We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kandy view without any view of Kandy”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We (4 adults) should stay two nights at this place but we left after one. Two of us got a room behind the reception and it was nothing I'll give them "High five" for. The whole place including the restaurant (no view over Kandy) seemed to be run by teen agers without any experiences. A typical backpackers place. You have to travel on a narrow steep road to reach the hotel, but the Tuc-tuc made it.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank YoKbeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Kandy View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

This overpriced 'budget' hotel was a sad disappointment. After arranging to be picked up from the train station after hours travelling from Colombo on arrival there was no three wheeler waiting and after a couple of telephone calls to the manager of the hotel we were told to get a tuk tuk from the station. The meal we were then greeted with was tiny to say the least and the 'beef so tough my starving partner couldn't eat it. The bottle beer was over priced and the service sadly lacking. We were taken to a satelitte 'holiday bungalow behind the Hotel by the manager car which we were told was only a five minute walk but in the dark would be dangerous to walk.The holiday bungalow was on the third floor of what could be described as a council block of flats, the front door opening out to a large enclosed balcony.The front door lead into a bedroom with a window that opened onto the washing facilities for the staff who happily look in at us in the morning. The disgrace that was a bathroom with leaking shower unit, broken shower tray was large but dangerous.
On waking in the morning finding ourselves on the highest part of the hillside ( great if you want a view but 350Rs if you want to go anywhere 300 after negotiation) We attempted to 'walk' to the restaurant for the included in the price breakfast (at this point we still hadn't been told what the price was) the road had a 90 degree angle and after only 50 metres it was obvious the incline was too dangerous and we flagged down a passing three wheeler to take us to the main hotel building,
In fairness the breakfast was fine. Needless to say we checked out after to then be told the special 'budget' price was Rs 4,000.We then booked into the Empire Hotel next to the lake..

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraineavc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We (a family of four) were supposed to stay two nights at this place but left after one since we were really disappointed. I understand it is a budget "hotel" but still, it only provides the absolutely bare minimum - basically, a rock hard bed and a small bath room. At the entrance, you are greeted by a sad looking elephant sculpture who is lacking one ear. That kind of sums up the whole ambiance of this place, including the staff. Extremely barren and simple rooms which reeks of perfume!! There was a TV in our room, but it was not connected and without any channels. The bar / restaurant area up stairs is really nothing special, except for a view over looking a bit of forest and some construction sites. The place seems to be run by teen agers without any training. The girl in the reception did not seem to like her job at all, and was really not helpful with any requests. The manager arrived late in the evening, and did however help us to arrange transport for the next day - a plus for that. But all in all, it is depressing and kind of creepy. Would not recommend it if you have other options (we didn't - this was a last minute booking).

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank abengan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A great place to stay and only 10 minutes walk from the Lake. We stayed in an upper floor room and had the most amazing views across Kandy (floor to celling windows). Staff were really friendly and the manager Kanchana helped with everything – including organising trips, booking transfers and even showing us how to make our very own coconut sambal (which accompanied their great curries in the restaurant).

We would definitely recommend as the best budget hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Book rooms on the Top Floor
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImmeWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We spent 6 days in this hotel. Location is excellent - it is really 15 min by walk to central of city and central lake. Hotel is far enough from noisy roads, we opened window and did not use air condition, air war about 20 at night, very comfortable! Rooms are big, one wall is window with view to Kandy. Personnel was very cheerful, impression of hotel was good. We used this hotel as a base to visit central part historical part of Sri Lanka. Hotel provide us with drivers for local excursion in Kandy and air conditioned mini van to go to Sigiria and Dambulla. Quality of drivers was good, we had a pleasant trips and can recommend this hotel for stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Reaching the Kandy View Hotel can give one slight jitters. It’s on the narrowest of roads which is pretty steep and you will realise in the evening is not even street lit. You’d wonder if another vehicle came head on as to how yours and the other vehicle would pass.

The hotel as such is pretty basic. This three floor hotel has an open air restaurant on the second floor and rooms on the first and third floor. For a building with three floors, the place doesn’t have an elevator. So make sure if you are on the third floor, you’ re ready to walk up and down for anything. Also there’s no telephone, so if you need anything there’s a bell and someone will come to the room. The room has no TV but there is a pretty good WiFi internet connection.

The third floor rooms are huge, with a dresser table and a cupboard and a couch as well in addition to the bed which is quite comfortable. Personally though I would have appreciated if the room was about 10% smaller and that space had been used for the bathroom. It’s amazingly small, even though it has all the essential requirements.

The premium one pays for that room is the view and it is fantastic. Nestled in the hills, it’s not the highest point in the town as there are other properties one can see that are even higher, but it does give a good view of the town and also the surroundings. There’s a lot of green that is comforting on the eyes and some mist during the early morning as well.

The staff are helpful no doubt, but they can tend to be a little slow on the uptake. The manager of the hotel, Mr. Kanchana is a pretty resourceful person and will happily oblige to arrange for tours, trips and other things that his guests ask. The rates were also very reasonable in comparison and they did not seem to be in a hurry to rip us off.

The food overall isn’t the high point of the hotel. If you are a vegetarian and non egg eater, breakfast is limited to toast, jam, butter and fruits. The one meal that we had there wasn’t the best thing either. The good thing about Kandy though is that there are a number of other options where one can always eat. This is a good pick for a room with an excellent view at a cheap price.

Room Tip: The best view rooms, each of which has wall length windows and with huge curtains are on the third f...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Arrived in kandy and drove up to the 'hotel' and immediately noticed that the letters on the sign were falling off, paint was peeking, and the big plastic elephant was looking rather haggered. We probably should have turned around then but alas all other hotels were full (another sign... Why was this one available?). Rooms were a joke with creaky and rock hard beds, bathroom looked like an unfinished do-it-yourself home improvement project, sheets came from a bygone era, loud and obnoxious host drinking with guests until late in the night, filthy premises all round, etc etc. Do yourself a favor and never, ever stay here!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripTestDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 56 in Kandy
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#34 of 56 in Kandy
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#37 of 56 in Kandy
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 56 in Kandy
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £9 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing