We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gem Inn II - Guest House
Ranked #106 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Avoid at all costs. We had a terrible night here - shockingly bad food, uncomfortable bed with dirty blanket and no sheets, mosquitoes. The location is bad. There is only one positive thing to say about this place - a nice view. IF you do end up here just make sure you do not eat here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked through the train station for a few days fo driver + guest house trip. We ended up in Gemm Inn II. The view over Kandy is absolutely beautiful! But THAT'S ALL!!!! The rooms are dirty, in bad shape, not well maintained. The doors don't close, the windows have a part which is open and NON protected by a mosquito net so you will have all kinds of insects in your room. We even got attacked by a hornet / wasp.(don't which it was)
Bathroom super dirty with everything falling apart, wires showing and dangerous, mould, cockroaches. Could not be worse. The food is really NOT good and uninteresting! So boring and so expensive! It took the staff 1 hour and a half ot serve some lame noodles. The breakfast is basic. Staff just don't care. Very bad value!! do yourself a favor, don't go there!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank panorama75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

A great place to stay if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of busy Kandy. George, the ever friendly chef adds character to this place. Generally the rest of the staff are very laid back, George runs around 24/7 doing all the chores.All meals were excellent. Christmas night was great until a group of girls and their guides started to party non stop till 2am the next morning. The music was repetitive , loud and very annoying. The guides spoilt a perfectly good Christmas by being uncouth and very inconsiderate of the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Well if you hired a driver to take you around Sri Lanka then you will likely stay in this hotel when going to Kandy. It is about 3km away from the downtown and lake area so this is a factor in my poor rating. Therefore, if you have a driver plan on using him to drive you downtown. MOst other tourists don't stay here. The beds are ok. The view is excellent and the place is very quiet. These are plusses. However, the door in our room locked but the door did not close - I could push it open with a little force. This place was just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just as another traveller said, we booked a driver and rooms at the train station in Colombo. We had 2 nights at gem II. Our first night was not terrible. Like all stated, there was a fabulous view. It is a fair distance out, food was overly expensive and really not that good, the door to our room did not lock, breakfast was dry toast and jam. The second night we stayed over the kitchen. No view, hard bed, mold in the bathroom with a filthy shower curtain, very noisy staff talking very loudly in the kitchen below. We stayed at the Expeditor for 2 nights earlier in the week and it was much much better value for your money

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whitepatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

It was pure luck that brought us to GemInn II, and ofcourse Anil. Great value for money, clean rooms, superb views, delicious food and wonderful people. We loved the whole package and end up staying for a week!
Thank you so much, guys!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UrosAnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent two nights in this hotel. As we did not plan on spending time in the hote, besides night time,l we were looking for an economic accomodotion, so we did not bother not having facilities like tv.
The room we slept in had the mosquito net, which was dirty but in good condition. The room had no A/C: there was a fan ( not the on the celeing) but the plug was hard to reach so we could not use it.
The bathroom was filthy, the WC leaked, the wires inside the plug were exposed and one morning there was no water. We even found a cockroach, a huge one!
Anyway the room was quite big for two people.
Meals were good ( we had H/B accomodation) and the view from the garden/restaurant was breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Federica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kandy
548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Inn II - Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Inn II - Guest House

Address: 102/90 Hewaheta Road | Thalwatta, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The excellent Gem Inn II about 2 km east of the town center, perched on a hillside with wonderful views over the Mahaweli River and the Knuckles Range. This spacious, relaxed home is good value with just a handful of doubles, and triple family rooms. The rooms are very clean, simple comfortable with veranda, nets, fans and private balcony / bath - and the cooking is some of the best you'll find in Sri Lanka. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing