We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice room and staff, great value”
Review of Blinkbonnie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blinkbonnie Inn
Ranked #10 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I ran into a girl in Pinnawala and she said she was staying here and it was great for the price, so i checked it out.
I just got a budget room for about 3000rs. Nice clean bathroom, good shower, reasonable bed with mosquito net, lighting and fixtures. Could see across the valley from my bed and was woken with the most beautiful sunrises each morning. Probably the best view i have had in Sri Lanka for the price.
The restaurant while not being super budget does have great views and the quality of food is fantastic. I always go the local food cause it's what the chefs know how to cook best and the two nights i ate here the rice and curry were amazing. Great deviled chicken, dahl, spinach, jack fruit, all the local favourites, were great. I asked them to spice it up and they did... happy camper. Breakfasts with the views are the perfect way to start the day.
The staff are kind and helpful - all spoke english well enough and were only to happy to help.
The wifi is pretty good also, one of the only places in Sri Lanka i could play video on youtube without it buffering for minutes and minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salted_Boards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Blinkbonnie Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Room was large, little old, but clean. Nice view of the gardens and lake below. Really good service and amazing local food. Owner bought beer to the room too. Good value for money. Lock doors and keep windows closed due to the monkeys who love to play on the roof.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurdyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I do not need luxury on my backpacking trips, this accommodation was perfect for me. Low budget, but nice service, clean and nice room with own bathroom and very quiet, so you can sleep like a stone :)
I felt very safe as a woman traveling alone.
This accommodation was close to the centre of Kandy, so that you an walk to visit the most important things.

Room Tip: I do not need luxury on my backpacking trips, this accommodation was perfect for me. Low budget, but...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Supersilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

for the price we thought it was pretty good and i think it included breakfast . We were there in August 2011, Had a really good view of the lake from our balcony . nice walk into town . Take the short cut next to the Indian embassy

Room Tip: we had a room with a view over the lake
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Awesome place...perfect view...
Nice cosy place...and the owner is very friendly and helpful. ...He helped plan our entire trip.

The rooms are clean and comfortable...and hotel is very near to the main city....

the place even has a good restaurant on roof top.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EktaKamdarSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed there for 3 days very nice rooms simple but clean, quiet and great view and close to everything. The owner does nice tours and gives you great information about Sri Lanka. The breakfast was good and in good price,

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avivshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Our travel was for three days we had a warm welcome and food was excellent with native taste. Transport and guide arranged was the best and knowledgeable person who accompanied us took to all the variety of places like wildlife tourism spots Minaria,Elephant Orphanage, Tooth Relic, Singria and other monumental and pilgrim tourist spots me and wife really enjoyed . And always thankful for their 110% hospitality we experienced all along till the gate of airport to fly back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BijuFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.9 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kandy
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.7 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 56 in Kandy
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharon Inn
Sharon Inn
#20 of 56 in Kandy
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonnie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonnie Inn

Address: 69 Rajapihilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 360 Speciality Lodging in Kandy
Price Range: £18 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blinkbonnie Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blinkbonnie Inn prides itself with the best views in Kandy. You will believe it after you have your breakfast in the view-point restaurant, overlooking the whole of Kandy. All this combined with their outstanding service and traditional hospitality makes the Blinkbonnie Inn a great place to stay in Kandy. The rooms of the Blinkbonnie Inn cater for all needs and budgets. All rooms are having a view point balcony overlooking Kandy Lake, Mountains. The view point restaurant has 180' views of Kandy lake and Temple and mountain ranges. You can enjoy a lovely cup of world famous Sri Lankan tea in the mornings watching playful monkeys passing by as well as a beautiful tropical and migrating birds, a great way to begin your day. Tours can be arranged in all budget ranges. Eco and Adventure tours are available as well as cultural tours of the ancient cities and temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blinkbonnie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonnie Tourist Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing