We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding value for money”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Sharon Inn is one of the best value for money guest houses in Sri Lanka. It is immaculately clean, rooms are well furnished and the buffet dinner is excellent. With prices sky rocketing in Sri Lanka due to th end of war and the new goverment taxes finding value for money is more difficult across the country. Sharon Inn is value for money and very welcoming so we recommend it as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    130
    78
    52
    43
See reviews for
67
262
47
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I travel extensively, spending upwards of three months of every year in hotels. Never before have we been treated so rudely as we were when we stayed at Sharon Inn for one night at the end of December 2011. We booked Sharon Inn on the basis of good reviews both on tripadvisor and in Lonely Planet.

If you are travelling with a child make sure it is abundantly clear in your booking and don't expect a warm welcome. We were berated for bringing a child (under 2 years of age), told he would receive nothing and were made to feel as though our booking wouldn't be honoured because we had him with us. I wish we had left then, as the stay only got worse. I was told pointedly by the owner that my child was to "wear nappies at all times" and "not soil the new mattresses". She was less than impressed to be told that our son is toilet trained.

There are no driver accommodations and we were told by the owner that our driver was just trying to rip us off by saying that most places offer driver accommodations. (Every other place we stayed in Sri Lanka offered driver accommodations). My issue is not that there were no accommodations, just the way our driver was spoken to by the owner of Sharon Inn.

There is free wifi, but the owners don't trust guests with the password. They insist on entering it themselves and get very frustrated when they have to re-enter it when the signal drops out.

The room itself was clean - nothing special. The hot water did not work in the evening and there were a number of mosquitos in the room thanks to a gap in the bathroom wall. There was a mosquito net and the room had a ceiling fan.

The guesthouse is situated high on a hill overlooking Kandy city. The walk down to Kandy is okay and takes about 20 - 30 minutes, but you really need to take a tuk tuk back up as the road is very steep and windy.

As our son was asleep by 6pm we were unable to have dinner. There were no restaurants or guesthouses offering takeaway and Sharon Inn offers a buffet starting at 7.30 with no take-away option and our hosts weren't offering any solutions for us. Our room was on the top floor, furtherest away from the dining area but it was still very loud - both from the buffet and the clean up afterwards. It wasn't an issue for us, but might be if you were wanting an early night.

Breakfast was a big disappointment. We were advised it was from 7.30 but when we came down at 7.45 the only people in the dining area and kitchen were other guests waiting for breakfast. Eventually some staff and the male owner arrived shortly before 8 and presented us with some fruit at around 8.15 - no apology and no rush to prepare. Around 8.40 we were given our scrambled eggs and cold toast - at least we got that! We saw one couple leave before being served and another leave after requesting toast, waiting 15 minutes and not receiving it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tred79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We booked in at Sharon Inn for two nights after reading about it in the lonely planet. We were a little concerned about the service after reading some of these reviews but we had no problems at all. The female host (who we dubbed "Sharon" but that;s not her name) was really pleasant and helpful. The internet was free, the rooms were very clean and spacious and breezy. The buffet dinner on New Years Eve was delicious and the walk down to the lake is lovely. The only thing we didn't like was the male host - he seemed grumpy all the time and was a bit arrogant and rude to us. Also the laundry was incredibly expensive - 1500 rupees for 15 items. We got the same amount done at another place and it only cost 30 rupees!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etho055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A month prior to the trip we had to change that dates of our reservation which was documented over email, I didn't realize it would anger the management and impact our stay. Upon arrival we were promptly told we could only stay for 2 nights instead of the three which were confirmed. I showed them the email and tried to clear up the miscommunication - however, they said they were too busy for this. If there were other places available we would have moved to a different hotel.

The mood impacted our whole stay. We asked if we could eat dinner at 6:00 for the 7:30 seating. They told us that they had informed us we need reservations (they never did). They were able to seat us because others did not show. Additionally, we used the laundry service which up ended up being overpriced AND the clothes weren't properly washed.

The rooms were basic, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fine. The cranky owners just ruined my impression of the whole place. It also was a pain to find somewhere for the third night!

Also, we later found better accomodations for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sharon Inn was clean and tidy with lovely view over Kandy. 250 rupee tuk tuk ride from centre. Didnt eat here. Kandy not easy to eat late at night and expensive compared to rest of Sri Lanka. Owner helpful and you can park a car if you drive here.

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Friendly hosts, clean and comfortable rooms and excellent food. Beds are beautifully clean and comfortable. Only negative was a barking dog but the rest made up for this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travgirlGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed one might, nothing special but friedly enviroment good food, we wiuld stay again. Price resonable

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimitrisKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 53 in Kandy
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#30 of 53 in Kandy
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
667 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#40 of 53 in Kandy
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Property: Sharon Inn
Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing