We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CandCSuttonColdfield
Sutton Coldfield

Wonderful get away in the hills above Kandy

Review of Vista House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2017
We stayed with Waruni and her family for 3 nights in her lovely home. The food, hospitality and location were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. We had use of a guest's kitchen which was great for making cups of tea and a fridge too for that all important ice cold beer! Waruni was very helpful assisting us with our onward travel arrangements. There are only 2 rooms so don't leave it too long before booking otherwise you may be disappointed.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£76
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    £69
  • Hotels.com
    £108
2.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£97
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £97
  • Priceline
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £97
3.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£95
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £93
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Hotels.com
    £93
2.4 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £163
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Priceline
    £109
1.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Vio.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
    £95
4.4 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Pool
The Kandyan Villa is a Boutique Hotel and a detached Private Bungalow located along the slopes of the Hanthana mountain range in Heerassagala near Kandy, which offers you a outdoor pool, rooftop terrace, surrounded by lush tranquil gardens with a breathtaking view of the surrounding mountains! | Contact on +94 812 208 208 for reservations and information
£30
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £32
  • Agoda.com
    £32
  • Vio.com
    £32
0.3 miles from Vista House
Free parking
Pool
Front view of hotel
£41
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £65
  • Agoda.com
    £36
  • Hotels.com
    £67
2.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Pool
view from the garden!
£60
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £87
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • Priceline
    £45
3.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£27
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £30
  • Agoda.com
    £27
  • Vio.com
    £27
3.1 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kandy
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
90
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
6
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I can not recommend stay at Vista House enough. The host, Waruni, is the perfect host, so lovely. She is really nice and thoughtful with everything. She gave our kids toys and books to play and help us find and book the train tickets to Ella.
We had an incredible breakfast and dinner here, the food was REALLY delicious!!
The room is very big and clean (we had triple room connected, very useful with kids)

The house is up a hill, you need tuck-tuck or taxi to go up. ( But the views are beautiful :-D)

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccabrich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights earlier this month with my girlfriend. This is Waruni's family home. We felt very welcomed. The rooms are spacious and modern. Wi-Fi was decent, a rarity in Sri Lanka. Vista House is located about 15 minutes outside of Kandy so you are reliant on tuk-tuk drivers to bring you about. Ask for the driver Raja if you need transport. He is a very genuine and honest person (one day he wasn't available and we had to use a different driver who tried to take us to every tourist trap in Kandy). Raja even gave me a tutorial on how to drive a tuk-tuk.

The breakfasts at Vista House were great. Every morning there was something different to eat. A lot of Sri Lankan specialities. Staying at Vista House was the best thing about our time in Kandy. Thank you to Waruni for her help and hospitality.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 488MichaelO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Michael
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! And it brings me a lot of pride and joy as you have enjoyed our breakfast which something different . Your great review will share the rest of world and thank you so much again for your thoughtful touches on our service. I will let Raja know that you were pleased with his service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at vista house for 2 nights, great location away from the hustle and bustle of the city - highly recommended. If your in kandy we would stay here! Our host was amazing and sorted out our every need and was very helpful. Breakfast was great too!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

The room is basic, but very much acceptable. The bathroom was also quite standard. Overall we felt that the price was a bit too high though for what you get. Location wise the guesthouse is up in the mountains, so you are obliged to take a Tuktuk drive from kandy. On the other hand, breakfast was really good ! The owner made us an amazing fruit juice of passion fruit and pineapple and she prepared pancakes for us ! One of the best breakfasts I have had in Sri Lanka. She's very friendly and she kindly offered us a free Tuktuk ride to the station where we needed to catch our train.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Valérie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The house is incredible. Breakfast was great, and the host is lovely.
It is located in the mountain over Kandy, in a quiet area. You can go to Kandy city center in tuc tuc ( aprox 500 rup). We were 3 and they have two double rooms connected.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jose Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews