We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-run hotel”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this very welcoming family-run hotel. The room was impeccably clean and comfortable. Dinner is fantastic. The owner is a good source of information for travelling around Sri Lanka and he set me up with a driver for a couple of days. Recommended.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Guido L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Sharon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Sue and Faiesz run the place impeccably and efficiently! The ladies working around the hotel and in the kitchen are absolutely delightful! The rooms were clean, mosquito nets excellent, showers delivered hot water and our verandah overlooked the lake. We stayed for three nights and ate there every night as the food was to die for. The buffet has different vegetables most nights, and there is everything from breadfruit to jackfruit to aubergines and so on! It was so good I would have liked a second stomach for more!!

Room Tip: I think we had room 9
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a pretty good hotel overlooking Kandy lake. Presently they have twelve rooms in a 5 storey building. Upper floor rooms have nice views. Stayed there four consecutive nights, plus a fifth one after our return from Polonnaruwa. Rooms are very clean, bathrooms are fairly big and well equipped. One of the few places in Sri Lanka in this price range, where they will make up your room daily. Mattresses are a little soft for our taste, but most Americans might love it. Breakfast is okay, but not great. Servings a little small. Most days we were not offered extra tea or toast. When checking in it always took quite some time until somebody showed up. The owner-couple who run the place are definitely hard working. But they don't exactly seem to be in love with their guests. Were it not for the sub standard hospitality (the place also feels tense), I would have given a higher overall rating. The curry buffet in the evening still highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights during our 6 week visit to Sri Lanka, then stopped for a further night on our return from Trinco. The Sharon Inn is a real find, the owners Sue and Faiesz are very knowledgeable and helpful, their staff are delightful and happy. Rooms are clean and fresh with great showers and verandahs! Food is amazing, nightly Sri Lankan buffets provided without question some of the best food we had during our holiday. Tuktuk and car drivers are available for hire via Sharon Inn, they are safe and highly recommended. We would certainly stop here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobyooz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Sharon Inn with three friends and we all loved every minute of our stay. The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They were so friendly and smiley every day and it was a joy to come home after a long day sightseeing. The breakfasts (included in the price) and the evening meals were absolutely delicious. For dinner in the evening a buffet style meal of about 12 different dishes is served and you simply help yourself to however much you feel like. The Sharon Inn is on a hillside overlooking Kandy town, so there are great views and a lovely breeze when it gets too hot. We can recommend getting a tuk tuk into town and back to save yourself a steep walk, but it only costs Rs 300 (£1.30) for the journey and they are really good fun!
The Sharon Inn also arranged for us to be picked up in a car from Colombo airport, which saved a lot of hassle and made the journey very quick and easy. Also the Sharon Inn arranged a driver to take us to the further away sites such as Sigiriya and the Cave temple in Danbulla. Additionally the wifi is great in the Inn.
Overall I think the Sharon Inn is the perfect place to explore Kandy and the surrounding areas.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anna_Louise_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay of 4 nights in Feb. 2014. The rooms were clean and comfortable (if a little over-stuffed with furniture). Nice breakfast, good location. Beds were comfortable and the balcony was a nice spot to sit and read in the afternoons.

Staff and owners were friendly and very kind to our toddler. I'd suggest booking transport elsewhere, though. The drivers we had were great, but this guest house charges more than others and we found it difficult to get clear answers about transport to our next destination.

Definitely the best food we ate in Sri Lanka, hands down.

If you choose a room with private bath, you'll need to walk up at least 2 long flights of stairs. This was fine for us, but a tip for those with health issues.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KS2492014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Owners Faiesz and Sue were very frienly and helpful, only needed to be asked and they provided good advice and organised what we required, tuktuk and taxi service etc. Excellent breakfast and evening buffet. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshexsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#24 of 56 in Kandy
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.8 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £24 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing