We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good value for money and professional service”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
2 reviews
“Clean, good value for money and professional service”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, good value for money and professional service.
Good place to stay with a fine buffet dinner. Walking distance to central Kandy. The hotel is very efficient in organizing transportation all over Sri Lanka

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikGamborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    131
    78
    53
    43
See reviews for
67
265
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed two days at sharon inn and we liked the surroundings, the very clean and calm room and the city-view of our balcony very much. I lalso loved the food!
But I must say, as other travellers wrote here before, service is not the most firiendly and often we felt like we were disturbing when we had a question.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at the Sharon Inn with my friend for 2 nights during the last few days of backpacking through Sri Lanka. As recommended by tripadvisor and the Lonely Planet Guide book it was a very clean and homely place to stay, and not to mention the best nights sleep that we had had in weeks. Although the Sharon Inn was slightly out of our budget, we found it to be good value for money and very clean compared to most guest houses we had stayed in. Being of Sri Lankan origin, it was a real treat to have the evening Sri Lankan buffet for which you have to reserve if you want a bite to eat. The staff were lovely and always very helpful, especially when it came to organising our trip to Galle and getting hold of train tickets. Thank you all very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruweni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Reading the reviews about the staff, it feels like we've been to a different place. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Room was nice and spacious- and happy about the mosquito net! Maybe a bit overpriced compared to what we've seen elsewhere. Food was great!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camiel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here in july 2013. Its a great place and really helpful friendly people. The rooms are comfy and clean and ours had a balcony with great views over Kandy. An added bonus was the home style buffet dinner - great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was one of my favorite places to stay in Sri Lanka, the people were so friendly, the place was clean and the food was delicious!!! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We travelled around Sri Lanka from 26 June to 15 July 2013 as backpackers (though with suitcases, as we are over 29). We've seen a lot and I feel in a right place to say that Sharon Inn was a nightmare. Our bible "The lonely planet" was not true this time. We shifted to Trip Advisor from Lonely Planet after Sharon Inn. We thought of staying only for 1 night, for the price for the room is doubled up compared to Lonely planet's guideline and that is "not" included air-condition. Additional 1,000 Rupees for aircondition, we were told. In the room, there was a flat screen tv, but only Sri Lankan channels. What will tourist with that tv? But we were prevented to move the next day, because one of us was not feeling very well and we stayed for 2 nights. Unfortunately, Lonely Planet made a typing mistake in room rates according to Sharon Inn. But The Lonely Planet made also a typing error in dinner price of 900 Rupees. We were charged for 1,100 rupees. The dinner price of 1,100 Rupees was a "rip off". You can get far better food for that price in Kandy. Faiesz called it "buffet", 1 piece of chicken, rice & vegetables. I have to mention, that we got the same food for our second night dinner. Chicken, rice & vegetables, But, that was not the reason why it was a nightmare for us. We hanged around the Queen's Hotel, which is the most exclusive hotel in the Kandy, for some meals in the daytime. From Kandy, we wanted to move up to Jaffna and we asked Queen's hotel for their taxi to Jaffna. We got a negotiable offer of 24.000 Rupees. Okay, we went back to our friend Faiesz, the owner of Sharon Inn and asked for the price of his taxi to Jaffna. It was 30.000 Rupees. My husband got furious for Faiesz' greediness and so was Faiesz because he argued that his taxi use petrol.
Faiesz, be good to tourists. It is a good investment. You must be aware that the reason why we were there is because we are professional travellers.
P.S. stop scolding your personnel all the time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EsperanzaN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#31 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Property: Sharon Inn
Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing