We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Having travelled for several weeks around Sri Lanka we had a variety of Guest House experience and found this one very good and in fact so good we went back a second time. The owners are friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean and tidy and the breakfast is amazing. We really did enjoy our stay there but found the tour prices quoted from the owner much higher than other local taxi drivers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    136
    37
    20
    10
See reviews for
45
189
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We can not praise Sarath and his guest house enough. He was very helpful, genuine and would do anything to accommodate us and our unexpected friends - even with the Cricket Final on (unfortunately Sri Lanka lost).
Bed and breakfast were great and the place was immaculately clean - some bulbs needed replacing but nothing to taint our stay. Our experience began at the airport where we were picked up (I did pre-arrange this by e-mail) and taken on my request to Pinnewala Elephant Orphanage - a definite must in Sri Lanka to see so many elephants bathing in the river in a relatively natural environment.
We stayed a couple of nights only because of our busy itinerary and even though we were unsuccessful to get train tickets to Ella originally - we were recommended to go and see the Station Master at the Kandy Train Station - after some negotiation (no bribes though) we got tickets in first class...what a great start in Sri Lanka!!
We wish Sarath and Nalini well!!

Room Tip: E-mail ahead of time with any specific requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianinsaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Ok it's only a small couple of "but's" - firstly there's a school nearby which we were told about so no worried, but they start lessons at 7:30 and the first thing they do is music which involves trumpets and drums! The second 'but' is the building work that's going on there at the moment: we stayed 3 nights and treated ourselves to the top balcony room as Kandy was the last leg of our month backpacking around Sri, but from 8 every morning there was sawing, drilling and general building noise - we were told after the first day that it wouldn't happen the next day but it did, and the same for the 3rd day. We normally would have been up and out early but as we were relaxing prior to leaving Sri we wanted a couple of lazy lay-in's and we just couldn't get them.

The Lodge is lovely though, and the owners are fantastic people who are very worldly and knowledgeable and a pleasure to talk to. The accommodation is great and I'm glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattAndSamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Sarath and Nalini are very hospitable and the other staff there were very friendly too. Simple but good rooms - we stayed in top room which was great as a large room with room to spread out as we were in town for 5 days.
Sarath is very knowledgeable and we took advantage of a day trip with him to Sigiriya and Damboula - he is very trustworthy and certainly practices his Christian beliefs. A really lovely guy.
Nalini has created a lovely garden - ask her to show you all the various leaves and things which you can eat.
Would certainly recommend, just appreciate it is a very simple but clean family home.

Room Tip: Ask for the top double room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After all the rave reviews I was slightly underwhelmed by our trip to Freedom Lodge. There had been a mix up with out booking before we travelled and I knew that the interconnecting rooms were not availablebut was told we would have two rooms next to each other which were the only ones on the top floor. This was not entirely correct as my children's room actually connected with another room (although it could be locked from the inside). I would recommend finding out exactly what configuration of rooms you have booked if travelling with a family. There was definitely a family atmosphere when we arrived mainly due to the Sri Lankan New Year celebrations and the fact that the owner had extended family staying. Disappointingly this meant that the hotel was not doing food so we ate at the Sharon Inn nearby (which was good). It was also a bit noisy and we felt unable to use the communal areas (there is a small garden and TV lounge). All that said, the rooms were clean, it was not expensive and the owner organised an excellent day trip and easy airport transfer. I would probably stay here again but would not have such high expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We arrived here after a bad experience up the hill at Highest View. The proprietor was only too happy to see us, showed us a spotless (if basic - hey, aren't most of the budget hotels in Kandy?) double with en suite shower room. The water was hot. Staff great. Breakfast excellent (fruit, toast, yoghurt, tea). Not the cheapest but fine for the money. Columbo, Kandy and Sigiriya are expensive by comparison to the South coast so pay up and enjoy the positives.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford,Wa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The highlight of this place is Sarath and Nalini. What a great couple! We really enjoyed their company and they were extremely helpful and welcoming, even joining us for breakfast. The only downside during our stay was the construction noise from an ambitious addition they are putting up but they had thoughtfully limited the allowed noise to a set number of hours a day during which we were mostly gone anyways. Our room was wonderful. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepforestpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#16 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#19 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Property: Freedom Lodge
Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing