We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
hamburg
1 review
“Over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We picked Sharon Inn after reading Rough Guide, but were not satisfied at all. Way too expensive and unfriendly owner. Next door guesthouses offer same view, but are less pricy. Food is good, but we had same and better for less than half of it. Sorry, cannot recommend at all!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnendeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    130
    78
    52
    43
See reviews for
67
262
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I returned to the Sharon Inn after 12yrs and am pleased to say I wasn't disappointed....its still an excellent place to stay. Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.
The buffet dinner is memorable with a large selection of tasty dishes to choose from.
Thanks to the kindly owners who have clearly maintained a high standard over the years....perhaps I'll see you again in another 10!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Sharon Inn is a must stay in Kandy if you are looking for clean, comfortable mid range accommodation. The rooms are extremely well appointed. We stayed in room 7 which had great views over the town, lake and Temple of the Tooth. It was fun watching the monkeys play in the tree tops from our balcony. Our hosts were incredibly helpful in every way. If you visit Sharon Inn and you are Australian, please take some Vegemite for your male host.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 7 had excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WayYarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Five of us spent 3 nights at Sharron Inn. Our hosts could not have been more helpful . We had two rooms on the 4th floor but the climb was worth it for the views. Great beds pillows and clean towels daily. The shower had plenty of pressure and water lovely and hot.
The evening meal was absolutely delicious and we ate at the Inn every night.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for lower rooms. Staff very helpful to carry your luggage up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We came here for one of our evening meals whilst staying in Kandy and I would have to say that the food was excellent. It's a bit of a trek up the hill but well worth the climb (the views are brilliant) and you can always get a tuk-tuk. It was a buffet style but all the food was made fresh and as soon as something was finished then the bowl was replenished. Good value for money and we got to try lots of different dishes which was good as this was our first trip to Sri Lanka and I didn't quite know what to expect foodwise. If you're in Kandy then ssek this gem out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent a very nice 2 days in Sharon Inn when we first arrived in Sri Lanka. They helpfully arranged a taxi from the airport and welcomed us with plenty of tea. The rooms are very comfy, although could do with a little bit of investment to stop them looking frayed. great hot showers. The best bit about the place is the evening food. Well worth eating there, even if you're not staying

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Sharon Inn. We had a room with a wonderful view over to the temple of the tooth, with a big balcony, nice furniture, air con and best of all - lovely, comfy duvets. I was also pleasantly surprised that our room was cleaned and fresh towels provided on our second day, even though we were only staying two nights. The bathrooms are pretty basic but they are clean and have hot water. We were on one of the higher floors and our room was very quiet during the evenings. The hotel is about 15 mins walk to the centre, surrounded by other guesthouses, and the journey back is steep but you can get a tuk tuk very easily if you want one.
The dinner buffet was really delicious and we had very sweet service from the waiters. The breakfast was fine but nothing special and I wonder whether an option of a Sri Lankan breakfast could be offered.
We were prepared, through reading other reviews, for the less than welcoming nature of Faiesz and he was actually really helpful, he just doesn't smile very much. Sue, his wife, was really kind to us and made us feel very held in mind.
There is a very professional feel about the Sharon Inn, while at the same time being really homely. We would definitely stay again if we come back to Kandy.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#31 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Property: Sharon Inn
Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing