We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manor House Kandy
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at the Manor House for a few days before and after my trip around the Cultural Triangle and it was like coming home to England - with a twist! I was lucky enough to enjoy two of the rooms - one on the ground floor next to the porch and the other was a first floor Tower room. The first room was lovely and big and I love the colonial style beds, all very quirky. I probably loved the Tower room best as it has amazing views over the countryside.
It was a very chilled experience at the Manor House mainly due the discreet but helpful staff and flexible meal times. It was also an authentic experience with Sri Lankan food (European is available also) and the atmosphere of the whole building that has been fully restored to its original colonial glory. It was like stepping back in time!
I recommend the Manor House to couples, solo travellers (like myself) and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moostero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    53
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had just come down from vil ulyana where the rooms were exceptional and were expecting something of the same ilk in kandy and as far as the room went we were very disappointed. I think the room was called ehala and opened up directly onto the porch at the front of the house. People would sit on the benches outside the bedroom door chatting and smoking, the furnishings were basic and in some cases needed some tlc. There was no mosquito nets or plugs, the internet didn't work in the bedroom and there was no TV ( not that I use it anyway). Having said that the staff were lovely and the owner manager really helpful. Would I recommend this place probably but make sure you get one of the better rooms. I discussed this all with the manager on departure and I believe she is doing her best to bring the hotel up to the standards that she wants. It will just take a little time.

Room Tip: Don't go I the ones either side of the front porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartlovap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishara D, Owner at Manor House Kandy, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comments. I have taken it all onboard. I would like to note that Vil Uyana is one of the most up market hotels in Sri Lanka. Their Std Dbl Room rate is over 4 times what we charge so we cannot be compared to them. However, we are grateful for you feedback and all your comments have been taken onboard. Its only 1 month since we have taken over the management and we are in the process of upgrading our rooms and our service levels. I hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka.
Many Thanks
Ishara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights with our 2 children in a very large and comfortable suite.
The hotel is a magnificent colonial house full of history. It is located outside of Kandy center which offers a really good compromise for those looking to escape from traffic noise. We enjoyed the swimming pool which size is ideal for relaxing after a busy day.
The staff was nice and the new managing director was truly helpful offering guidance on visits and telling us all about Sri Lankan food (we had 3 different breakfasts in 3 days!).
We would recommend this hotel as a very good place to stay for visiting Kandy.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita-Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in the month of March. We were a family of 5 and stayed in one of the suites there for two nights. From the time we checked in to the hotel we were treated very well by the excellent staff and all our requests were met with no delay.
We had our evening meals arranged in the garden where there was a spectacular view and the food was excellent too.

I will recommend this hotel to any one who is looking for a relaxing holiday with great services and we will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: If you are a fmily I would reccoment the Suit room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menucolombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is nothing like they claim to be.It is a old Home converted into a hotel and old is the operative word.We were upgraded to what they say were the best rooms that were dark and musty,period type furniture with faded upholstery,trickle for a shower and toilets that don't work too well.Helpful staff but they have no idea of the hospitality industry or standards and mossies galore..didn't seem to faze the staff when asked to do something about it.A meagre menu and cold food.I have no idea how our Tour Agent came to book us here and sing it's praises but surely won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishara D, Owner at Manor House Kandy, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Annette,
I am sorry you had such a bad experience. Following your review and a few others I read, we the owners of Manor House have now taken over the management. The hotel was being managed and run by a third party. Since 01st July 2013, we our managing it ourselves. The hotel has been cleaned thoroughly, rooms refurbished and new trained staff have been hired. If you are again in Sri Lanka, please come for a complimentary stay at Manor House or my other hotel - Plantation Villa, www.srimalplantation.com. You can email us at info@srimal.com.
Kind regards
Ishara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

The house itself is very impressive in the colonial style. The room we had was on the ground floor just inside the entranse. The room itself was large, clean and comfortable. The staff are lovely,very helpful and interested in the birds we were watching in the grounds. I was invited into the kitchen for a demonstration of how to make local curry - I wish I hadn't accepted. I don't expect things to be up to British standards but the kitchen was really awful. The chef was a lovely man but was working under very primitive conditions and his awareness of food hygene was to say the least poor. This was very surprising considering the standard of the rooms and exterior. I would recommend the hotel , but be aware of what you eat there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishara D, Owner at Manor House Kandy, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. Yes we are not located in the City Centre of Kandy. Most historic villas were built near but away from the City Centre as historically there properties held vast amounts of land. We are about 15mins from Kandy City Centre and in peak time traffic it can take around 30mins. I am sorry the Spa was not functioning during your stay. I have now taken over the management of the hotel since the 01st July 2013 to ensure better service and a better experience for our clients. The Spa is now run by my specially trained therapists from our own Ayurvedic Resort Hotel, Plantation Villa. If you are in Sri Lanka again, please do visit us and contact us on info@srimal.com
Kind regards
Ishara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed at Manor house for one night. The best part of the stay is the very helpfull and attentive staff.
If you are interested in artitecture it is an interesting villa to see. The location is rarther far from Kandy inself. Har 2 meals and our advice is stick making lokal food. The curry was good. The eastern style food not so interesting.
The spa is not in funktion, which is not mentioned on the web site, Har a massage, but not good, had the feeling that the very nice lady,was not reallly a masseure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborgdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
4.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
3.4 mi away
View 360
View 360
#27 of 53 in Kandy
26 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mountbatten Bungalow - Kandy
Mountbatten Bungalow - Kandy
#1 of 1 in Bowalawatta
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#23 of 53 in Kandy
493 reviews
4.5 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Kandy

Property: Manor House Kandy
Address: Katugastota-Kurunegala-Puttalam Hwy | Nugawela, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manor House Kandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884, Manor House is a traditional, stately Sri Lankan landowner's home that has been refurbished in a style that retains its old world charm while also offering common modern amenities. Manor House offers ten comfortable rooms furnished in a blend of colonial and traditional Sri Lankan style. The property has a beautifully landscaped garden and outdoor pool and is located a short drive from the city center of Kandy in a tranquil setting. We provide our guests with a homely experience, through our attentiveness, traditional architecture of the home and local staff and traditional Sri Lankan food. Special requests can be met with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manor House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Kandy Hotel Kandy
Manor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing