We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry buffet!”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Curry buffet!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent two nights at this wonderful establishment.

Perfectly located to explore Kandy; the owners couldn't do enough to help us and the curry buffet in the evening was phenomenal. After travelling around for two weeks it was still definitely the best food we tasted!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    135
    79
    53
    44
See reviews for
71
269
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few days. Location good, as far away from noisy and polluted city. Staff great, kind cleaners.drivers great. Clean rooms.But very expensive, food ok but expensive and always the same. and workers underpaid and not treated well by the boss.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serainnewzeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed 5 nights in total at the Sharon Inn. It's located away from the hub bub of Kandy central and is a relaxing walk down to the lake and a short, enjoyable walk into town.
The rooms were a good size, exceptionally clean and well laid out. It was everything we needed. The showers were large and the size and fluffiness of the towels were the best we experienced in guesthouses throughout Sri Lanka. In October we felt we didn't need air-conditioning and we loved opening the windows in the morning to the fresh mountain breezes.
There was free internet available, and the general layout of Sharon Inn is well decorated and welcoming. All of the staff were efficient, helpful and treated us extremely well and with broad, genuinely warm smiles, and staff remembered our breakfast and drinks orders each day.
Returning at the end of each day to a cold beer on the front lawn to listen to the monkeys & birds was lovely.
Dinner at the Sharon Inn is a great treat and the quality & range of the of the food available each night was sensational. We ate some of the best food in Sri Lanka at the Sharon Inn!
Sharon Inn was also the only Guesthouse we stayed at in 3 weeks where laundry was also returned ironed and properly clean.
Faiesz prides himself on not wanting to put any pressure on guests for tours and additional services, but will help arrange anything requested and this suited us perfectly. Faiesz arranged tuk tuks for us when we needed them, reserved train tickets for us to Ella, and helped us arrange accommodation and make plans for the next leg of our trip. He is a walking encyclopaedia of cricket and in the middle of warm banter has a great singing voice.
Faiesz also arranged one of his drivers & to take us to Anuradhapur, Sigiriya & Polonaruwa at a good price that we found wasn't matched elsewhere. Our driver Sinee was just excellent, a great travel companion and skilled driver with a great sense of humour, and who consistently arranged overnight stays in guesthouses/ hotels of comparative quality we were happy with, and had established knowledge and connections - especially booking friendly and informative hand picked guides at each place we needed them. On our 2 tours (ie. a second trip to Horton Plains & Ella) Faiesz & Sinee were behind the scenes thinking ahead of what needed to be organised for us, consulting and arranging bookings. Their recommendations were consistently good and set us up for having an overall terrific experience and stay in Sri Lanka.
We really enjoyed staying at the Sharon Inn and feel that it was an exceptionally well run Guesthouse, deserving of it's status in the Lonely Planet Guide as a Top Choice, and attuned into the needs of it's guests.
We similarly enjoyed the company and conversations with Sue and Faiesz who were open and friendly.
I would highly recommend the Sharon Inn to anyone travelling to Kandy, looking for a great travel experience in Sri Lanka ahead of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for one night at the Sharon Inn and were very happy overall with the accommodation and the service we received.
Our room was a good size and although it was nothing modern or fancy, it was perfectly adequate for what we required and very clean.
We enjoyed dinner out in the garden that evening, which was very enjoyable - a typical Sri Lankan curry which was very tasty and there was plenty of it!
After dinner Faiesz arranged a tuk tuk for us to go to Helga's Folly and he was also able to offer recommendations on how best to spend the short time we had in Kandy (we were leaving at lunchtime the following day). We found both Faiesz and Sue polite and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very nice room with balcony and a very good, hot shower!
Owner not very supportive: He could not provide information about public transport, seems to be more interested in selling special taxi arrangements
It is OK, but next time, we would look for a different hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The place is Top Choice on Lonely Planet Guide but I couldnt see why... The room was spacious but dull and without any view... The service is not great, I had guests with me on dinner and they insisted on taking their names while we were still eating... It is over-priced compared with other places I have stayed in in Sri Lanka...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Despite our guide book saying all rooms have a view, ours didn't. Other than that a lovely stay at a reasonably priced guest house. German owner which meant asking lots of questions in English was very easy. Fantastic Sri Lankan curry dinner that they put on too. The whole place is absolutely spotless as well and the local staff were very sweet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 53 in Kandy
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 53 in Kandy
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 53 in Kandy
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Property: Sharon Inn
Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing