We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”
Review of Castle Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hill
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Castle Hill is beautiful home with great view, but I found it overpriced for what we experienced. Home could be gorgeous with some updating and the staff could be more friendly and helpful. I have no specific complaints, but I just didn't enjoy my stay. There is definitely a lot of potential and for the price, the experience should be better.

Room Tip: rooms are huge and have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRanch_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is in such a great location set up in the hills. You're a 5-10 minute walk from Kandy Lake or a 2 minute by tuk tuk. Beautiful gardens which are very well maintained stretching out the front of the property just heighten the visual experience. There are 4 enormous bedrooms. The 2 bedrooms on either side at the front come with lake views and your own private patio. The bedrooms are massive - mine had 4 beds, table and chairs and there was still plenty of floor space.
Although you're removed from the madness of Kandy and the temple you can still hear it clearly - so not good for light sleepers or bring your ear plugs!
I love the all the carefully collected pieces of retro furniture, it really makes this guest house stand out from the rest and has a really unique feel. Plus they have amazing sausage dogs who potter about - a word of warning they tend to bark at night.
I can highly recommend dinner at the nearby Sharon Inn. You need to book this in advance as it's a buffet cooked for booked guests only.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pictures77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Castle Hill Guest House is in an old family home with colonial atmosphere situated in beautiful gardens offering unbeatable views over Kandy lake, looking down onto the temple. You are well above the hustle and bustle of the town and you can hear the monks chant during their prayers. Still, you are within easy walking distance of the centre.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The cooking is superb! We definitively recommend the halfboard option in order to enjoy mouthwatering rice and curry in the evening.
The rooms are dark and spartan. Furniture is dated. Standard fan and mosquito net provided. Towels could be newer and thicker. Cleanliness of bedroom and bathroom leaves plenty of room for improvement.
Neither WiFi nor computer for guests.
If you just look at the room the guest house is overpriced. However, taking situation, views and quality of the food into consideration it's well worth staying there while in Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This is a great place to stay – we spent three nights here at the start of our two week tour of Sri Lanka and it was a time that will be impossible to forget.

The house is set in beautiful peaceful gardens in an incredible spot up above the hustle and bustle of Kandy with views over the lake and the Temple of the Tooth. The sight of giant fruit bats silently flocking over the lake at sunset is magical. You can still hear the city chatter and the haunting morning and evening chants from the temples, amidst dazzling birdsong. Light sleepers may wish to take ear plugs, but you will miss these incredible sounds when you are back home!

Some other reviews of this place are poor, but are in contrast to our experience. The rate we paid included breakfast and was, frankly, a complete bargain. If you are hoping for five star luxury then you may be disappointed – yes the towels are not brand new and there may be a few ants in the bathroom (also an obliging gecko) – but there is nothing you won’t find in countless other guesthouses in Sri Lanka. The food is good and plentiful, don’t hesitate to take dinner here but make it known if you like it spicy as the cook cools it down for tourists.

Thank you to Ayoni and her lovely team for a wonderful stay at Castle Hill - it was the perfect beginning to our holiday in Sri Lanka and we absolutely loved it. The house is amazing, the bedrooms cavernous with good mosquito nets, the food was great and the staff made us feel very welcome and at home, it was very difficult to leave! We hope to return one day.

We had a good driver arranged through Ayoni who picked us up at the airport and made things easy for the next few days taking us to the temple sites, elephant orphanage etc. If you do the same just be clear with your driver where you want to go and where you don't, eg if you would rather change money at a bank rather than a street merchant., or eat at a local cafe rather than an expensive tourist restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerfectFootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We were supposed to stay here for two nights in December. We had booked two rooms, one for the in-laws (a double) and one for us to stay in with the kids (triple). The location is fantastic, and Priyantak the caretaker manager was really sweet and helpful. Although the rooms looked a little dated and there were practically no lights on in the house when we arrived, our first impressions were pretty good.

Unfortunately there are a lot of downsides to the hotel, and I see these are echoed in the other reviews of the place.

When we arrived, we asked to swap rooms as the double room had two separate beds and the triple had a small queen. We figured it made sense to have the kids in their own beds. Priyank asked the owner and she wouldnt allow it. She said if we wanted to do this we would be charged for an extra bed. Nice.

Then we discovered the rest: The sheets, bedlinen and mosquito nets were filthy and smelled as if a hundred other people had slept in them since the last wash. The floors of the house were also so dirty that within 20 minutes the soles of our feet were black and the children were getting black marks all over their clothes. There was no hot water in our room, and the water ran at a trickle. The towels were about 15 years old, the bathrooms were way below standard too. Even our driver mentioned he was surprised we had chosen this location because of it's terrible reputation (or more specifically the manager's bad reputation).

We ended up insisting that our travel agency move us to another hotel for the second night because we didn't get any positive improvement by the following evening. The sad thing is that the manager then ripped apart Priyank and blamed him for everything, when it was he who had honestly done everything he could to help us. He even paid out of his own pocket to get extra fruit for the breakfast for the kids in the morning (why should he have to do that???)

Terrible shame as the place has great potential, if only the owner would actually do something constructive with the place and ensure that it is kept in a suitable condition. We wouldn't have paid more than $10 a night as backpackers, far more than the listed $50 for the triple rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amcalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Staying in Castle Hill, you may believe you came to visit your ceylonese cousins in the 30's. When we came, we had 3 of the 4 rooms and no other guest: the very kind staff made us believe we were at home! we enjoyed the living room, played piano... Castle Hill villa and story helps you to learn about Sri lankan history, art and society; have Ondatjee's family or Lionel Wendt been coming here in 1940?
Castle Hill is not a normal guesthouse, we stay in a private house welcoming us.
Beautiful and huge rooms, very interesting furniture designed for the house in the 40's, lovely breakfast with fresh fruits and lots of toasts....Clove scented bathrooms
Visitors have to behave as visitors, not as complaining tourists. temple music and dogs barking belong to the country. I wish Castle Hill and madame Ayoni never change, and I wish we come again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Rather mixed impressions of castle hill. On the one hand the room was badly furnish, the bathroom was dark and the service was mediocre. On the other hand a stunning location over looking the lake in Kandy, wonderful 1920's architecture and a beautiful garden. On the whole a memorable place to stay.

BTW our driver was not at all keen to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#39 of 56 in Kandy
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#37 of 56 in Kandy
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 56 in Kandy
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill

Address: 22 Rajapilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £44 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing