We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay, make yourself at home”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during the festival and had a wonderful stay. The owners are lovely, they run a charming, friendly guest house where you really feel at home. Our room was one of the older ones due for renovation, so it wasn't excellent, but the friendly service, delicious food and great value more than made up for it. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at the Freedom Lodge for two nights in late May and was very disappointed. The couple who owned the lodge was rude, there were ants crawling over the toilet seat, the construction was loud, and the rooms were ok. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerNIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the Freedom Lodge and liked it. Safe (gates), clean rooms, good breakfast (we loved the yoghurt) and kind staff. We weren't bothered by the sounds of the construction workers. It's a ten minute walk into town. To be improved: size of the beds and the thickness of the matrasses. Per night 4000 rupees, good value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bakkeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was my second stay in Kandy, but I decided to try another guesthouse and I am glad I did. Freedom Lodge was better and cheaper than the previous place and really gave a sense of a true homestay.

This lodge was just what I needed after a 3 1/2 bus ride from Anuradhapura. It is beautifully designed and decorated, and includes a warm welcome from the family.

My room had a balcony overlooking Kandy and they happily put a table and a chair outside so I could relax having a beer watching the sunset.

The included breakfast was lovely and the advice on where to eat dinner and information regarding the train to Ella was invaluable. I would definately stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very friendly and helpful owners, nice house with nice rooms and great dinners. Stayed 2 nights when we were first in Kandy then came back for one more night as we enjoyed it so much. Book directly with the owners via email rather than through Lakpura Travels who will take a substantial cut.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AB_and_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely, clean and homely. Good option about 10-15 minute walk from the centre of kandy.
Large family house where they are developing further rooms on top with a roof terrace.
Our room and bathroom was private and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in Kandy, but were greeted very warmly and offered a delicious home-cooked meal. The hospitality throughout our stay was fantastic with the owners going out of their way to help us.

They are building a big hotel opposite but don't let that put you off. We had one of the rooms facing the construction site and didn't hear a thing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cat_bolsover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#21 of 56 in Kandy
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 56 in Kandy
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £29 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing