We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse with wonderful views”
Review of Villa Rosa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Rosa
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed 2 days here, we found the owner very friendly & welcoming.Although welcome drink never materialised, we found food & wine excellent. Room was comfortable & hair dryer asked for soon appeared. The location, although up a steep drive, means the views are fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajackie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were self-driving around Sri Lanka, and it was somehow a challenge to find this wonderful place, especially the last part uphill, a steep and narrow road - we were glad we had rented a 4x4... But it was more than worth it: the views, the sunrise and sunset, the tranquility, the finest local food we had in Sri Lanka and the utmost kind local staff! We still cherish the nice moments we spent there together as a family... Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had the double family room - it was simply perfect for the four of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaoulDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We loved this small hotel. We had a very warm welcome from the owner and then all the staff were very available and helpful. They have an arrangment with a local hotel to use their pool and this was seamless - they drove us down in their tuk tuk, they paid the other hotel, we were given towels and then collected at the arranged time. Although the other hotel rates very highly on tripadvisor it was just another hotel and it reinforced to us how delighted we were to be at small, friendly and unique Villa Rosa (in the fabulous honeymoon suite).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antipodean_Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We decided to stay at Villa Rosa rather than in Kandy itself and were not unhappy with our choice. Upon arrival our host, Volker, appeared and filled us in on the way the hotel operated. We found the service and staff to be excellent. A welcome drink and a light lunch appeared quickly. It's a small hotel so the atmosphere is casual, and that is a positive aspect for us. The food was delicious with the curries being some of the best we had and used some ingredients that we weren't familiar with but enjoyed trying. You can even go into the kitchen to watch the chef. The river views from the newer rooms are beautiful, but the older building was quieter. We tried and enjoyed both. Reading other reviews I can't help but think if you can't do without bacon and
red wine you shouldn't be in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I really wanted to give this hotel a 5 star review, because the location is stunning, the terraces beautiful and our room (the honeymoon suite) enormous and luxurious, with its own wonderful terrace and fabulous new bathroom. The whole place is very clean and well appointed and the views over the river are beautiful. But, out of all the hotels we stayed at during our 16 days in beautiful Sri Lanka, it was the only one where we didn't feel a real sense of Sri Lankan hospitality. There was no real welcome as such when we arrived - no manager visible, although the German owner was around, but not very friendly and rather unapproachable initially. There were no welcome notes in the bedroom with information about meal times, menus, bar prices, wifi etc... we had to continually find one of the staff and ask, which made us feel uncomfortable.(we had no idea how much we were paying for drinks until we got the bill at the end of our stay) The staff themselves were all very polite, pleasant and keen to help, but to be honest they seemed a bit out of their depth at times and when things went wrong ( no red wine available to have with our evening meal - " sorry we have no red wine in the house' - being told there was no bacon for breakfast after being offered it when our order was taken; my evening meal arriving forty minutes after my husband's) they did their best to help, and were very apologetic, but there was never any sign of a manager to deal with the issues. Also there were three dogs in residence - we are both dog lovers, but didn't really appreciate having dogs around our table as we were eating - some people would find this very off putting. There are many excellent reviews here for this hotel, and indeed many aspects of our stay were superb - but both my husband and I felt that this could be a truly top notch establishment with just a bit more effort from the owner and/or manager (whoever he or she might be).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welshwomanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The setting is beautiful, overlooking the river from a hillside. The food is superb and the owner is very pleasant. We ate breakfast and dinner perched on decking looking out across the valley. Our room was big and well furnished with French Doors opening onto our own bit of terrace. The staff were lovely and helpful, and we really couldn't fault the place.

Room Tip: We were in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellymen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Villa Rosa is beautiful, peaceful, clean and welcoming. We had some of the best meals in Sri Lanka at Villa Rosa and Volker and his team went out of their way to help us (including an early train station run at 4.30am!). We had our toddler with us and we were made to feel very welcome with him - early meal times etc easily accommodated. Highly recommend staying in this beautiful place…a stunning example of Sri Lanka hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBCCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 57 in Kandy
585 reviews
1.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#3 of 57 in Kandy
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa

Address: 71/18 Dodanwala Passage | Asgiriya, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Hotel Asgiriya
Rosa Hotel Asgiriya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing