We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, wonderful owners but...”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Ok it's only a small couple of "but's" - firstly there's a school nearby which we were told about so no worried, but they start lessons at 7:30 and the first thing they do is music which involves trumpets and drums! The second 'but' is the building work that's going on there at the moment: we stayed 3 nights and treated ourselves to the top balcony room as Kandy was the last leg of our month backpacking around Sri, but from 8 every morning there was sawing, drilling and general building noise - we were told after the first day that it wouldn't happen the next day but it did, and the same for the 3rd day. We normally would have been up and out early but as we were relaxing prior to leaving Sri we wanted a couple of lazy lay-in's and we just couldn't get them.

The Lodge is lovely though, and the owners are fantastic people who are very worldly and knowledgeable and a pleasure to talk to. The accommodation is great and I'm glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattAndSamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

Sarath and Nalini are very hospitable and the other staff there were very friendly too. Simple but good rooms - we stayed in top room which was great as a large room with room to spread out as we were in town for 5 days.
Sarath is very knowledgeable and we took advantage of a day trip with him to Sigiriya and Damboula - he is very trustworthy and certainly practices his Christian beliefs. A really lovely guy.
Nalini has created a lovely garden - ask her to show you all the various leaves and things which you can eat.
Would certainly recommend, just appreciate it is a very simple but clean family home.

Room Tip: Ask for the top double room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After all the rave reviews I was slightly underwhelmed by our trip to Freedom Lodge. There had been a mix up with out booking before we travelled and I knew that the interconnecting rooms were not availablebut was told we would have two rooms next to each other which were the only ones on the top floor. This was not entirely correct as my children's room actually connected with another room (although it could be locked from the inside). I would recommend finding out exactly what configuration of rooms you have booked if travelling with a family. There was definitely a family atmosphere when we arrived mainly due to the Sri Lankan New Year celebrations and the fact that the owner had extended family staying. Disappointingly this meant that the hotel was not doing food so we ate at the Sharon Inn nearby (which was good). It was also a bit noisy and we felt unable to use the communal areas (there is a small garden and TV lounge). All that said, the rooms were clean, it was not expensive and the owner organised an excellent day trip and easy airport transfer. I would probably stay here again but would not have such high expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We arrived here after a bad experience up the hill at Highest View. The proprietor was only too happy to see us, showed us a spotless (if basic - hey, aren't most of the budget hotels in Kandy?) double with en suite shower room. The water was hot. Staff great. Breakfast excellent (fruit, toast, yoghurt, tea). Not the cheapest but fine for the money. Columbo, Kandy and Sigiriya are expensive by comparison to the South coast so pay up and enjoy the positives.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The highlight of this place is Sarath and Nalini. What a great couple! We really enjoyed their company and they were extremely helpful and welcoming, even joining us for breakfast. The only downside during our stay was the construction noise from an ambitious addition they are putting up but they had thoughtfully limited the allowed noise to a set number of hours a day during which we were mostly gone anyways. Our room was wonderful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepforestpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Owners are really very nice. They gave us many good advices when we arrived in Kandy (our first stop in Sri Lanka). Their own house is very clean and the garden is also very pleasant for a breakfast.
However considering the price and prices in Kandy...we could expect a room with a better bathroom.
We found better places in Kandy really less expensive with cleaner rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljulianito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

one of the highlights of my visit in sri lanka. perfect spot, small clean and terrific service. good value for money if you intend to be in kandy's mid range accommodation. nothing is extra bother. thank you Nalini.....

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank aleeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 56 in Kandy
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.0 mi away
Jack Tree House Kandy
Jack Tree House Kandy
#27 of 56 in Kandy
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £25 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing