We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but pleasant enough”
Review of Sharon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sharon Inn
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A bit out of the way up a very steep hill but quite a nice little place. Sadly the food was exactly the same every single day but fine, and the rooms were clean but nothing special. The German lady owner was very pleasant and was more than happy to give advice on what to do and where to go, her husband was not so pleasant, he seemed a little offish at times. We stayed for 3 nights, would not like to have stayed any longer. Not sure it should have been in the Lonely Planet though, we expected something much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I recommend you give the Sharon Inn a wide berth. With trusty Lonely Planet under my arm I booked a double room instilled with confidence after the many years Lonely Planet and I have travelled together. It was overpriced but I was willing to pay extra for a good recommendation. We were extremely disappointed - from the indifferent (my partner thought rude) welcome to the room (TV not working, bathroom door and windows did not close properly) to the buffet and breakfast which we really didn't find as fantastical as some reviewers say (breakfast was dry toast and tea with some fruit, dinner buffet average compared to other Sri Lankan food we had tried, and with the militaristic owner saying when we could eat, where to sit, etc) - possibly people who enjoy a more institutionalised setting might find it comforting but we didn't think it was that appealing. One other thing I think it is important to mention is that we left the hotel to go out and half way down the hill realised we had left some cash in a backpack in our room. We went back and as we climbed the stairs we met the owner coming out of our room. He didn't acknowledge us when we greeted him. Nevertheless the cash was missing from the backpack and though I cannot prove anything I would certainly not stay at this hotel again for a myraid of reasons. A very ordinary experience from start to finish,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teeeelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Suggested by both Lonely Planet and the Rough Guide, my wife and I didn’t have doubts in looking for a room here.

The approach was immediately disconcerting. Past the sort of muletrack to drive up there (hard for tuk-tuk’s too), after a while the owner appeared disappointed to interrupt his lunch (it was 4 PM), finally confirming the room available at Rps 7500, about €44 breakfast excl. (+50% respect the Guide's)

The 3rd floor AC room has a narrow balcony to the roofs and terraces of the many guesthouses around (where is the wonderful view celebrated by the guides?), but definitely simple and “cheap”, nothing to do with the modern and well-appointed furniture reported by both guides. Acceptably clean, not the best in class. No help to carry our luggage, nobody around. The AC particularly noisy forced to switch it off for the night, but it could happen in Sri Lanka. The restroom is large, the shower door didn’t close and there is only a narrow shelf for toothbrushes and soap.
The guesthouse has a dimly lit entrance hall with three armchairs on a corner and a small garden.Wi-fi is working just here.

The owner, apparently not the same kind of friendly, smiling Singhalese’s or Tamil’s we always met all around in our journey, looked like always annoyed by us, but busy in singing old American songs with the guitar to few Chinese guests after dinner.

To the other hand, the cuisine is great. We had dinner here and we tasted many really good and different vegetables curries. We definitely suggest it even if not the cheapest.

In synthesis the hotel is by far overprized, after Esala Perahera too. I wonder what the Guides’ explorers found here two years ago.
There are many nicer guest houses nearby with a more reasonable price and hospitality, or comfort hotels for a slightly higher rate. Go there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The rooms are OK, but nothing out of the ordinary. Our double room had 2 beds put together in stead og 1 big bed and the beds were made with rough blankets. Hosts were friendly enough. We paid 6000 rupee for a night, and the stay didn't offer us more than the average 3500 rupee places.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kbundg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was there at sharon inn for about 4 days in December 2013. The cost of the room was a little expensive but it was clean, tidy and spacious. We did run into some trouble with the maid robbing us of our money. Faiesz and Sue immediately sprung to action, helped us catch the thief, and did come along with us (bearing all our expenses at the court and with the Lawyer) for the trial. Being Christmas time, We were sure the courts would be closed and we would never get our money back. But we did and there was a special hearing. Faiesz is sure a well connected man. They even helped us plan out the remainder of our trip.

Not to mention, the food here is to die for especially for the vegans. All in all, a good trip.

Room Tip: Higher Floors give you a nice view of Kandy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VishBhat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We walked in off the street to Sharon inn with a request to turn a double room into a triple room. They were more than willing to do this for us, which we really appreciated! The cost of the room was quite expensive but it was clean, tidy and spacious. The bathroom especially was immaculate for mid-range accommodation.

The main highlights of our stay we're the dinner, and the service. The banquet at dinner included a choice of 10 curries, which were some of the best we ate in our time in Sri Lanka. Our hosts were incredibly helpful; they even included a personal sing-along on the guitar, and a history about Kandy with our night's stay! We would recommend this place to others, especially as a place to sample authentic home-cooked Sri Lankan food

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paulien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

So the Lonely Planet raved about this place (as I've heard many other guide books have) but I just cannot see what the fuss is about. For what you get it's pretty expensive, the rooms are beyond basic and the tuk tuk drivers waiting outside charge twice as much as everybody else. And it feels like a hostel. The main reason to go here is the evening buffet. The staff who prepare the food are really friendly and the food is absolutely incredible! It's a real insight into home-made Sri Lankan cuisine. The owner, OK, isn't interested in you and doesn't want to talk much but when you sit down with him, you realise that he just has a very, very dry sense of humour. I wouldn't stay again, but I would go back for the buffet.

Room Tip: Definitely visit the evening buffet if you're not planning on staying here. Avoid the tuk tuks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Windsorstopover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 56 in Kandy
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Inn

Address: 59 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £24 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharon Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sharon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing