We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience and such potential too”
Review of Castle Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Hill
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We were supposed to stay here for two nights in December. We had booked two rooms, one for the in-laws (a double) and one for us to stay in with the kids (triple). The location is fantastic, and Priyantak the caretaker manager was really sweet and helpful. Although the rooms looked a little dated and there were practically no lights on in the house when we arrived, our first impressions were pretty good.

Unfortunately there are a lot of downsides to the hotel, and I see these are echoed in the other reviews of the place.

When we arrived, we asked to swap rooms as the double room had two separate beds and the triple had a small queen. We figured it made sense to have the kids in their own beds. Priyank asked the owner and she wouldnt allow it. She said if we wanted to do this we would be charged for an extra bed. Nice.

Then we discovered the rest: The sheets, bedlinen and mosquito nets were filthy and smelled as if a hundred other people had slept in them since the last wash. The floors of the house were also so dirty that within 20 minutes the soles of our feet were black and the children were getting black marks all over their clothes. There was no hot water in our room, and the water ran at a trickle. The towels were about 15 years old, the bathrooms were way below standard too. Even our driver mentioned he was surprised we had chosen this location because of it's terrible reputation (or more specifically the manager's bad reputation).

We ended up insisting that our travel agency move us to another hotel for the second night because we didn't get any positive improvement by the following evening. The sad thing is that the manager then ripped apart Priyank and blamed him for everything, when it was he who had honestly done everything he could to help us. He even paid out of his own pocket to get extra fruit for the breakfast for the kids in the morning (why should he have to do that???)

Terrible shame as the place has great potential, if only the owner would actually do something constructive with the place and ensure that it is kept in a suitable condition. We wouldn't have paid more than $10 a night as backpackers, far more than the listed $50 for the triple rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amcalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2010

Staying in Castle Hill, you may believe you came to visit your ceylonese cousins in the 30's. When we came, we had 3 of the 4 rooms and no other guest: the very kind staff made us believe we were at home! we enjoyed the living room, played piano... Castle Hill villa and story helps you to learn about Sri lankan history, art and society; have Ondatjee's family or Lionel Wendt been coming here in 1940?
Castle Hill is not a normal guesthouse, we stay in a private house welcoming us.
Beautiful and huge rooms, very interesting furniture designed for the house in the 40's, lovely breakfast with fresh fruits and lots of toasts....Clove scented bathrooms
Visitors have to behave as visitors, not as complaining tourists. temple music and dogs barking belong to the country. I wish Castle Hill and madame Ayoni never change, and I wish we come again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Rather mixed impressions of castle hill. On the one hand the room was badly furnish, the bathroom was dark and the service was mediocre. On the other hand a stunning location over looking the lake in Kandy, wonderful 1920's architecture and a beautiful garden. On the whole a memorable place to stay.

BTW our driver was not at all keen to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

we booked 3 nights in the castle hill. what a mistake.. we came in the evening after long ride. me and my wife, our 2 litle kids under 4 and my father and mother in law- 80 years old.
the house kipper was unfrendly, the rooms are smmely, bath is broken- he said he will fix it in the morning, dogs barking all nights and very poor breakfast.
in the morning we let him know we are leaving and he ask not to say to the owner...
with a little more we found a much nicer place with upper in the hill in Senani hotel with a plesent stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zoharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Well, the house is great. The look is great. The stuff doesn`t speak English- no help at all. The rooms were again not clean for europien standart and the towels smells badly. The breakfast is not very good and it is extra. This guesthouse is much too expensive for what you get. Sorry- you are still in Sro Lanka, even if it is located in Kandy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed here with my wife in 1992 and fell in love with the setting. I am pleased to say I was not disappointed on my return in 2010. If you want some Colonial era charm I can recommend this place. The view and the garden are stunning. The bedrooms are large, especially the two at the front. The public rooms are vast. They are not luxuriously appointed and if you want molton brown shampoo, bring your own. We had supper cooked for us. The meal was great. Castle Guest House is a 7 minute walk down to town. We were there during the Perahera which was a great experience. I would not recommend Castle Guest House to anyone who must have a spa, WiFi, large fluffy towels in the bathroom or who has no interest in history and just wants a large faceless modern hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bzowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

the house is a little tired. great garden and beautiful from the outside. The owner was rude to our driver ... hardly made eye contact with him and the accommodation for them is awful ... they aren't even supplied with a mosquito net!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellywelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
3.1 mi away
Jasmine Garden Resort
Jasmine Garden Resort
#51 of 58 in Kandy
2 reviews
1.3 mi away
View 360
View 360
#39 of 58 in Kandy
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melheim Kandy Hotel
Melheim Kandy Hotel
#47 of 58 in Kandy
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#32 of 58 in Kandy
179 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 58 in Kandy
52 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill

Address: 22 Rajapilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £42 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing