We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kandy trip.”
Review of Kandy View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy View Hotel
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Kandy trip.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

After a few days by the coast we stayed in Kandy to see the city and do an excursion to the elephant orphanage.
The hotel is up a steep hill at the far end of the lake so a 250 rupee auto rickshaw is required from the railway station, but the drivers will attempt to get far more. Our room (1) was very spacious,and had a nice view of the surrounding hills and the trees were full of monkeys and birds which was very pleasant indeed.
The restaurant was good with a nice Sri Lankan Curry,the waiter who we saw every day was very friendly and always smiling, he is a very good worker. The breakfast buffet was superb, you have a choice of Sri Lankan curry with rice/noodles and boiled vegetables, or you can have cereals eggs and toast(or any combination if you're hungry!!), plus a hot drink and juice.
Although no prices are shown, excursions were reasonable, we were taken to the elephant orphanage and botanical gardens for 4,000 rupees in a car,it was 2,500 by auto rickshaw. There were no hidden catches so I would reccommend using them.
Only a small bad thing to mention and that was that the floor was dirty, so when you took a shower, by the time you had got dressed in another room your feet were covered in dust.
The hotel is a very pleasant 25 minute walk to the City around the lake and the famous temple, however, like everywhere in this city, the auto rickshaw drivers are a pest,it's as if going for a walk is a crime here!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    197
    97
    52
    61
See reviews for
83
227
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I made my booking with Kandy View Hotel online. The owners were very accommodating, putting me up in an apartment near the hotel because the hotel itself was booked. The apartment was only slightly more expensive than a room at the hotel, and it was far more spacious than I needed. It was clean, quiet, and there were no mosquitoes. Hot water was a problem, but the owners quickly fixed it every day. A stink came up from the drain in the bathroom floor, so I covered that to prevent the odor. The walk to the hotel was down a very steep hill and through a small construction site. Breakfast was pleasant indeed, with friendly service and in an opened, covered area with splendid views.
You can't see Kandy Town from this hotel. You get great views, but you won't see Kandy Lake. It's quite a long walk to town, actually. The hotel is not conveniently located, although it is not remote. Keep small change for the tuk-tuks; the front desk seems never to have change and seems unaccustomed to dealing in cash. "Most people pay with credit cards."
The owners and staff at Kandy View Hotel are wonderful. Reception was casual, friendly and efficient. Restaurant service was as pleasant as can be. The owners are on site and eager to make things right.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay for me.

Room Tip: Keep your small bills for the taxis and tuk-tuks. Always agree upon the price of a trip before gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

i like my room, its in the 1floor (or basement?) it was clean and spacious. the washroom also clean and they provide towels. you may not need a/c in Kandy since the weather as not as hot as Sigiriya or Colombo :)
the breaky was healthy :) they provide papaya juice (yikes ....) , bread, jams, eggs and coffee/ tea :) the breaky area was a big area where you can see all the surrounding :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ppiglet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is well situated, quiet and peaceful. The view is super, while dinning we are engulf in the panorama of the mountains. The staff is perfect always smiling and helpful. the food is good. But the room well it's just a room, but we did not have water until 3 hrs after are arrival. Be aware of the manager willingness to help you book tours around the sites. I think il will be cheaper to organize the trip by yourself.

Room Tip: top floor (only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Settled down on this hotel since the long weekend ensured that accommodation was difficult.....Although this hotel had mixed reviews, I checked into this hotel with no expectations....

A quick check in and welcome drink later, we were led to our room. Room was basic and so was the bathroom. No luxury but did the job adequately. The A/c did not work well enough. Their rooftop restaurant was also good with enchanting views. Mr Kanchan (hope I go his name right), the co-owner was hands on and very keen to ensure that we were taken care of well. Although this hotel advertises a swimming pool and spa, these were basically scaled down versions of what you might find elsewhere...

The hotel is located off the lake on a steep slope but Tuk Tuks can get you there in no time....Walking from the hotel to the lake and around it was great and hence location wise, quite good. Summing up, for the price we had paid, we did not stop smiling.......

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaymonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent three nights here and thought the hotel was great value for money. The views from our balcony windows were wonderful. We saw monkeys playing in the trees, tons of birds, and large fruit bats at night. The staff were friendly, helpful, couldn't have been better. Amila helped with language lessons, and was kind enough to share her birthday cake. The breakfast was good, we chose the Sri Lankan rather than omelets, etc. On the negative side, the room was worn, but it was very clean. And probably the biggest downside was the long walk up a very steep hill, so you might want to consider a tuk-tuk (Rs 200-250 if you bargain). However, once at the bottom, the walk along the lake into Kandy town was nice.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jv2beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The deluxe room was very nice and had a panoramic view - which makes you happy every time you wake up in the morning. The staff is always friendly and will try their best to assist you. The chef is excellent and especially the seafood - prawn cocktail if you don´t mind a little chilli and the garlic prawns are very good also in terms of the price.
We stayed there for 12 days and the owner of the hotel Mr. Kanchana Ranasinha did his outmost to assist ud during our stay. You can also be assured that the trips you will book through the Hotel will not be overpriced, which can make you feel more relaxed. While travelling abroad - and no matter how much you are enjoying your trip - it is always nice to stay in a place that makes you feel at home - which is what Kandy view did for us. Surely the best option you have in Kandy both in terms of money for value bot also in terms of honesty, hospitality and great travel and trip service which can be arranged within a very short notice.

Room Tip: If you want a fantastic view book a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Tourist Hotel
Majestic Tourist Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kandy
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#33 of 55 in Kandy
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 55 in Kandy
493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kandy Holiday Home
Kandy Holiday Home
#35 of 55 in Kandy
53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy View Hotel

Property: Kandy View Hotel
Address: Ampitiya Road | 40, 22 Hillpankandura, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kandy View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing