We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb one night stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Travellers Nest
Ranked #170 of 456 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I really enjoyed my one night stay at Hotel Travellers Nest. The hotel is clean, new and modern. Located on the outside of Kandy - 15 minute walk to the Temple of the Tooth and the lake! The staff are a credit to the hotel, couldn't do enough for us! We enjoyed the yummy breakfast which offered fresh fruit, bread, juice, eggs and some various cooked meat items! Thank you Hotel Travellers Nest!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoKennedy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. As said in previous posts the hotel is new, the rooms are not too big but are nice appointed and clean, as well as the bathroom. There were no insects in and around the room which is not so common for a Sri Lanka. I liked the most a big terrace in front of the room where we spent time relaxing and drinking good Sri Lankan coffee on comfortable chairs. Also, do not miss the fresh fruit juice in the morning - it's delicious.
The staff was very nice and helped us in every way, including finding us a driver and a car for a tour around country on the short notice in the evening - the driver waited for us the next morning and we were extremly satisfied with him.
Location of the hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Temple of the Tooth, but be sure to take a tuk-tuk when you first arrive or at night.
Overall, we would definatelly stay again in this hotel if we ever visit Kandy again (and I hope we will)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is new and clean. But there is no view (our room had a view on a wall) and the hotel is not located at a walking distance from the temple (as it was mentioned). And it can be rather noisy during the night. We stayed there for one night and would not stay more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItaloSvevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

New hotel, good sized bathrooms (good quality fittings!), smallish rooms with flat screen TV, but no problem, I was travelling alone. Reception at hotel was not optimal, the manager could not find my reservation (via booking.com), complicated check-in's stress me. Even when I showed the confirmation email to him, the reservation could not be found. Went for dinner in Kandy, came back and was told that I should have paid for the room prior to leaving for dinner (not that I was not asked to pay, but obviously I happily did then, but was not given the change, small amount but still...). Could not operate the TV (and then, could not turn off), but assume all these are 'teething' problems (new hotel). Staff are very friendly and helpful, very pleasant. And the buffet breakfast was really enjoyable, I loved the Sri Lankan dishes, plus the fresh juice, fresh fruit and egg dishes made to order. Not that close to the center of Kandy, Tuk Tuk took around 10 minutes, not a train smash, only around US$1.75 each way. Very comfortable bed, sheets had some spots on them, which housekeeping should have noticed when they put them on the bed (and then obviously NOT put them on...).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and quiet. It is not far from Buddha Temple and the lake. It's also better to take a walk to the city center, where u can visit central market, buying some spices and fresh fruits. The staff is very polite and helpful. They can also advise a good taxi to drive to the Dambulla Temple and Sigiriya. It's 20-25$ cheaper then a cab from the street. The only bad thing is a restaurant... If u want really delicious food, then you better choose another place for dinner, for example 'slightly chilled'. However, the breakfast is okay)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Антон Ч
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although this hotel is very new and so didn't have many reviews, we still thought we'd go ahead and good as it looked fantastic and the price was reasonable. We were SO glad we did.

It's a very high-standard hotel with brand new, high-spec rooms. It was about 10 minute walk into town (we stopped at the Slightly Chilled Bar on the way - highly recommended) from the hotel so convenient for getting to the Temple of the Tooth by 9am to see the ceremony.

The room itself was large with a very comfy bed, good Wifi access and a good bathroom. There was a wardrobe, safe and dressing table, plus bottled water and clean glasses.

We were greeted with fresh juice when we arrived and the food at breakfast was a variety of local dishes, bread and toast, pastries and fresh fruit with tea, coffee, fruit juice etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kandy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor as our room was fairly close to reception and we could har peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is near to the Sri Dalada maligawa and was quite convenient for us. We walked to the Maligawa and to the town as well. The rooms were very clean and with enough towels and huge mirrors. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable with best quality. The sleep quality here was unmatchable. We did not take any meals from here since the town was near and there were many pastry shops outside. The staff are very friendly and polite. Specially the grownup guy in the reception. It was a very nice stay there!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madushi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 57 in Kandy
1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#33 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Travellers Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Travellers Nest

Address: 117/4/1/1 Anagarika Dharmapala Mawatha | Opp Buwelikada Fuel Station, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 456 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £32 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Travellers Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Travellers Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing