We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Expeditor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expeditor Inn
Ranked #77 of 433 Kandy B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I visited Kandy twice and stayed here on both occasions. The staff are extra friendly and helpful and make you feel right at home as do the owners..The owners gave me many tips for the rest of my trip, that proved invaluable. The rooms were very comfortable and there is a lot of communal area to sit and relax. Through the guest house I arranged a 3 temple tour and tickets to the Kandy dancing as well as a tuk tuk driver to take around to the gardens and station.

Room Tip: Both rooms I stayed in were great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillblack0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    78
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
18
98
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Turned up and managed to get the room without a view but en suite for rs 2000 after a bit of bartering.
The room is basic with a good mosquito net and hot water.
The family who run this b&b are nice (although it was pretty noisy when we were there due to them having friends over). Beware of the Monkeys as they do wake you up every morning!
Good location, about 20 minutes walk to town. A few good restaurants nearby as well.
We did ask about some of the tours and treks that they have on offer downstairs but we found them way over priced.
Nice enough stay.

Room Tip: No need to pay for the extra rs 500 for a room with a view because you walk around and get it anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This lovely guesthouse is just up the hill from the beautiful lake and also in walking distance to the centre of Kandy. It's clean, comfortable and run by friendly people. And it's cheap! Great value for money!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieManshande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We only stayed one night here in Kandy and it met all of our needs. Good location up the hill (10min walk up from the lake), and great views although a new hotel build in front seems to be on the verge of disrupting this. Chanti was extremely helpful in arranging a taxi/guide (Bernard) and itinerary for our onward journey around central Sri Lanka. All staff were helpful too, including a welcoming cup of tea. The shared balcony area on the middle floor was a good area to sit and relax - yes it is communal although no other guests were around at our time there (mid-afternoon) and given the number of rooms it wouldn't be bustling if it had.

The room was clean, mid-sized and very presentable upon arrival. We were informed about the monkeys but we had no run-ins and it's easy to keep doors shut - although their presence was sometimes quite vocal, not the greatest early in the morning if they're about.

Overall I'd happily recommend the Expeditor - my brother recommended it to me... and his stay was in 2004! Well-maintained standards for over a decade!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hosts are very friendly and Chanti speaks a very good English which you do not see very often in Sri Lanka. The rooms are ok and predominantly clean, but you have no special or nice atmosphere and you share a balcony with other rooms. The breakfast was quite poor - my fruit plate was just a banana and one slice of melon.
You need to keep your windows and doors closed because there might be some monkeys. I saw those monkeys in the evening and even the day I left, there was a horde of monkeys jumping from the roof down on our rail of the balcony, continuing their way to other buildings. There are warnings about it in your room which is positive to mention.
All together, this is not a place you will tell about your grandchildren in some decades but I cannot disadvise that place to people who are looking for a cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Plus:
- great location
- great view
- clean, big rooms
- very nice, friendly staff
- cute cat
- a lot of balconies and terraces where you can enjoy the view

Minus:
- be aware of the monkeys :) there are plenty!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptiza_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Great thanx, nice people, they are giving perfect advices about travelling, restaurants, actions everything... and kandy is an amazing city, one of the best on island;) reat thanx, nice people, they are giving perfect advices about travelling, restaurants, actions everything... and kandy is an amazing city, one of the best on island;)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Freedom Lodge
Freedom Lodge
#23 of 55 in Kandy
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 55 in Kandy
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Garden
Hotel Mango Garden
#32 of 433 in Kandy
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Bridget's Guest House
0.0 mi away
Kandy Waters
Kandy Waters
#64 of 352 in Kandy
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expeditor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expeditor Inn

Property: Expeditor Inn
Address: 41 Saranankara Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Expeditor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expeditor Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing