We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After all the rave reviews I was slightly underwhelmed by our trip to Freedom Lodge. There had been a mix up with out booking before we travelled and I knew that the interconnecting rooms were not availablebut was told we would have two rooms next to each other which were the only ones on the top floor. This was not entirely correct as my children's room actually connected with another room (although it could be locked from the inside). I would recommend finding out exactly what configuration of rooms you have booked if travelling with a family. There was definitely a family atmosphere when we arrived mainly due to the Sri Lankan New Year celebrations and the fact that the owner had extended family staying. Disappointingly this meant that the hotel was not doing food so we ate at the Sharon Inn nearby (which was good). It was also a bit noisy and we felt unable to use the communal areas (there is a small garden and TV lounge). All that said, the rooms were clean, it was not expensive and the owner organised an excellent day trip and easy airport transfer. I would probably stay here again but would not have such high expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

We arrived here after a bad experience up the hill at Highest View. The proprietor was only too happy to see us, showed us a spotless (if basic - hey, aren't most of the budget hotels in Kandy?) double with en suite shower room. The water was hot. Staff great. Breakfast excellent (fruit, toast, yoghurt, tea). Not the cheapest but fine for the money. Columbo, Kandy and Sigiriya are expensive by comparison to the South coast so pay up and enjoy the positives.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The highlight of this place is Sarath and Nalini. What a great couple! We really enjoyed their company and they were extremely helpful and welcoming, even joining us for breakfast. The only downside during our stay was the construction noise from an ambitious addition they are putting up but they had thoughtfully limited the allowed noise to a set number of hours a day during which we were mostly gone anyways. Our room was wonderful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepforestpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Owners are really very nice. They gave us many good advices when we arrived in Kandy (our first stop in Sri Lanka). Their own house is very clean and the garden is also very pleasant for a breakfast.
However considering the price and prices in Kandy...we could expect a room with a better bathroom.
We found better places in Kandy really less expensive with cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljulianito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

one of the highlights of my visit in sri lanka. perfect spot, small clean and terrific service. good value for money if you intend to be in kandy's mid range accommodation. nothing is extra bother. thank you Nalini.....

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank aleeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We moved from Sharon Inn to Freedom Lodge. Ok the room wasn't quite as nice, but the fact that the owners were far far friendlier made us very happy that we switched. And the room is perfectly fine... Clean and everything worked. Keep in mind that the price here (we paid 3450 incl tax) includes an excellent breakfast with great coffee, eggs, sausage, bacon and fruit, so overall value is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mintaka1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This was the first guesthouse we stayed in Sri Lanka, close to the lake and the Tooth Temple. We had our trip with Pio Mendis, the driver who works with them and stayed there for 2 nights, while we were travelling around. It is a very nice place, not something fancy, but obviously if that what you look for you should book a hotel instead. The owners Sarath and Nalini were very friendly and hospitable. The guests are occasionally having their meals with other guests, we found very nice people there, and had conversations till midnight (anyway there is no place for a night life). All the meals are homemade and it is a great opportunity to try local food, Nalini is a great cook :) The prices maybe were a little bit higher than in a restaurant, but you really get a lot of food so I think it is better take your meals there. Now, about the driver, Pio was very cautious, kind person, who did a lot more than we expected - not only we completed all the planned sights, he also helped us when we needed to buy diving equioment, find internet connection, practically everything we could only to think of. So I recommend this place and want to thank again to our hosts - for us you are the face of Sri Lanka :)
If you have additional questions you may pm me, have a nice trip!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yana123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 57 in Kandy
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jack Tree House Kandy
Jack Tree House Kandy
#31 of 57 in Kandy
16 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 57 in Kandy
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £28 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing