We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for Kandy”
Review of Expeditor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expeditor Inn
Ranked #76 of 409 Kandy B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Kandy”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Having visited Kandy several years earlier I had a pretty good idea of the neighborhood but had not stayed here previously. I had called ahead from the airport in Colombo to ascertain availability, and arrived in what seemed like the middle of the night. Nevertheless, my room was ready. In addition to a clean, comfortable room and good vibes on arrival, the breakfast setup (extra charge) was especially rewarding, as the table was set up for 6, and there was always an opportunity to chat with fellow travelers about the usual topics and exchange information. I stayed 4 nights and returned a week later for a one night stopover; the room this time was even better (and a bit more expensive) with a fine view. A possible downside; the dining choices for dinner in the area were not particularly good.
The Tripadvisor setup does not allow for a "not applicable" and will not accept a review without checking one of the circles; this is a major flaw, as many of the less expensive guesthouses have no fitness center or pool!

Room Tip: Better to pay a bit extra and enjoy the view, although the inside rooms aren't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadOrderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
97
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Wasn't sure about this place after reading the reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. Clean, comfy room with hot water and strong wifi connection (for a nominal fee-50rps for 2hrs).

The room price varies depending on what level you stay but everywhere around the place has a really homely feel and is nicely decorated. Would definitely go back if staying in Kandy

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrosanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We felt really welcome arriving here and the hosts were really helpful and caring, sort of felt like going to your grandparents house. Room was really clean, view was great and although it doesn't do food the Sharon Inn a couple of minutes away did an amazing evening buffet of home-cooked food.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattbor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

it has been the first time in sri lanka that an house seems to be a little more european, a little more expencive than the other place but money well spended , lady is very kind and really helpful, very close to the centre and to all you need good

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank toncelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Expeditor. We stayed in the upstairs rooms and found the rooms to be clean & presentable. It is located around many of the other accommodation options in the area and all the tuktuk drivers knew where to go. The hotel is only 2mins walk to the lake & 5mins to the Temple of the Tooth.
Whilst the owner can come across as nice most of the time she is a shrewd business woman and will take your money where possible. We stayed four nights in total and stayed on two different occasions. Both times we rang ahead and booked a cheaper lower level room however both times we arrived and she 'seemed' to not have them available any longer. So we had to take the more expensive upstairs options once we arrived. The second time we would have not stayed there out of principle but the rooms are nice and it was about 9:30pm so we just accepted it. She was offering about 2500 rupee for mid-level rooms & 4500 rupee for the cheaper upstairs rooms, both including breakfast. So there was a significant difference.
We didn't let the owners antics get to us and we had many a pleasant conversation with her. Her staff are lovely even though she talks down to them. Breakfast was pleasant. Make sure the hot water is on. It was hit & miss as to whether we had a hot shower.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are spacious. A/C was not needed in January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Meh. That's all I can say. This place is painfully average for the price. We stayed here for 3 nights and had to move on the first due to our room being mobbed by Cockroaches. The ownes assured us it was not the norm and relocated us to a worse room for the same price. Mentioning TripAdvisor got us a little rebate on the price 4000 from 4500. Sneaky sneaky!

The breakfast is overpriced and the wifi is not free.

All in all go somewhere else. Seavana where we moved to later was much better, and cheaper.

Room Tip: Upstairs is less 'roachy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandSTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The guest-house is run by a rude, greedy old lady who does not care about guests wellbeing, she only cares about money. We spent 3 nights there, in a room on the top floor (one of the more expensive and with better views) : the room was clean, but bare, without any furniture except the bed and two night tables. One morning we had no hot water: when I advised the owner, she started shouting at me, in a very unprofessional and patronizing way. She did not make any apology for the inconvenience and insulted me instead, saying that she should have never rented me the room (!). I do not think people like her deserve to work in the hospitality industry. I find her behaviour inacceptable and very damaging for the image of Sri Lanka tourism.
Beside this, food is overpriced, you should be always careful and double-check the bills as she tends to charge even more /e.g. 500 SLR fixed price for breakfast, although the price stated on the menu is cheaper). Avoid Expeditor if you can: there are plenty of other guest houses, just as clean, nice and even better bargain than this one!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter and have better views, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FabMadagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 54 in Kandy
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 54 in Kandy
526 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#34 of 409 in Kandy
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anna Shanthi Villa
Anna Shanthi Villa
#11 of 409 in Kandy
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kandy Waters
Kandy Waters
#60 of 335 in Kandy
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Round Residence
Lake Round Residence
#39 of 409 in Kandy
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expeditor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expeditor Inn

Property: Expeditor Inn
Address: 41 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 409 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Expeditor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expeditor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing