We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, very clean and professionally run”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Me and my friend (two girls in our twenties visiting SL for two weeks) booked Sharon Inn after reading about it in our Lonely Planet. We booked two weeks in advance and from the sounds of it, if you don't book here, you don't get a reservation. We stayed right after the Kandy Festival and paid 7600lkr b&b per night.
The hotel is family run and this makes it feel that much more comfortable/homely. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. It is located a 5 minute walk up the hill from the lake, meaning you can walk to the temple of the tooth in 15 minutes. We also walked to the food market in the centre of Kandy, which I would highly recommend.
The room was great - one of the most comfortable beds I slept in during our entire trip! The room was spotlessly cleaned and fresh towels provided everyday. The a/c system was brand new and very efficient - we set it to the lowest temperature, which turned our room into a temporary freezer. The hotel has good wifi, which is located on the second floor, so reached our room.
The thing that stands out the most about this hotel is the curry buffet for dinner - hands down the best curry I ate in SL. The food is made with freshly bought produce from the market and everything tasted wonderful. It may seem slightly overpriced (900lkr) but it was worth every penny!
Even though it cost slightly more than we paid elsewhere, overall we really enjoyed our stay at Sharon Inn and would highly recommend it.
N.B apparently they are in the process of building a roof top pool

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We got Sharon Inn from an older Lonely Planet. We stayed there during the Kandy Festival.
Positive: The staff is very friendly and helpfull. They arrange transportation from and to every place you like, with a very friendly helpfull driver. The location is good.
Negative: The rooms are basic and for sure very overpriced, especially during the Festival. Afterwards, also in this period, there's plenty of hotel/guest houses to stay much cheaper for more quality. The dinner is good but in Kandy you can eat just as good for less money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Welcoming and truly spotless little b&b hiding up a lane way in Kandy. Wifi and aircon aside, no mod cons whatsoever but it doesn't need them - lovely food in restaurant, kind, helpful and polite staff and a good location are more than enough. The tuk tuk drivers know it but you can easily walk there from town. Nestled favela style with a few other similar places, I think this one is the best. Don't mention cricket around the husband!

(Ps in the first floor room I did get woken up by work going on outside in the driveway, but in the rooms at the back you wouldn't hear this. I am an early riser and it wasn't at a stupid hour, so for most people will be fine, but ask for a room other than no.1 if this bothers you).

Room Tip: See above - higher floors are probably quieter. Ask if they are air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbutu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, good value for money and professional service.
Good place to stay with a fine buffet dinner. Walking distance to central Kandy. The hotel is very efficient in organizing transportation all over Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikGamborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed two days at sharon inn and we liked the surroundings, the very clean and calm room and the city-view of our balcony very much. I lalso loved the food!
But I must say, as other travellers wrote here before, service is not the most firiendly and often we felt like we were disturbing when we had a question.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed at the Sharon Inn with my friend for 2 nights during the last few days of backpacking through Sri Lanka. As recommended by tripadvisor and the Lonely Planet Guide book it was a very clean and homely place to stay, and not to mention the best nights sleep that we had had in weeks. Although the Sharon Inn was slightly out of our budget, we found it to be good value for money and very clean compared to most guest houses we had stayed in. Being of Sri Lankan origin, it was a real treat to have the evening Sri Lankan buffet for which you have to reserve if you want a bite to eat. The staff were lovely and always very helpful, especially when it came to organising our trip to Galle and getting hold of train tickets. Thank you all very much!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruweni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Reading the reviews about the staff, it feels like we've been to a different place. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Room was nice and spacious- and happy about the mosquito net! Maybe a bit overpriced compared to what we've seen elsewhere. Food was great!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Camiel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
738 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 57 in Kandy
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#35 of 57 in Kandy
17 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 57 in Kandy
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £22 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing