We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A professionally run and friendly place to stay”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A professionally run and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Owners Faiesz and Sue were very frienly and helpful, only needed to be asked and they provided good advice and organised what we required, tuktuk and taxi service etc. Excellent breakfast and evening buffet. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshexsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    131
    78
    53
    43
See reviews for
67
265
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean. Great views from the upper levels but as it is built on a hill, here are lot of steep stairs to get to some of the rooms. The best thing about this place was the fabulous dinner: excellent spread of mainly vegetarian curries at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Upper levels have better views over the city but steep stairs to get to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014. Good standard accommodation, very clean and in good condition, but it was not cheap at 8600 rupees for a double room with aircon and breakfast, though rooms may be cheaper if you call in or book by phone at shorter notice. Not all rooms have a view over Kandy, so ask for one on the higher floors that does. Buffet dinner is also not cheap at 1100 rupees, but was good value with a wide range of high-quality vegetarian curries and a good chicken curry; there are also a couple of other, cheaper restaurant options nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Pan875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Don't understand why this place gets any good reviews. At 6600 rupees a night it is outrageously overpriced for a guest house anywhere in Sri Lanka. The arrogant owner is just trying to rip you off at every opportunity. A beer costs 490 rupees!! The owner said because this is in the Temple of the Tooth area and he had to "pay underground" for it. There is indeed a liquor shop "underground" in the basement of Cargill's supermarket - they charge 150 rupees for the same beer! The buffet dinner costs more than they charge for the buffet at the Queens Hotel in town. The breakfast is pathetic - eggs or eggs, no Sri Lankan option or anything else.

There are lots of places equally clean in Kandy and with much more friendly and helpful owners, at half the price or less. A beer where we are staying now in Kandy is 290 rp. Unless you want to unload excess money, forget this place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provincetown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We just spent 3 nights in a spotless room with the most comfortable mattress I've slept on since I left home.
The private balcony was great for watching birds and monkeys. They come down in the morning and play on the roofs and in the trees. You do have to use common sense and keep your stuff away from their reach of course. "They are monkeys".
The dinner buffet with more than a dozen dishes was fabulous and Sharon, Faiesz, and the staff were very friendly and attentive.
The full breakfast was very good and included and assortment of fresh fruit.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The room was clean, overpriced and dated. There were four locks on the door and the windows were locked closed when we arrived. We wondered why? We made sure everything was locked when we went out for the day. Someone opened our windows and monkeys?? reached through the open window and grabbed things from my bag- tea, medication, clothes, presents and scattered them outside on the verandah, garden and next doors roof. Faiez kindly offered to replace my medication and wash my clothes, but one of my dresses was not returned until I insisted. Some things could not be replaced. It was very upsetting. I would not stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Sharon Inn was the cleanest and best run guest house we stayed in. Faiesz, the owner, entertained us with his guitar and American songs. A western breakfast with fresh fruit is included in the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DbbNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#21 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#31 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Property: Sharon Inn
Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing