We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casamara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casamara
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Convenient”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Hotel is located very centrally, close to shops, restaurants and a short walk to attractions such as the Lake, Temple of the Sacred Tooth and Arthur's Seat lookout. The rooms are small but clean and functional, Excellent breakfast and hotel restaurant has a good selection of Sri Lankan and western dishes. Service a little slow, but what's the hurry? Laundry service was also excellent. Tut-tut service at the hotel entrance. Overall very good, 3 star establishment. I'll be staying at this hotel again when I visit next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightandMotionPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeewaw, Manager at Hotel Casamara, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing your time and sharing your valuable feedback to us. We highly appreciate your comment and sorry for the inconvenience that you have face. we are considering your feed back with immediate action to avoid those situation. we always expecting to provide quality product and services to our valuable guest. your feedback is our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    75
    74
    15
    15
See reviews for
32
60
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

kandy itself is a beautiful place on the hills of sri lanka.The hotel was an ok one.Food was just average.Rooms were too small and not upto the mark.swimming pool is also there.Looby was very bad.Service was ok.But its the cheapest option out there and if one just wants to spend a night out there its a great option .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopnrstatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanjeewa W, Manager at Hotel Casamara, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel casamara -Kandy Sorry for the inconvenience. we highly appreciate your feed back and taking serious action and necessary improvement for our value customers.
future we would like to welcome you with all our improvements. our success is depending on your valuable feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here just for 2 nights. The hotel is close to the KCC and close to the lake. The hotel is nice, the room was clean and had all you need. The price is ok, 60US$ per night.
There is only one little issue: The noise of the shops around. Most of the shops have BIG loudspeakers and they play music the whole day, LOUD music. It the hotel room you can hear it so it's not so nice in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I happened to stay at hotel casamara which I found to be the cheapest option during the holiday week in December. At $100 per night for a triple bedroom, you would expect a decent room with amenities like WiFi , cable tv, iron box etc. But all you get is a very basic room with none of the above.

The best part of the hotel is it's amazing location. It's practically close to everything. Good restaurants nearby and the tooth relic temple at a 5min walk.

Overall, a good place to stay if you want to move around places within the city. I really wish that they had free WiFi as a bare minimum feature when you pay that kind of price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rathan2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Pleasant modern hotel close to the shops, temples, lake and bus and rail terminals. Room was large clean and comfortable with ensuite, aircon and fan. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Had excellent meal in the restaurant - if I had one criticism it would be that when this is an island bursting with wonderful fresh fruit and vegetables a synthetic orange juice is served. Pool area looked good although we didn't use it due to lack of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sscorpion2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Visited for the weekend with a few friends, lovely spacious rooms and great pool area - you can hardly believe your in the middle of a buzzing city centre. Check out the bar on the rooftop, spectacular views and lovely atmosphere for a unwinding drink after a busy day

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are the best! greats views of the city and surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DA1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

This is located in the heart of the CBD, you couldn't be more central. However this comes at a cost, beggers& peddlers at your doorstep day & night(although there is a security guard).
The pool was magnificent.

However the watchable TV channels totalled 2 at best. The breakfasts were passable at best. The rooms were clean but quite drab, the bathroom even more so.

For the price we paid over the internet(about $100 USD), we were disappointed with the quality. We stayed at hotels all around Sri Lanka far cheaper, that were cleaner, crisper, more modern.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSashaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#20 of 53 in Kandy
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#31 of 53 in Kandy
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#40 of 53 in Kandy
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#30 of 53 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casamara

Property: Hotel Casamara
Address: Kotugodelia Vidiya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casamara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casamara Kandy in Sri Lanka, is a unique City hotel, which has been built close to the Kandy Lake in the city centre, within walking distance to Kandy's famous attractions, Feel at home, in an European ambience with traditional Kandyan hospitality . Stay in Casamara as an honoured guest and be treated in royal style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamara Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing