We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”
Review of Spica Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spica Holiday Home
Ranked #85 of 442 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was the beginning of my 6 week trip to Sri Lanka. What a wonderful warm stay i had at this lovely place. I had a very nice quiet room on the first floor and always was happy to return in the evenings after my full day out sightseeing. All my questions were always answered and the host was always looking out for me to get the best of my stay. I was 5 days here at Spica. It is a bit far from the center of the city, but for me it was no problem at all. A tuk-tuk is easy and cheap if you do not want to walk. Thanks again Spica!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Spica Holiday Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights after scouting a number of places for accommodation that would meet our budget. The General and his wife greeted us with a smile and opened their home to us both with brilliant English and keen for a chat. First impressions last and this one was brilliant. A clean, friendly, homely place with big fluffy towels, a warm shower and beers on the balcony - glorious!

We were happy to stroll down to town but do expect to catch a tuk tuk back - it's steep!

The home cooked dinner was just devine as were the breakfasts. Just be sure to confirm costs before signing up.

This place is perfect for couples, families, singles - it's a quaint comfortable place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The best thing about this special guest house is the charismatic couple who own it; they run their business with passion and an attentiveness that is yet yo be matched in my travelling experience. They will tend to your every need, no matter how small. I felt as valued as I did welcomed.

The house itself is spacious, bright and airy; coupled with its majestic views of the knuckles mountain range, it has a very sublime feel to it. You can watch the sun rise or set on one if the house balconies, or on a pagoda at the bottom of the garden that sits on the very edge of the hill.

As a solo female traveller, I felt cared for and safe, as the owners Tillak and Chitra ensured I had trusted drivers and guides to assist me on my tour of the city and beyond. They even invited me to join them on a family excursion which was sweet and very touching; it allowed me to experience a part of Kandy I wouldn't have otherwise. They have an impeccable level of English, interesting tales to tell and a wealth of knowledge to offer about the country's history and culture.

The food is very reasonably priced and Tillak prepares his dishes with supreme enthusiasm - I recommended instead of ordering, you let him surprise you one evening - you won't be disappointed. He shows such passion for his guests to have an exciting culinary experience and to sample true Sri Lankan dishes.

Ignore the pedantic and largely unfounded negatives below, this guest house is a jewel of Kandy and is such excellent value for money, you will certainly leave feeling not only satisfied, but that you have found a home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h3ather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights without any problems. Good standard, wifi, lovely view! They speak english very well and help us with finding a great driver for the rest of the trip :)They also helped us with planning the rest of the tour. Recommanded!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This guesthouse is located in the beautiful hills above Kandy with great views and a peaceful atmosphere. However, it's location can also be a bit of a drag - it takes at least 30mins to walk up to the house and 20mins to walk down. This is a minimum of 150rs each way in a tuk tuk which is something to be aware of.

The married couple that run the place are very sweet and welcoming and provide a great taste of Sri Lankan family life. But another factor to bare in mind is the price of food at the guesthouse. It is 750rs per person for dinner (Sri Lankan) and 450rs for breakfast. This may not seem extortionate but you can find the same standard of food in town for much less and furthermore although we should have checked before accepting the offer for dinner, they made no effort to inform us of the price before hand.

All in all a pleasant stay and we slept well while we were there -would recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views and a/c.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imogen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My stay here was just average; the location is remote. I didn't mind at all the walk down, but be prepared to get a tuk tuk to return. My room was very average as well. I think I was room 5; it opens to a nice balcony/deck, but right next door is the owner's daughter and 2 very young children, so there was noise and crying from the children. But you can't really complain because it is their house. The room was quite spacious, but very simple. However, the towels were the very worst I have ever seen- and I have stayed at some very inexpensive places across Asia. They were stained beyond belief and rough. These are the kinds of towels that I would use for cleaning the car at home. It is surprising they would give them to a guest, and then of course they were not replaced since the room was never cleaned. There is wi-fi, but be warned the owner turns it off when he goes to bed, as early as 9 p.m.
The food was a bit pricy, especially breakfast. Quality and quantity were again, average at best. Dinner was a better value, especially if you have to end up paying 300 for a tuk tuk to bring you back to the guesthouse after dinner. Prices weren't posted so you should ask beforehand; water was 30 R more there than at a sit-down restaurant in town.
The hospitality was fine, the owner had recent surgery so is likely not as outgoing as in the past, which is certainly understandable.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by noise, may want to stay in a room away from the young family.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillykandy, Owner at Spica Holiday Home, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

I thank the lady "anonymous" for writing.
I am surprised a bit of the contents which could have been in content similar to the "excellent" reviews down below. (Please read those reviews also). Why I say this is because. the lady had great potential to enjoy herself here which is more like a home. She could have been more open and established a more friendly rapport than be a little aloof and shown us a preference to be alone.

I'll try to answer the matters raised as best as I could.
(a) very Average room : Indeed it is a very average room. (Below US $20.00. Not luxury
class. That is the very reason you pay less than in a five star hotel.
Yes, it is simple and very clean and more, with en suite facilities with
hot/cold water 24 hours on with access to a balcony with a superb view.
(b) I am surprised that my most adorable and cute little grands were
not appreciated. Everybody who saw them, heard them, felt so very homely
with them that they cuddled them, played with them and enjoyed their
little company. After all, being human, I would not consider a child crying
as "noise". Exceptionally, some loners do consider a child crying as
unpleasant, unexpected, or undesirable. What a world!
(c) Towels were the very worst: Normally I personally see each and every room when
they are made ready. As I was incapacitated, I certainly did not see the
towels in the up stair room that she is writing about, in her review. I would not of course use such rough towels to wipe my car and spoil the sheen. Let's not exaggerate.
A bit of prudent sense and respect by simply asking for a change of towels would have met the desirable outcome of her to have a change of towels. Mistakes and misadventures do happen Madam. Silence is not always golden Madam. Ask and you shall receive, haven't you heard?
(d) room not cleaned: I can very well remember explaining to the lady that incapacitated as I was after very recent CABG surgery, (commonly known as open heart bypass surgery) and therefore, apologetically asking the lady whether anything was a miss in the room as I have NOT personally seen it. She told me that everything is fine. I do remember asking her every time I see her "Everything OK?" Never did I get a reply that everything wasn't OK. So........what is the problem? As a policy on security reasons, we clean the rooms only when the occupant is present. She always leaves at about 0830 and comes back at 1900 or later. She could well have asked me to have the room cleaned as and when she wanted. There is nothing wrong in asking.
(e) breakfast pricy: Reminds me of the Chinese proverb, meaning in English "Cheap things
no good, good things no cheap". Sit down breakfast here is not comparable to a
breakfast in a restaurant down town and which cheap restaurant is the lady talking of.
We are certainly not at that level. A properly laid out table, including lightly starched
serviettes, (Not tissues), all cutlery crockery, hot breakfast straight off the kitchen, priced at about US $3.40 with quality B.O.P. tea /coffee, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, separately served (not ready made), fruit/juice, butter, jams/marmalade, hot toasts and all unlimited in quantity is a breakfast much in the English style practiced here at the Spica and justifies our price. We do not serve "supposed-to-be-free complimentary breakfasts". Why? Just why do not you see the good side of things?
(f) Wi-Fi: She had the option of using paid wi-fi as well. Well I cannot give everything free. I have spent a good deal of money for a superb wi-fi sytem and that was not FREE. I explained this to her. And so why complain when I openly told her that the complimentary wi-fi is for the limited hours in the morning and evening and it was also published even in her own booking sheet with Hostelworld.
(g) Comparing prices of Mineral water is not fair. Various establishments have their own methods of compensating accounting methods far too numerous to mention here. She should have researched the prices of quality tea, jams, fruit etc. before writing with assumed authority on the subject of travel and costing. A more relaxed budgetary approach by her and joyful participation with us for mutual satisfaction, openly, would have been much better.
Readers be warned of what you read in reviews. These are only personal opinions. Please read details of websites/micro sites carefully, if in doubt about any matter get it clarified with the owners or management and then make your bookings. Please do not unnecessarily complain later. Spica is just what you see in our website and micro sites, a homely place, and is not like a commercial institution at all, and above all is good value for your money in Kandy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

we only stayed here one night but it worth every penny! For a family room we paid about 14 pounds. The couple who run this place were really lovely. They helped us arrange a driver and helped us plan our trip. The room was basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaguftaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.7 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.1 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spica Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spica Holiday Home

Address: 77/5 Sri Dhamma Siddhi Mawatha | Asgiriya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £13 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spica Holiday Home 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house approximately 1.5 km from the city center. We have six (6) rooms, 4 rooms with two single beds in each (2 have air conditioning facility), Two (2) Triple room with three beds in each room one room is with air conditioning facility. Those with a/c can be switched on or used without a/c and charged as per preference. Very clean ensuite rooms with solar heated hot/ cold water. The Spica is quiet and peaceful away from the city noise.Excellent views from some rooms which have access to balconies.Can provide home cooked meals on order with reasonable notice.Free WiFi and paid high speed WiFi also available. Free Internet.Laundry underatken when loads are small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Spica Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing