We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never go again”
Review of Hotel Casamara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casamara
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“never go again”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

i stay one day for this hotel,room was not bad ,but food was very very bad,they have no variety of menu ,taste is very bad ,breakfast they have only two items,for lunch they gave same curry what they gave for morning,its very horribal.only for stay ok .they have no proper room service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeyachandrika3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    76
    75
    15
    15
See reviews for
33
61
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Located in the heart of the Kandy city, this is a very convenient place to be.

Even though there are a few parking slots available it is very difficult to park and take out due to being located beside a busy road. A lot of vehicles and pedestrians make it difficult to take your vehicle in or out.

Rooms are average, nothing fancy but with the basic necessities and clean. We booked in to this on BB basis but the breakfast we had was not worth the price paid.

If you're booking in to this place, it's recommend that you book only for lodging. Food you can eat out from nearby Restaurants which could be better than the hotel and a better deal for your wallet.

If it's a short stay with a busy schedule this place is recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yojitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Pricey for Sri Lanka but the central location was ideal for making the most of Kandy. Staff were helpful and the rooftop bar provided a great view of the city by night. Food could have been hotter

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon4130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our family stayed in this hotel for two nights. It was comfortable stay. The hotel is centrally located which is great for nipping to shops or grabbing a bite to eat.
The rooms are functional but the furniture is tired and could do with freshening up. Our room was facing a courtyard so it was a bit quieter but the pay off was the unsightly view.
The hotel has new pool area, which is nice.
The breakfast is average by western standards, but pretty much standard breakfast in Sri Lanka in the place that caters for foreigners.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and the movie channel worked on the tv which was a plus. Food was boring but breakfast was good. Helpful woman at the front desk. Good location in town by the lake. But for this price I expected much more.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Gnosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel right in the middle of things. Nice staff.
The roof top bar was a bit of a let down since it didn't keep its opening hours. Very slow service also.

For dinner i had a vegetable rice & curry and it was up to standards. In the dining area they had the radio on what sounded like in between channels. Really annoying. Asked them to tune it or turn it off. They turned it off. Amazed no one else had noticed.

For breakfast the next morning they served more radio static and I just couldn't bother.
Nice omelett made to order.
Helpful staff got us a taxi for the next location.

Somewhat hesitant to the whole experience here. But good value still.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StiffStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This Hotel provides just what I want when travelling in new countries. It's in the heart of Kandy so you're not trapped into hotel dining, you're a step away from city life. It is a stones throw from the Temple of the Tooth and the Lake. While it's not five star, it was clean and functional and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The pool was welcome relief for my kids.

Room Tip: A room at the front gives to a balcony with a view over the city street. It gets quiet at night so s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnum319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 54 in Kandy
1,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hilltop
Hotel Hilltop
#27 of 54 in Kandy
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casamara

Property: Hotel Casamara
Address: Kotugodelia Vidiya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casamara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casamara Kandy in Sri Lanka, is a unique City hotel, which has been built close to the Kandy Lake in the city centre, within walking distance to Kandy's famous attractions, Feel at home, in an European ambience with traditional Kandyan hospitality . Stay in Casamara as an honoured guest and be treated in royal style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamara Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing