We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Romola W
Colombo, Sri Lanka

Very Satisfactory Stay

Review of Vista House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Apr 2017
We were very satisfied with the service provided. Waruni was an excellent hostess and was very accommodating. The food was good and the rooms were very comfortable. Bathrooms were also clean and and well maintained. Very good value for money.
Date of stay: April 2017
Room Tip: The tripple room had the added advantage of a separate attached room for the 3rd bed.
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £98
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Vista House
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £108
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
3.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £154
  • Hotels.com
1.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £106
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Hotels.com
2.4 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
4.4 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £122
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £48
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Pool
view from the garden!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
3.0 miles from Vista House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kandy
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
90
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
6
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here from looking at previous reviews, while the host was lovely the house is far too over priced for the location. We only discovered on arrival it is 6km from kandy up a steep hill. Breakfast was minimal we have stayed in much nicer places with more to offer.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DellyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2017

When we arrived, we instantly regretted that we would only be spending one night here. This must be the loveliest homestay in all of Sri Lanka, with the most hospitable and charming hostess, Waruni. She has left no detail unattended to make this a very comfortable home away from home for weary travelers. Not only were our living quarters beautiful and comfortable, the views from the windows and veranda of the surrounding mountains were spectacular. We were also treated to a delicious, light breakfast of crepes, eggs, various fruit and fresh squeezed juice, elegantly presented in Waruni's sunlit dining room. Vista House is situated up in the mountains around Kandy, so a bit of a drive from the action, but even the drive down the mountain is an attraction in itself, as it gives the opportunity to view the charming surrounding neighborhoods. If you don't have energy for the drive, sit on the veranda and enjoy the sound of the stream running down the mountain a few meters below. If I'm every in Kandy again, this will be my first choice for accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank FoggyGoggle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waruni W, Owner at Vista House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Amy and friends
Wow! What a wonderful review indetailed.
A huge thank for taking your time to tell others what to expect from VISTA HOUSE. It's so much more than a score.
We are really hoping to see you again at Vista House for spending more nights.
Wish you all the Best!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

The first thing you notice about Vista House is that the owner Waruni responds quickly and efficiently to your enquiries, both before and after booking. Try to book direct via her website.
The second is the location in the hills above Kandy, away from the noise and busy traffic of the town and with lovely views across the valley.
Then when you meet Waruni she is instantly welcoming and delightful. She loves meeting different people, she has very good English, she is so helpful in organising excursions and she is a kind and charming person.
The rooms are bright and modern and you have shared use of a small kitchen in the common area with a refrigerator.
Breakfasts are delicious and varied each day. For two nights of our stay we had dinner too, which we enjoyed immensely. If you want lovely traditional home cooking (not too spicy!), you will love the food here. Or, if you don't want to get a tuk-tuk into town in the evenings, you can also walk five minutes for a buffet at a luxury hotel nearby with great views.
Waruni also uses a wonderful tuk-tuk driver called Raja, who took us on on a city tour one day and to see the elephants at Pinnawala another. He is a very good, kind and honest man, who made sure we were in the right place at the right time to see everything at its best. His rates are also very reasonable.
Another day we went by taxi to Sigiriya (highly recommended if you are fit and active) and Dambulla, a long drive but perfectly doable in a day if you don't want to stay further north than Kandy.
After leaving we toured the centre and south of Sri Lanka, staying in four hotels where the facilities were grander and the prices far higher, but when we look back there is no doubt that Vista House was easily our favourite.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesnJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We stayed with Waruni and her family for 3 nights in her lovely home. The food, hospitality and location were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. We had use of a guest's kitchen which was great for making cups of tea and a fridge too for that all important ice cold beer! Waruni was very helpful assisting us with our onward travel arrangements. There are only 2 rooms so don't leave it too long before booking otherwise you may be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2017

I can not recommend stay at Vista House enough. The host, Waruni, is the perfect host, so lovely. She is really nice and thoughtful with everything. She gave our kids toys and books to play and help us find and book the train tickets to Ella.
We had an incredible breakfast and dinner here, the food was REALLY delicious!!
The room is very big and clean (we had triple room connected, very useful with kids)

The house is up a hill, you need tuck-tuck or taxi to go up. ( But the views are beautiful :-D)

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ccabrich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews