We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$50
TravelocityUS$50
CheapTicketsUS$50
Orbitz.comUS$50
TripadvisorUS$50
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
30
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2019

Kenneth who is a real gentleman and his wife Champi made us so welcome. Kenneth collected us from Kandy railway station. We stayed 4 nights and could have stayed longer. We were genuinely sad to leave. Our room was quite large and the ensuite had a hot water shower. Every where was spotless. The views from the garden are superb. We had some lovely days out with Kenneth at very reasonable cost visiting local attractions, we even found somewhere he had not been before, the local Railway Museum. Kenneth arranged our onward journey sorting out tansport for us via his connections.
Champi is a very good cook and we had something different for breakfast every day. We also had evening meals always delicious and different. If we ever go back to Kandy the only place we would consider staying is here.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Although we only stayed for one night at Kenneth and Champi's lovely home, it was one of the most amazing experiences of our entire Sri Lanka trip. What really sets this place apart is the incredible personal service and attention from both hosts, and nothing seems too much trouble. For example, we were interested in the spices used in local cooking, so without any prompting Kenneth suggested we join him in the garden where he pointed out all the local fruit and spices. On the morning of our departure we casually mentioned we hadn't been to the Buddha on the top of the mountain and would have to do that on a second visit, but again Kenneth suggested that he drive us over there on the way to the station. Seldom do you get to experience this level of going-the-extra mile service, and it has really made our visit in Kandy super memorable.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at Kennith's place. The day before we asked him if he could arrange a driver to pick us up from Negombo. The next morning Kenneth was there with a minivan and a driver. Already gold! He took care of us the whole trip (around 4 hours drive).
After the ride we where exhausted so he asked his lovely wife to cook dinner for us. That was yummy! Not spicy if you don't want to. And my bf loves spicy food so he got his own local curry. Also the breakfast is perfect.
The place is great, clean and spacious.
As bird lovers we've enjoyed the view and the birds nibbling the mango's in the big mango tree that is in the garden.
The next morning Kenneth took us to the temple of the tooth and guided us around.
He took us everywhere and brought us to the train. The train was very late but Kenneth wanted to stay with us until the train left so we where on the good train.
The best host you can get! He has a lovely wife that is a great cook.
We definitely would recommend this place and will be back!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ietje D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my dad stayed at Kenneth's and Champi's place for two nights. From the very start they were very nice and very open people. Their beautiful home which overlook the Hanthana ridge is a small drive from the train station. Kenneth went out
Of his way to show us Kandy for a whole day and was very informative regarding Sri Lanka. On the day we were leaving we had not managed to get tickets yet for the crowded Kandy-Ella train so we went with unreserved tickets knowing we might end up standing for a couple of hours. Kenneth would have none of that and rushed into the train getting us a seat, what a man! He will go the extra mile for you.. and the food, just wow! Look no further this is your place to stay!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SimonS2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We've enjoyed this homestay so much! Fantastic food, and amazing owners who really enjoy what they do. They've taken such good care of us. Wonderful conversations, and great activities in the surroundings. A formidable start of our Sri Lankan travels! Would recommend everybody to stay here when in Kandy!
And hope to meet again someday!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 391annav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews