We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were not expecting us - might have been good.”
Review of Manor House Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor House Kandy
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
313 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“They were not expecting us - might have been good.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to the surprise of the care taking staff. They had obviously missed our reservation from the agent we booked with and therefore had no staff or food etc to accept guests. There were no other guests in the hotel and appeared no one else was scheduled to arrive. The building was gorgeously restored manor as advertised. The pool was a bad green colour. I have no doubt our stay would have been lovely if there wasn't a communication error. Not sure about the pool. They scrambled quite a bit to figure out to do with us but after about an hour of confusion we decided to cut our losses and discuss later with the agent. We moved to Elephant Stable which was incredible.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    53
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
58
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kritou Tera, Cyprus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 2 nights between Christmas and New Years at this hotel, a restored colonial mansion. The management and staff were lovely and very helpful.
Food was poor. We had dinner the first night which we were told was a special 4-course Christmas set-menu dinner. It turned out be a disaster--we believe the roast stuffed chicken that was brought out whole on the platter had to have been a leftover cooked Christmas Day itself and reheated. While the cook denied this, one doesn't have to be Julia Child to know an old, dry and stale roast chicken. We simply could not eat it. The breakfasts were a real let-down, cooked-to-death scrambled eggs, a few slices of white bread toast and a little fresh fruit on a plate.
All that being said, the hotel itself has been very well transformed. In particular the upstairs open lounge has retained a lot of its original woodwork and period furnishing. Some of the other furniture, like pseudo-Arab rococo gilded sofas and chairs in the main lobby area are totally out of kilter. The gardens are lovely as is the pool. We could recommend that as much attention and skill were applied to the kitchen as to the gardens.
Would we stare here again? - one would like to say yes, one wants to applied and encourage young entrepreneurs who make a serious effort to preserve part of the past - but we would really have to think about before doing so.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are much nicer than those off the main entrance verandah where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJCardinalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were fortunately to spend one night at this beautiful property - lovingly restored to it's former glory by the owners.
A plaque in the dining room has a list of distinguished guests (former prime ministers and diplomats from an era gone by) - we felt privileged to dine there.

Manager and the servers were very courteous and prompt. Always around when you needed them.
We wanted to try the Sri Lankan dishes but the meals were average - not bad at all, but can improve.

Room Tip: Take the time to walk in the expansive garden and the collection of paintings and other artifacts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mil412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have been there this Summer with my boyfriend and I was totally fallen in love with this place: the Mansion is beatiful (it seems to go back in teh past), you can really relax far form the cahotic Kandy city. The Lady who owned the House is very polite, completely helpful and she gave us a lot of advises.
I definetely would like to recommend this place if you are planning to visit Sri Lanka!

Francesca

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frataggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was a little wary about booking this hotel, after reading the mixed reviews. However, I read that the management of the hotel recently changed. Usually, that means that the new guard goes far out of their way to please you.
After spending a few days here, I can confidently say that the hotel is in capable hands.
If you're looking for a place to crash, I wouldn't recommend the Manor House. It's about 30 minutes from Kandy, and the roads can be quite nauseating.
To give the old house it's due respect, take the time to explore the mansion and its sumptuous grounds. Doze off in the garden, or take in a massage.
The room I stayed in was spacious, clean, and well lighted. My first initial days in Sri Lanka were filled with mediocre meals; however, the meals at the Manor House heightened my expectations on how good Sri Lankan cuisine can be. And that alone is reason enough to recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simulacra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A family of 4, with two teenagers had a great stay at Manor house. The scenic half hour tuk-tuk ride form Kandy was a nice adventure. The house is very well renovated, and the rooms we stayed in where big and comfy. The staff, and especially Ishara, were a delight. Their enthusiasm made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: I understood the tower rooms still need renovation, the 1st floor suite was great. We got a last mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHWHolland w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we enjoyed staying at manor House,the hotel is just beautifullll very friendly staff, an excellent service I strongly recommend it to ever body. the room was spacious. they served srilankan food that we liked . there is a big beautiful garden and a swimming pool as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FERIAL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
4.5 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#22 of 54 in Kandy
504 reviews
3.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#11 of 54 in Kandy
367 reviews
3.0 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 54 in Kandy
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
3.4 mi away
View 360
View 360
#27 of 54 in Kandy
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Kandy

Property: Manor House Kandy
Address: Katugastota-Kurunegala-Puttalam Hwy | Nugawela, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#5 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manor House Kandy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884, Manor House is a traditional, stately Sri Lankan landowner's home that has been refurbished in a style that retains its old world charm while also offering common modern amenities. Manor House offers ten comfortable rooms furnished in a blend of colonial and traditional Sri Lankan style. The property has a beautifully landscaped garden and outdoor pool and is located a short drive from the city center of Kandy in a tranquil setting. We provide our guests with a homely experience, through our attentiveness, traditional architecture of the home and local staff and traditional Sri Lankan food. Special requests can be met with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manor House Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Kandy Hotel Kandy
Manor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing