We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service all round”
Review of Freedom Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Freedom Lodge
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed one night at Freedom Lodge, but had 5 days altogether with Pio Mendis on a tour throughout Sri Lanka.

Hotel wise, it's clean and value for money. We stayed at the penthouse - 3 floors up. They provide clean linen and towels.
Although slightly expensive than eating at road side, I would recommend having dinner at Freedom Lodge (800rs per pax). If you're not one who can eat spicy food, inform them. Truly authentic home cooked Sri Lankan food, you'll be wanting more...

Only downside is its location, need to walk about 20 minutes to temple of tooth and city centre of Kandy.

We had a 6 day tour with Pio, a family member of the owners of Freedom Lodge. Vehicle is very clean, he drives safely and definitely generous not only as a tour guide, but as a person. Best way to travel in Sri Lanka is with a local guide...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Freedom Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here on two occasions during our trip to Sri Lanka. Nalini and Sareth are truly warm and engaging hosts who went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely stay. They were of help both before our arrival and during the stay, arranging for tickets to the incredible Perehera and hooking us up with a family member who drove us all around the country. Nalini made us some wonderful Sri Lankan dinners, and we appreciated that it was an easy walk to the center of town. Lastly, as we stayed here at both the beginning and the end of our trip, I can say, without a doubt, they have the most comfortable beds in Sri Lanka! That is worth a lot to any traveler!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyninnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My girlfriend & I stayed in the Freedom Lodge for three nights. We arrived by train from Colombo & were greeted by a smiling Sarath who drove us the short distance to the house where we were greeted by his wife Nilani. We were given the double room on the top floor which was very clean & roomy with a large mossie net which is pretty much essential in Sri Lanka. The rooms are basic but for the price you're paying they are perfect. The only slight problem is that there's a school very close to the rear of the lodge so it gets pretty noisy around 8 in the morning so be prepared for that. We ate dinner at the lodge on 2 of the 3 nights & it was top class. Soup followed by what can be described as a banquet of different curries with fragrant rice. You can also have a few ice cold Lion beers with your meal which is great. Sarath also arranged a day trip to Nuwara Eliya which was fantastic, wonderful scenery & we stopped at a tea factory to witness the manufacturing process which was cool. Sarath also organised a taxi to take us to the costal town of Bentota as well. We really enjoyed our stay here & it's a lovely walk into the town taking only 15 minutes. A tuk tuk can be rented from the pub back to the lodge for 150 rupees. I would definitely go back if I ever visit Kandy again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stintdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed at the Freedom Lodge for 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Sarath and Nalini were extremely hospitable and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed at all times. Our guide, Pio, was particulary helpful and brought us to the Elephant Orphange and made sure we were not taken advantage of and that we arrived at the best times to feed and bathe the elephants. The food at the Freedom Lodge was very tasty and only short notice was required to be included in dinner plans. Everything was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsanchez82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Horrified to see that this charming home has dropped to number 3 - the wonderful hosts make this comfortable lodge a charming place to stay. Sureth is both knowledgable and extremely good humoured if you are lucky enough to have him take you on his private excursions. Short walk from lake and everything you need. we had top room that needed a little airing but otherwise clean comfy and spacious - above all there is a real Sri Lankan welcome here!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We enjoyed our two nights at Freedom Lodge in Kandy.

The rooms are very basic but clean and reasonably priced. The family are really friendly, and no request felt like too much trouble for them. The room iprice ncluded an excellent breakfast which set you up for the day, and given only a little notice a delicious rice and curry banquet was prepared.

If you are looking for somewhere clean, friendly and relaxed then this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjandsj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We spent two days at the Freedom Lodge Guesthouse and liked it from the first moment. The rooms are nice and clean and from the balcony you have a spectacular view of the lake and the tooth temple. Also the food is excellent and nobody should miss this guesthouse while visiting Kandy. In addition you should contact the friendly owners if you consider daytrips or longer trips around the island. Sarath, the owner was one of the best guides and drivers we ever had on this fascinating island. We had booked a seven day island trip with Sarath and appreciated Sarath`s excellent knowledge of the island, his fluent English and driving skills. Our tour was certainly one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans-Juergen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 56 in Kandy
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Helga's Folly
Helga's Folly
#25 of 56 in Kandy
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Lodge

Address: 30 Saranankara Rd, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing