lanka and a wealth of information regarding the Flora and Fauna of the region. A trip with him is a real adventure and you will visit places that most tourists never find.
It must be remembered however the Spica is not an hotel so don’t expect anything except clean rooms, great food and the company of some truly wonderful people.
My wife and I spent 3 weeks there and we consider it a privilege that we can now count Tillek, Chitra and Rodney as friends.
Jon and Kristine Bayliss
January 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

We stated two nights and enjoyed it a lot. Lovely views, quiet and relaxing yet a short walk (15 mins) to central Kandy and a quick tuk-tuk ride back (approx 300 rupies). Very nice place, lovely, clean rooms. Wifi works well. Their home cooking is excellent!! Felt like a real homestay. The owner, mr Tallak, was very helpful and assisted us in booking rides as well as planning excursions. Him and his associated driver/s have strong opinions on where to go and how/when though, so listen to their knowledgable advice but don't let them take over your trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1or2YoungSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were 2 nights at spica in January and had a nice time. The house is in the hills but ony a 5/7 minute tuctuc ride from the city centre (150/200 rupees...at least thats what we managed to get).

The room was nice, a good sized bed, but the bed linin is quite old and used, the towels had holes in and were not so soft, but anyway, all were perfectly clean. The bathroom was not the cleaest and there are many animals around - gekkos, but if you dont mind them you wont have a problem.

Spica is great value for money and the breakfast was lovely. As others have said the owner, the older gentleman, is a very nice man and extremely helpful. Many thanks for your hospitality, is was a lovely time.

Room Tip: pay for the most expensive, its still quite cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D8ost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#30 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hanthana Jungle View Holiday Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bethel Rest
Bethel Rest
#26 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Tourist Inn
Royal Tourist Inn
#45 of 288 in Kandy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spica Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spica Holiday Home

Property: Spica Holiday Home
Address: 77/5 Sri Dhamma Siddhi Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spica Holiday Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house approximately 1.5 km from the city center. We have six (6) rooms, 4 rooms with two single beds in each (2 have air conditioning facility), Two (2) Triple room with three beds in each room one room is with air conditioning facility. Those with a/c can be switched on or used without a/c and charged as per preference. Very clean ensuite rooms with solar heated hot/ cold water. The Spica is quiet and peaceful away from the city noise.Excellent views from some rooms which have access to balconies.Can provide home cooked meals on order with reasonable notice.Free WiFi and paid high speed WiFi also available. Free Internet.Laundry underatken when loads are small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Spica Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing