We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandy Samadhi Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kandy Samadhi Centre
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

It was amazing place to stay.Accommodation consists of big open veranda and houses which are spread over the property. Be prepared for climbing up the hill. Rooms are decorated with antique furniture. Personnel is very experienced and helpfull. Everybody will make small talk and explain what they are doing. Food is very good.

I will recomend this place for couple quite days, because it is in the middle of the jungle is not much to do. Kandy is 45 min. away, so it is more like a day trip.
We stayed there for 3 nighst. One day had massages and walked around and second day we went to Kandy. People from Samadhi will arrange tuk tuk and also will give you cellphone to call them for the tuktuk.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top hill room, honeymoon suite. It had detached bathroom. Can be scary for city peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cercops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    66
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
57
144
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnet
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Samadhi centre and im afraid I was disappointed. The staff and manager were fine but the room was just too spartan, It would be much improved if the room we stayed in had a window to stop everything becoming damp, somewhere to put clothes even a chair would have been good and after the third night not having the bedding changed, sleeping in a damp bed the allure of Samadhi wore off, its more akin to camping. Also a small fridge to keep a cool drink would have been much appriciated.
I must also say although not directly anything to do with the Samadhi, being woken at the crack of dawn two mornings on trot by a local tuk tuk driver with a thumping music system pulsating through the room at 5am wasn't funny !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adderama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We needed a hotel for sightseeing in Kandy and I was shocked to find that we were 50 minutes drive from the city.
We arrived in the dark and the only thing I could see was a full sized bath lying on the earth in from of the building and it looked like a tip. We were welcomed and upstairs it looked beautiful lot with oil lamps and full of eclectic furniture and interesting objects.
Shown to our rooms and we were disappointed to find that we had a shared bathroom outside between the bedrooms. This did not prove to be a comfortable or satisfactory experience. It would have helped to have a mirror in our bedroom. The rooms were large with little natural light as the only window which would have provided light and a view was an old shutter which seemed to be nailed in place and not workable. Incense sticks and mosquito coils were provided and appreciated. Everything felt very damp and our cases of clothes were damp for the next couple of
days.
The beds felt damp and both nights I was there I felt cold in bed as the so called blankets were more like throws from a plane and didn't cover even half the bed let alone your feet.
We had to eat here the first night as there was nowhere else. I d understood that it was vegetarian but prawns and chicken were on the menu as well as soya so not as many vegetable curries from home grown vegetables as I expected.. The soup was thin and bland and the curries unexciting. An unimaginative dessert of curd and treacle concluded an overpriced meal at over 3200 rupees. More than a meal at the lovely Cinnamon Lodge.
The breakfast is a much more pleasant experience including tasty and interesting Sri Lankan pastries and goodies both sweet and savoury as well as good Sri Lankan omelettes.
This is a most stunning place to be and I can see that it would suit many who just want to chill but it wasn't for us. It was so far out from Kandy we didn't even have the chance to appreciate the
natural beauty of the place.
And why is everything priced in dollars?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightonpoppy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very apprehensive regarding our stay, and we could only stay overnight. The centre is off the beaten track, and off the travel agencies radar, so took a punt.It is not really a hotel at all. We arrived in the evening and pulled in to be welcomed by two staff, and a white bathtub in the drive. Entered a magical coconut oil lit dining/ reception hall and fell in love. It is truly eco friendly, holistic. No air conditioning, no fans, basic bed linen. Spotlessly clean rooms, that do smell of moth balls. Open bathroom , complete with monkeys visiting your morning shower. Delicious Sri Lankan buffet, do not know if any alternatives available. Not for the unfit nor the unadventurous, but one of the most genuine, friendly places we have stayed. Would like to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

It is quite hard to find this small resort which is 45 minutes outside Kandy. We stayed in the mud huts, which have no real view and there isn’t really anything to do. Which may suit some looking for a retreat, but it was too sparse for me. There is no pool, but they invite you to swim in the river if you want.

The bedrooms in the mud huts are quite small and dark inside and you end up smelling of mothballs as they are in abundance in the antique wardrobes in the room. When we checked in they gave us one whole mud hut, which consisted of two double bedrooms and a bathroom – all with separate entrances. I guess sometimes the bathroom might be shared between guests in separate bedrooms if they are full? The bathroom itself was large but simple, with a gas-powered shower which didn’t work at first for us, despite following the instructions provided.

The mud huts are a small hike up from the road, and the premium accommodation is a really long hike up the hill to get to. But only in the premium rooms does it feel anything like luxury. If you are booking here, make sure you get the room you are looking for and enjoy hiking.

They offer massages, and treatments, but these all seem to involve people coming in from Kandy – so probably available more cheaply there.

Food was buffet style and reasonably good, and dinner was the highlight for me- set in a gothic open restaurant with black table clothes, amongst weird antiques and with firey antique oil lamps all around that required their own dedicated re-fueling member of staff.

Staff were friendly although there insistence that there were no mosquitos was FAR from correct. We enjoyed the company of the resident dogs, although one of them was particularly keen to ensure we didn’t oversleep…

To be honest this resort seems overpriced to me with not much substance and, as such, I wouldn’t recommend it. It actually makes me wonder a little about Trip Adviser reviews from people with only one or two reviews to their name….

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at this great location for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. They are right to describe it as a ‘centre’ not a ‘hotel’ because it is not really a hotel, our room was the most remote and lacked aircon, a fan or a fridge, and was located 10 minutes walk away from the restaurant up a steep winding path. But nevertheless the room was great. Secluded, great view, surrounded by jungle. By night you could really hear the jungle absolutely teaming with life. You don’t really miss the aircon as its up a mountain and cool by local standards. We spent all our time in thin light clothing, but visiting Sri-Lankans seemed to think it was cold there.

They have 5 wonderful dogs roaming around whose main function seems to be keeping the jungle wildlife at a distance, woe betide the monkey, or stray dog that attempts to get too close. Fear not, they are all lower energy submissive personality types, not like the high-energy dominant types that a lot of western owners instil in their dogs. In fact we somewhat adopted the lovely Hana during our stay who was absolutely adorable and we wished we could have taken home with us. The other four we did not see much of, they seemed to each have their preferred spot to snooze in the sun around the centre.

The centre lacks a pool, but had much better, a river ran close to the restaurant which was wonderful to explore and wade in. One day we trekked up to the waterfall pool with Hana and another dog, which was a wonderful little excursion. I would take that river over another boring pool anytime.

The food at the restaurant was simple, well-made local cuisine and never left us wanting. Kandy itself was somewhat limited, so we could pack everything we wanted to do into one day with a hired tuk-tuk, the rest of the time spent at the centre. The yoga guy was excellent; the massage people were a little disappointing though. Also if I was going back I would avoid the airport driver they use and just grab a taxi at the airport, so many to pick from and they are competitive. Our vehicle was not air conditioned as promised. However, the driving was a most effective cure for jet-lag. Never have I been more upright and alert than during that 4 hour drive, even after a 13 hour flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_tr675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The view, sounds and peace in this remote but accessible resort 40 minutes north of Kandy is fantastic. Our family of four (two adults and two kids 11 and 9) enjoyed the nature, the open aired rooms, the dark starry nights and overall politness from the staff. We had the honeymoon suite and connected rooms at the top of the resort and had amazing views and soltitude. The christmas eve dinner was lovely with a local school choir singing beautifully.

The rooms were a little less funcational with Indian Sarees as curtains which was not practical and all the rooms could use mosquito curtains as the open windows and nature bring in a lot of insects. While the antique furniture and finish in the rooms and bathroom make the rooms look unusual and rustic, the furnitures are not functional as the cupboards don't close properly and the doors take some effort to close.

The staff are polite and curteous and the food was decent. The afternoon lunch is better prepared than the dinner (could be the cook as different people cook each meal). Thre are many choices but most of them are repeated each day. If you choose half board, the meals are very expensive. We were told $12/meal but finally charged $36/meal (although they were generous and only charged for three). I also found out that service is not uniform and varies by customer and how vocal you are with requests. The resort has many dogs which are overly friendly and if you are not a dog friendly person, it could be irritating to have dogs sleeping on your legs while you are resting in your room or when eating. It would be good to have coffee or tee delivered to the rooms as it is cold when you wake up and breakfast lounge is a hike.

The owner and his family are very friendly and make it a point to know all the guests. I would have very much loved to rate this place much higher than average but having experienced such resorts all over the world, I think the value for money is average.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
8.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#7 of 65 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
8.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
7.3 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
10.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Samadhi Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Samadhi Centre

Property: Kandy Samadhi Centre
Address: Narampanawa Rd | Kukul Oya, Kandy 761, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kandy
#4 Spa Hotel in Kandy
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Samadhi Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our place is in between boutique hotel and camping. Experienced travelers will enjoy our place. Yoga Ayurvedha and nature walks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kandy Samadhi Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandy Samadhi Nature Hotel Kandy
The Hotel Kandy
The Resort Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing